Mental Health Champions: Why & How Jeff McQueen of The Mental Health Association of Nassau County Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine
8 min readNov 12, 2022

--

Don’t make life changing decisions alone: I have 5 people that I ask for support and information when it comes to big decision. I use an odd number because I can’t be the tie breaker.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Jeff McQueen.

Jeff McQueen is the Executive Director of the Mental Health Association of Nassau County. Mr. McQueen serves his community as a leader for innovative mental health services. His journey as a person with lived expertise has prepared him to be an advocate and educator for the enhancement of quality and equitable services in the community. Jeff has devoted his work to breaking the stigma around Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder and fighting for equitable access for care and the rights for people living with diagnosis to live in the community of their choice.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I was born in the South Bronx and grew up in South Jamacia Queens. I come from a very modest household with both mother and father and 4 siblings. There was nothing unusual about my childhood. In fact I may have had it better than most. But growing up with voices in my head, a father that drank excessively, and a community of violence made it difficult to identify what was normal or find balance without seeking ways to escape my reality. I resorted to drugs at an early age and while still being a straight A student. Constantly being arrested for stealing didn’t help. I couldn’t seem to get out of my own way. So fast forwarding past self-inflicted trauma, violence enacted upon me, years and multiple trips to institutions, I found myself desperate to either die or change. A few failed suicide attempts and failed overdoses led me to believe that I was still here for a reason. The biggest question was…..FOR WHAT? People were always telling me I’m a great teacher, and speaker. But I knew there was nothing to teach or speak about if I had no victory to claim. It wasn’t enough to be a survivor of my trauma. I needed to show that we not only recover but we thrive.

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

So, I don’t think I can take credit for leading an initiative but definitely taking a front seat. People that live in our community are hard faced with the obstacle of Stigma. Some of this is self-imposed but most comes from a very misinformed society. We are quick to judge others when who they are and what they do doesn’t look or sound like what we are accustomed to. Not taking into account that who all of us are today is a direct reflection of Social, genetic, and environmental determinisms. We don’t get to pick how trauma will affect us or for how long. We don’t choose to become addicts or depressed, anxious or any other labels given to us. However, we do get to choose what we are going to do about it.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

Living with my own diagnosis and learning that I don’t have to stay where I am. That recovery is a choice. I wanted to allow myself to be advocate that could support others, be present for them, even root for them as they venture into their own journey of wellness. Seeing how my influence was successful with a few people inspired me to be in the lives of others. While I realize I can personally support 1000s of people, I can influence the support of many that in turn trickles down into influencing the lives of 1000s.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

I would define the deciding moment when I looked in the mirror and no longer liked who I saw, what I saw and where I was going. I felt a strong urge to take more control of the pen and write the end of this story for myself.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

Sure, a few years back we were hosting a veteran’s couple wellness retreat. An army wife came to us explaining that she was at her wits end with her husband and no longer knew what to do. We described the workshops that we would be having at the retreat and what we believed they would gain from connecting to the organization in general. Her words were “He better come, or we are done”! So, they came to the retreat and participated fully. I should also say she is a life coach. He allowed himself to get vulnerable and share honestly. After some tears, laughs, hugs, and deep reflection. We returned home and he was ready for the next event. Now here we are 5 years later, and they are Homeowners, with 4 children, she is more active as a life coach and his is gainfully employed. They both continue to attend most of the events we host but now can live their lives not despite the trauma but because of it. They have learned to allow their experiences to shape them into becoming who they need to be so they aren’t merely survivors of their experiences but thriving for themselves and an example for others to come.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

I have had many cheerleaders and mentors along the way. Some that I’ve never met, but they have left their legacy behind in books. There have been many occasions where I felt underserving or that I was living a lie. These were the greatest moments of my recovery when people have supported me and talked me through. Sometimes I still feel less than or that I don’t deserve this life, but the people around me remind me I worked just as hard if not harder than everyone at the table. I deserve this and I am worthy.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

I believe misinformed people will misinform people. 80% of our self-talk is negative. 90% of society is negatively bias. What does this mean. This means that most of the things I tell myself are self-defeating, and because of negativity bias, this means 10 things in my day could go right and only 1 go bad and without the right conditioning I will focus on the 1 thing that went bad. Our society is programs to see what’s wrong and focus on the negative. We don’t understand that people experience trauma daily and that this influences who we become and how we cope. It’s no different than athletes that play certain sports are more prone to certain injuries than others. Yet, we don’t judge a football player that gets a concussion. So why would be judge people who have side affects from being exposed to trauma, based on how they grew up or being exposed and conditioned to particular social determinants of health. Society has to learn that nothing is wrong with people who live with mental health diagnosis or substance use disorder, but something did happen to them just as it did to the athlete exposed to certain extreme physical limits and challenges.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

We must normalize the conversation and make the discussion and access to care a safe space. Not one where media, police or judicial systems are painting a picture of people as dangerous to themselves or society. Develop more platforms for education so people can learn about it not fear it.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

  1. Live the reality I want: I don’t believe in thinking I can. I believe in doing so that evidence shows I can.
  2. Don’t make life changing decisions alone: I have 5 people that I ask for support and information when it comes to big decision. I use an odd number because I can’t be the tie breaker.
  3. Remain open minded: Because I know that the trauma or at lease the affects of it are exemplified mentally, this means that all my thoughts and ideas have to be processed through a mind that was traumatized. Not all decision will be process free of emotion. So we should remain open minded to what others are saying the observe about us.
  4. If you want something you never had do something you’ve never done: I believe that same actions give same results. If I’m seeking a different outcome then I have to be willing to try something different. That something different may not be my idea, more than likely it’s coming from someone else and that’s perfectly fine.
  5. You are what you eat: I realize that foods, drugs, and information all affect my physical and mental health. If want to have a healthy mind and body then it’s going to begin with what I digest. Be it food or information.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

I enjoyed Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey. The most inspirational resouce for me are real people. Seeing people in their darkest times and watching them rise to greatness.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

I would say that we have to hold the light of Hope for others. We have to continue to believe that a Jeff is coming or may already be in their life. Because we don’t know who it is or when they are coming we have to examine our words, thoughts and actions and ask ourselves is what I’m about to do or say going to help or harm. Make a conscious choice.

How can our readers follow you online?

Not sure they want to follow me, but I’m on facebook https://www.facebook.com/jeff.mcqueen.98 , twitter https://twitter.com/mcqueen82nd and instagram https://www.instagram.com/halallc/ , but easily go to our website www.mhanc.org or look us up on facebook https://www.facebook.com/MHANassau

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com.

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org