Mental Health Champions: Why & How Richard Elorreaga Of Health Plan Nevada Is Helping To Champion Mental Wellness

An Interview With Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readAug 6, 2023

--

Engagement: I make it a point to reach out to friends, family, and colleagues as much as I can without being a nuisance. Doing so not only allows me to check in on my loved ones but also fosters the strong relationships that I have with them.

As a part of our series about Mental Health Champions helping to promote mental wellness, I had the pleasure to interview Richard Elorreaga.

Rick Elorreaga is the President of Health Plan Nevada, Behavioral Health, overseeing the direction and management of the Health Plan of Nevada Behavioral Health team since August 2021. With extensive experience in leadership positions, including roles at Optum External Medicaid and Federal Government, Cigna Behavioral Health, Aetna, and Magellan Behavioral Health, he has been instrumental in the implementation and management of various behavioral health programs. Rick holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Utah and a Master’s degree in Social Work from Arizona State University.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

I was born into a lower to middle class Hispanic family in El Paso, TX. I am the middle son of three brothers. My father put himself through college thanks to his work as a fireman and through odd jobs. He would eventually graduate with a degree in Electrical Engineering, in addition to an MBA. My family would then move to Salt Lake City, UT, where my father began his career as a Defense Engineer with a major computer firm.

However, as you can imagine, it wasn’t always easy. My father eventually became a heavy drinker and my mother struggled with bouts of depression. Throughout my childhood, I witnessed the individual, family and marital stressors stemming from alcoholism and mental health challenges. Being Hispanic in a predominately White middle class environment and not of the dominant religion in Utah, I focused on sports, which ultimately helped me navigate and fit into my environment

You are currently leading an initiative that is helping to promote mental wellness. Can you tell us a bit more specifically about what you are trying to address?

Suicide is on the rise nationally. According to the most recent statistics, over 45,000 Americans died by suicide in 2020, making it the 12th leading cause of death in the United States. The problem is even more apparent in Nevada, with the state ranking 50th in behavioral health challenges, 46th in frequent mental distress and 40th in suicide. Despite an increase in mental health awareness, the stigma surrounding mental health and suicide still exists — keeping many at-risk individuals from seeking the help and treatment that they so desperately need.

Death by suicide is a tragic and growing problem. It affects people from all walks of life. Sadly, people don’t want to talk about it — they don’t know how to talk about it. Often, people who are contemplating suicide are too ashamed to reach out for help. Often, their loved ones don’t know how to help or what to say.

Health Plan of Nevada (HPN) and the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) have partnered up to create Help, Hope & Action: A Suicide Prevention Town Hall, a valuable online educational resource offering insight into mental health issues faced by teens, young adults and seniors. The three-part town hall panel brings together people who have dealt with suicide first-hand, local and national mental health clinicians and a wide range of prevention advocates to have a candid discussion to talk about risks, interventions and the keys to communication and support — each offering critical insight and tools for those navigating through their own crisis. To view the town hall in its entirety, please visit https://takingonhealthy.com/a-suicide-prevention-town-hall/.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

Early on, I recognized the disparities in how people treated others who were not part of the “in” groups. Whether it was people who kept to themselves or those who were teased or bullied, I wanted to engage with those I perceived as different and not accepted by others.

After high school, I pursued a degree in psychology while working in an acute inpatient facility for children and youth, where I provided support and coaching as a psych tech. I would later pursue a master’s in social work, eventually becoming an Employee Assistance Program (EAP) crisis line clinician after graduation. There, I had the opportunity to engage with many individuals experiencing behavioral health crises by assessing and providing aid. That experience led me to pursue what has become a 33-year career in behavioral/physical health insurance, particularly in managed care.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest them. They don’t get up and just do it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and do it? What was that final trigger?

Working as an EAP crisis line clinician really opened my eyes to the number and types of crises that affected an employee population and their families. While I managed to make an impact on each individual I engaged with, I realized that I had an opportunity to reach a much larger population through private and public/federal sector programs. Thanks to my position, I have the opportunity to partner with community, network and key national/state stakeholders in behavioral health program development to support individuals experiencing mental health or substance use disorders, which both play a significant role in suicide and suicidal ideation.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

Last year, my team, along with the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP), partnered to organize Health, Hope and Action: A Suicide Prevention Town Hall, held in Las Vegas. We then created a valuable online resource that offers insight into the mental health issues faced by our population.

One of the things that left a lasting impression on me was that mental health issues do not discriminate. Mental health challenges affect every corner of our population, leaving nothing but pain in their wake if not addressed head-on. With the proper resources and support, overcoming mental health challenges becomes that much more possible.

One of the young panelists during our Suicide Prevention Town Hall spoke candidly about her plan to take her own life at the age of 15. Thanks to professional support, her family and her friends, she altered her potentially devastating path and is now a staunch public advocate for suicide prevention through her organization Life is Worth It. That’s an impressive story and one that provides hope that if we can reach those in crisis, we can change their course.

