Mental Wellness Mastery: Mental Health Expert Briana Fair Of StarVista On Everyday Life Hacks For Optimal Mental Wellness

An Interview With Eden Gold

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine
10 min readMay 26, 2024

--

Find something you love: don’t forget to do what you love, life is hard enough dealing with what we HAVE to do finding something small you love can make a difference in your day to day experience in this life. I’ve found I enjoy seeing plants grow so now my house is filled with them and some days I just sit and look at them and seeing new flowers grow just makes me happy inside.

In our modern, fast-paced society, mental wellness is a crucial aspect of leading a fulfilling life. However, for many people, achieving and maintaining good mental health can be a challenging task, with obstacles such as stress, anxiety, depression, and more. That’s why it’s essential to have practical and accessible strategies for mental wellness that can help build resilience, emotional intelligence, and overall well-being. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Briana Fair.

Briana Fair is an Associate Clinical Social Worker known for her dedication to addressing mental health crises in the city of San Mateo. As a Crisis Response Clinician, she collaborates closely with the San Mateo Police Department, employing her expertise to provide timely and compassionate intervention.

In addition to her vital role in crisis intervention, Briana holds distinguished positions within the California Society for Clinical Social Work, serving as both Ethics Chair and President-elect. Her leadership within this esteemed organization underscores her commitment to advancing the field of clinical social work and advocating for the well-being of individuals within her community.

Briana’s academic journey includes earning an undergraduate degree in Child Development and Sociology from California State University Fullerton, followed by a Masters’ degree in Social Work from California State University San Marcos. Her diverse professional background spans roles such as preschool teacher, counselor at a San Diego Center for Children, behavioral health assistant, medical social worker at Rady Children’s Hospital, protective services worker for the County of San Diego, and program coordinator at New Vista Crisis Center. Each position has contributed to her comprehensive understanding of social work principles and practices.

Driven by a profound dedication to professional growth and community service, Briana’s career embodies her passion for clinical social work. Through her unwavering commitment, she continues to make meaningful contributions to the well-being of individuals and families in need.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive into our discussion about Mental Wellness Life Hacks, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career path?

As a child, navigating school was a challenge, and the path ahead seemed uncertain. College was the next step, more out of obligation than clear direction. Yet, amidst the uncertainty, one thing stood out — I had a knack for working with children, leading me to pursue a degree in child development.

However, as my undergraduate studies unfolded, it became evident that teaching wasn’t my true calling. It was during this time that I found myself drawn to community work, joining an organization called CASSA at CSUF. Volunteering at a residential facility for youth left a profound impression on me, igniting a passion to work with children facing adversity on a daily basis.

Stepping into the world of crisis services after graduation felt like finding my true purpose. Working in both inpatient psychiatric units and residential programs, I saw firsthand the impact I could have in supporting individuals during their most vulnerable moments. It was clear: this was where I belonged, but I aspired to do more, to do it better.

My journey led me to discover the field of social work, a revelation that sparked a renewed sense of purpose. After years of persistence and dedication, I earned acceptance into MSW programs, marking a significant milestone in my academic and professional journey.

Finding my niche in social work was like discovering an oasis in the desert — a beacon of clarity and fulfillment. Since then, opportunities in crisis work have continued to present themselves, and I’ve embraced each one with enthusiasm and determination, knowing that I’m exactly where I’m meant to be.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

Working as a crisis response clinician alongside law enforcement is a journey through emotions few ever experience. Recently, I found myself deep-rooted in a negotiation lasting over six hours with a client I had formed a deep connection with. I poured my heart and soul into every word spoken over the phone, utilizing every therapeutic intervention imaginable. It was a taxing effort, but ultimately, we succeeded in securing the help the individual desperately needed that evening. However, the true depth of that experience hit me like a tidal wave.

For the first time, I truly comprehended the profound impact of crisis services on the lives of community members. While I’ve always known I love the work I do and that I am making a positive difference, that night revealed a new layer of understanding. The weight of responsibility and the raw vulnerability of those we serve became very real.

In the aftermath of that call, I found myself struggling with emotions I hadn’t felt in years. The burden of the work weighed heavy, and I realized I needed additional support to navigate the emotional unrest. Seeking support from my own therapist became essential as I tried to navigate the stress management in this demanding field.

Reflecting on the experience, I now comprehend why many law enforcement officers choose to bear their struggles in silence. The fear of appearing weak or incapable of fulfilling our duties is very real. It took me two long weeks to muster the courage to discuss the impact of that call, oblivious initially to the deep effect it had on my day-to-day existence.

Despite the challenges, I consider this experience the most interesting in my career. It provided a stark reminder of the importance of prioritizing mental health maintenance not only for those we serve but also for ourselves. This experience has instilled within me a renewed sense of dedication to this work, a commitment that will endure for the long haul.

You are a successful individual. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Perseverance : Upon realizing that social work was my true calling, I pursued it relentlessly. Despite facing rejection from graduate schools for three consecutive years, I persevered until CSUSM granted me acceptance. Acknowledging my academic struggles, I utilized every available resource to overcome challenges and excel in my studies, eventually achieving success. This determined approach extends beyond academia; whether it’s obtaining my LCSW or working for various organizations, I tackle each goal with unwavering determination, finding ways to make it happen regardless of the pace.

Adaptability: Working as a social worker in a police station has challenged me to adapt effectively, ensuring that the voice of social work resonates prominently in various environments and contexts.

