Mental Health Champions: Why & How Esther Valdez Of Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine
6 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Humor is another way I have to cope. There is never a day where I don’t try to find something funny and uplifting.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Dr. Esther Valdez.

Dr. Esther Valdez is the Medical Director for Behavioral Health at Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, a position she has held since 2008.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I grew up in Hong Kong in a biracial family. I graduated high school and then went on to London for Medical School. I loved where I received my education, except for the weather. I decided while in medical school that I wanted to move to the U.S. for many reasons, including the chance for a great post graduate education and the opportunity to see a different part of the world. I visited the U.S. as a child and I found it to be amazing for its diversity and numerous opportunities. When I arrived in Boston I was offered a psychiatry residency spot at Boston University. Upon graduation, I was fortunate to land a position at Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program (BHCHP), and this is where I have spent my entire career in psychiatry.

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

I have been at BHCHP for 27 years after graduating from residency. During this period, I have seen the landscape of homelessness change drastically. Patients are younger and more often homeless as a result of the drug epidemic as well as other socio-economic challenges. At BHCHP, we have pivoted to address new challenges as they come along, especially mental health concerns, and have taken a holistic multidisciplinary approach. No “one size fits all” approach works. We need to address patients’ mental and physical health, substance use, homelessness, unemployment, lack of social supports, and other concerns all at the same time to achieve successful outcomes. We utilize a low-threshold harm reduction approach and attempt to meet people where they are at, often utilizing outreach as a tool to engage people who don’t engage in conventional care.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

I have a personal family history of mental illness. Even with the best possible family support system, there are limited resources aimed at helping people with serious mental illness, never mind the other obstacles associated with the homeless population. I have always believed in providing optimal care to those who are most disenfranchised.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

Having an opportunity to train in a residency program that provided a wide breadth of experiences with different populations, both wealthy and poor, led me to figure out my calling. I was the chief resident in the emergency room at the old Boston City Hospital and got to witness first-hand the suffering of people who had nothing. I loved the pace of the work and felt grateful when I could be helpful even in some small way.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

I have had the fortune to work with one particular patient for most of my career. When I first met him in 1996, he was homeless, sleeping in Boston Common, and heavily addicted to alcohol. Over the years, he managed to get housing, become sober, and reconnect with family, and he became a role model for others. Treatment of his mental illness was just one part of the puzzle. He has told me at every visit over the past 27 years that my remaining in his life despite the ups and downs was invaluable in his recovery.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

I would have to give full credit to my parents. They grew up during World War II and experienced the horrors of the war in Hong Kong. My father was orphaned and homeless by the age of 13 and my mother similarly struggled with poverty and had to care for herself, her sick mother, and her younger brother all by herself. My parents both overcame their backgrounds to get a good education and to have careers that help others. They have always encouraged me to give back to those in need as they both had people in their lives who helped them to achieve their goals. There is no adversity that cannot be overcome by hard work and support from someone who cares.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

In my experience, in most cultures, mental illness is viewed as a weakness and as something to be ashamed of and hidden from the outside world. It remains a challenge to have this viewed as a disease that should be treated like a physical illness. There are many barriers to accessing quality care due to this fear of stigma.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

All should recognize the profound impact of untreated mental illness on not only individuals but their families and society, ethically, morally, and financially. This doesn’t just affect the individual, but putting resources into finding better care can benefit all. More funding for research to find effective treatments is desperately needed. There is almost no one who is not at some point impacted by mental illness in some way, either directly or indirectly.

What are the 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

  1. I draw from my family’s experience and the suffering of my patients to remind myself of my good fortune in my personal life, and to be always grateful for what I have.
  2. I became a widow in 2022. I have two amazing teenagers who have suffered the loss of their father but are resilient; I always consider them when I think about the importance of caring for their needs by taking care of my own mental and physical health.
  3. I have a great network of friends. We share our triumphs, losses, and weaknesses, and provide support for each other in times of need.
  4. I work in a great program with like-minded individuals who embrace the mission of providing high quality care for those with the greatest need.
  5. Humor is another way I have to cope. There is never a day where I don’t try to find something funny and uplifting.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

I have little time for reading or podcasts, but I do like to watch TED talks. There are many great speakers to learn from. I also draw from the internal resources of coworkers in my program who are great role models and advocates.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

There is no greater reward than giving of yourself to someone in need, no matter how small the gesture. It can be immeasurably invaluable to them, even if it feels like so little. People all need to know someone cares for them and wants to make a difference in their lives whenever possible.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org