Families often feel helpless when a loved one is struggling. Offering this online resource that provides parents with solid tools for communicating with their children, concrete advice on helping seniors and veterans, and a discussion on how government, health care and community organizations are stepping in to help is truly useful and I encourage anyone who reads this article to share the link for viewing with employees, family, friends and within their communities.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

While I have had many mentors and supportive individuals who have shown me the value of helping and supporting those in need, it is important to note that there are still individuals suffering in silence. I had a very close colleague in the Behavioral Health field who had no idea how to identify and focus on his support system. Despite being surrounded by so many supportive individuals, he was unable to find the help he needed.

As for myself, Dr. Greg Bayer, former CEO for United Behavioral Health, has always been a great career mentor to me. Greg was and still is an advocate for developing and partnering with programs outside the standard benefit plans, such as “Brain Health.” He was always willing to go outside the box to try and identify alternative approaches to care.

Outside of work, my son and daughter have always encouraged me to focus on helping people. In times of discouragement and disappointment, a discussion with either one tends to open up all kinds of new ideas that ground me and serve as a guiding star in my daily life.

According to Mental Health America’s report, over 44 million Americans have a mental health condition. Yet there’s still a stigma about mental illness. Can you share a few reasons you think this is so?

The problem with mental health conditions is that they are much harder to identify and evaluate compared to a physical ailment. Although we have become more open about mental health in recent years, there are so many factors that are often overlooked or completely ignored. This is one of the many reasons why we decided to hold the Suicide Prevention Town Hall.

Despite wanting to help, close friends and family often face a challenge when discussing mental health issues. It’s important for people to learn how to create safe spaces, without judgment, where they and their loved ones can discuss the risks and the reality. Those suffering from mental health challenges may not want to burden their loved ones with their issues, choosing to shoulder all the burden until it’s too late. I believe the key to ending stigma is to continue creating safe spaces where people can have open and honest discussions and showing families who to start and sustain open communication about the topic.

In your experience, what should a) individuals b) society, and c) the government do to better support people suffering from mental illness?

As a society and as individuals, we should continue to recognize, educate, and support those with mental illness in all areas of our lives. The first step in tackling this issue is to de-stigmatize behavioral health illnesses, in both substance abuse and mental health. In the government space, health equity must be continually addressed, especially when supporting cultural issues and targeted populations. Behavioral health issues will continue to impact many families and one of the only ways we can combat it is through continued clinical quality programming, education and research.

What are your 5 strategies you use to promote your own well-being and mental wellness? Can you please give a story or example for each?

Exercise: I try to engage in physical activity whenever I get the chance. Whether it’s riding my bike, walking or golf, I try to exercise at least 30–45 minutes every day.

Engagement: I make it a point to reach out to friends, family, and colleagues as much as I can without being a nuisance. Doing so not only allows me to check in on my loved ones but also fosters the strong relationships that I have with them.

Meditation: I meditate for 10–15 minutes daily. Practicing mindfulness and being in the moment allows me a moment of calm and clarity outside of the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Sleep: I absolutely need at least 6–7 hours of sleep per night. Without it, mental fatigue sets in, preventing me from doing what I need to do.

Therapy: It’s important to be able to talk and look into my own thoughts and shortcomings. Having someone to talk to opens up these areas and allows me to focus on bettering the issues I would have not known or been able to address. I recommend a licensed LCSW, PhD or Clinician Licensed Psychologist.

What are your favorite books, podcasts, or resources that inspire you to be a mental health champion?

Tamara Levitt (Calm) — Tamara Levitt is the narrator and instructor of the Calm app’s meditation and mindfulness programming. Her instruction has been instrumental in my daily meditation.

Mel Robbins — I’m a fan of Mel Robbins. She’s a motivational speaker, author and podcaster who’s work often gives me the extra kick I need, especially on days where I find myself lacking enthusiasm.

Of course, it’s also important to have a little fun while keeping your brain sharp, so I like to play Wordle whenever I get a chance.

If you could tell other people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

  1. Do not be afraid to ask for help. Reaching out to others is a sign of strength, not weakness.
  2. Do not feel embarrassed to share your own story or experiences. Often, sharing these experiences can help others understand the issues they may be facing or encourage others to offer a helping hand to those in need.
  3. As it pertains to those individuals facing mental health challenges in silence, if you as a friend or family member think there is an issue or concern, don’t wait to reach out. The earlier we identify these problems, the more time we will have to work through them.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Inspired by the father of PR, Edward Bernays (who was also Sigmund Freud’s nephew), Michelle Tennant Nicholson researches marketing, mental injury, and what it takes for optimal human development. An award-winning writer and publicist, she’s seen PR transition from typewriters to Twitter. Michelle co-founded WasabiPublicity.com

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
Authority Magazine

A “Givefluencer,” Chief Creative Officer of Wasabi Publicity, Inc., Creator of WriteTheTrauma.org