Organized: I rely on my planner to manage every aspect of my life. Whether at work, in my personal life, or in volunteer roles, I actively contribute to establishing and maintaining efficient organizational systems. I believe that both personal and organizational success hinges on clarity, efficiency, and organization.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview about mental wellness mastery. What is one often-overlooked daily habit that can significantly improve one’s mental wellness?

Going for a walk can have a profound effect on how our brains function. Simply getting up and stepping out into the world can make a significant difference. By taking the time to engage all your senses and move your body, individuals can find a renewed sense of energy and clarity for tackling any task at hand. Walking not only helps decrease stress hormones but also helps recalibrate our brains, setting the stage for improved focus and productivity.

How do you recommend individuals recalibrate their mental wellness after experiencing a significant setback or failure?

Have you heard of the saying something like, “It’s okay to be sad, just don’t live there”? That’s a phrase I’ve embraced and strive to implement into my daily life. It helps me prepare my mind for setbacks or unexpected changes, making the impact less severe. As humans, we’re meant to experience a range of emotions, but dwelling excessively on any one emotion can jeopardize our stability and overall wellbeing.

In your experience, what is a common misconception about mental health that hinders people from seeking help or improving their wellness?

A widespread misconception suggests that mental health solely symbolizes a negative attribute, indicating someone who’s overwhelmed and unable to cope. The notion persists that wellness and mental health support are exclusively for those grappling with severe symptoms. However, the reality is that mental health encompasses everyone, and its status can fluctuate based on how diligently it’s maintained.

The reality is, many people aren’t fully aware of how to effectively preserve their mental well-being. When we fail to acknowledge our mental health, we often resort to less-than-ideal coping mechanisms — whether it’s drowning our sorrows in a few too many drinks or getting into unnecessary spats with our nearest and dearest over trivial matters.

And let’s be honest, sometimes those little things can pile up and make us feel like we’re losing control. We might withdraw from social situations or blow up at work, potentially putting our job at risk.

At the end of the day, it’s all about recognizing and managing our mental health, no matter where we stand. Because prioritizing it is what keeps us resilient and thriving.

Can you share a transformative moment or client story that highlights the power of a specific mental wellness strategy?

During my time as a young social worker, I worked at a group home for adolescents dealing with mental health and substance use issues. Our nights were often turbulent, with incidents happening around dinner and bedtime. Initially, I chalked it up to rebellion. But looking back, I realized it was more about boredom and trauma than defiance.

Many of the kids struggled to settle down and regulate their emotions, particularly at night. So, we decided to try something new: a structured nighttime routine. We incorporated meditation and other grounding activities like walks and reading into their evenings.

To our surprise, it worked. After about a month, the nighttime incidents decreased significantly. It was a reminder of the importance of routine and finding calm amidst chaos, not just for the kids but for all of us.

Based on your experience and research, can you please share “5 Everyday Life Hacks For Optimal Mental Wellness?”

1 . Take a walk: we talked about the importance of waking earlier and this is me reiterating the importance, look this even number one on my list!

2 . Get a therapist before you need a therapist: Most people reach out to a therapist once they are in the midst of a crisis and unfortunately they learn quickly that not every therapist is a good fit. I believe that finding a therapist that works well with you and that youtube built a relationship with will make for a better support in times of crisis.

3 . Listen to your body: your body will tell you when it’s hungry, when it’s burnt out, when it’s energized. We get so lost in the day to day that we often don’t listen to what our body actually needs.

4 . Find something you love: don’t forget to do what you love, life is hard enough dealing with what we HAVE to do finding something small you love can make a difference in your day to day experience in this life. I’ve found I enjoy seeing plants grow so now my house is filled with them and some days I just sit and look at them and seeing new flowers grow just makes me happy inside.

5 . Drink water: most people are dehydrated! Most people don’t drink enough water and water is such a relaying substance from our body. Every chance I get to offer someone in crisis water I do because I’ve seen how it can support our body regulating in small bits.

What role does technology play in mental wellness today, and how can individuals leverage it positively without exacerbating mental health issues?

There are so many apps for meditation, tracking sobriety, journaling, and more. Telehealth has also grown significantly post-COVID. Technology will always be a part of our world, and just like anything else, we must find that balance. We can look at many things in life and pick out the positives and negatives about them, and everyone’s threshold is so different. Leveraging technology positively, so as not to exacerbate mental health, would likely take someone with good insight or someone with a good support system they trust. Insight will support you when you realize technology may not be impacting you positively, and typically you’d be able to regulate and take a step back when needed. A supported, trusted support system can also serve to provide insight when you should make that decision for yourself as well.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

This was a hard question, and after thinking about it, I’m convinced that advocating for insurance providers to cover all mental health treatments and granting insured individuals more autonomy in choosing their treatment is crucial. Too often, I witness individuals forced into programs that aren’t suitable for them, leading to premature termination and a lack of access to the right care. It’s evident that we must do better in providing comprehensive and personalized treatment to those urgently seeking help.

How can our readers further follow you online?

Instagram: @bfaircounseling

LinkedIn: Briana Fair

Thank you for the time you spent sharing these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

About The Interviewer: Eden Gold, is a youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of the online program Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast. Being America’s rising force for positive change, Eden is a catalyst for change in shaping the future of education. With a lifelong mission of impacting the lives of 1 billion young adults, Eden serves as a practical guide, aiding young adults in honing their self-confidence, challenging societal conventions, and crafting a strategic roadmap towards the fulfilling lives they envision.

Do you need a dynamic speaker, or want to learn more about Eden’s programs? Click here: https://bit.ly/EdenGold

--

--

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine

Youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast