Mirta Miller Shares Her Top Self-care, Wellness, and Beauty Tips

An Interview With Maria Angelova

--

To really look at yourself in the mirror. People always look at themselves in the mirror, but never really look at themselves like look at yourself, admire every inch of your body the way it is, and think of a reason why you love it.

At times it feels like wellness or elevating one’s well being, is diametrically opposed to high achievement and high performance in one’s career. The stress, mental energy, long hours, lack of restful sleep and preoccupation that result from a high-achievement life seem to directly inhibit wellness. And yet, in order to sustain the creativity, flexibility, mental acuity and resilience that are necessary for high performance, wellness and wellbeing of the mind, body and soul are also mandatory. So how do we achieve both? This is the question I’m hoping to answer through conversations with high-achieving leaders and influencers who are practicing their own philosophies about how to maintain their wellbeing.

As a part of our series about “Social Media Influencers Share Their Top Self Care, Wellness, and Beauty Tips, I had the pleasure of interviewing Mirta Miller.

TikTok’s beauty aficionado Mirta Miller (@Mimiermakeup), with 17+ million followers, has grown a devoted social media following thanks to her authentic product reviews, ability to identify trends and create content that adds value, and her humorous editing techniques. Miller has emerged as a dynamic force in the beauty industry.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory of how you came upon this career path to where you are today?

Being a successful, content creator was never something I planned, and I never imagined this could be my career. I have always dreamt of being confident enough to film videos, because I always had a passion for makeup and beauty, but I have always been hesitant about it, and a little bit shy in front of the camera. At approximately 21 I decided life is too short and I am going to film videos, no matter who watches them or what they think of me. I started filming for fun and as a hobby after work and college lectures. After some time my content started picking up, and people started to notice me which inspired me to film more. After a couple of months, the views really took off, and I started filming every day, it only took a couple of brand deals for me to quit my corporate job and decide to risk it all and devote myself to my dream.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I am particularly grateful for my grandma because she always inspired me to have a positive mindset in life and to never be afraid to do what I want. She taught me that, and nothing in life is impossible. If you put your mind to it and work towards your goal. I was a pretty shy kid, and was always, sad about not fitting in, but she told me that that was a good thing because I was special and that I needed to use my positive energy and my ability to make people happy to my advantage. I am grateful for a lot of people, but in particular, my grandma for giving me the courage to be who I am, and do what I love.

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story with us about the most humorous mistake you made when you were first starting? What lesson or take-away did you learn from that?

I can surely say I made a lot of mistakes along the way. Especially in the beginning when I got a lot of suspicious emails. One time I got this email that was like from TikTok but not really and they were telling me my account had had community guidelines violation and I needed to give them my password and my username so my login information. At first, I was like scared, and I already typed out all of my login info but then I started to think about it and I saw gmail.com and I figured TikTok wouldn’t email you from a Google address. Thank God I didn’t send an email and I learned later that it was a scam and they tried to hack my account. I mean now I can laugh about it and it’s funny to me, but in the moment I could’ve made a huge mistake so that was a huge learning moment for me to never ever give anyone any of my login information for any social media.

As an influencer, you have been blessed with great success in a career path that many have attempted, but eventually gave up on. In fact, perhaps most people who tried to follow a career path like yours did not succeed. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path but know that their dreams might be dashed?

As for anything in life, I think you shouldn’t be too desperate or needy for it to happen. It’s something you deserve something that is your right and if it’s your pass, it will be yours. I got into this work not by wanting money fame or this lifestyle I was just doing what I love and enjoying it and that was the pure emotion that people felt when they watched my Contin. So I think you just need to be genuine and if it’s something that is meant for you, people will see, the positive energy you are bringing and you will thrive as a Contin creator. What you need to do is put in a lot of work and determination and really focus on your goal. Even on the days when you don’t feel like it even on the days when it’s hard, or when it takes a little bit more for you to get inspired, just push through those days because at the end the results may be life-changing. Always remember you will never regret trying. You will regret giving up.

Can you share with our readers some of the strategies you’ve used to build an engaged, loyal, and large online community?

Oh, I think a very important thing is to be consistent so have a daily posting schedule post at the same time. It’s very important to organize because creating content isn’t as easy as some people think it takes a lot of work and planning to have a successful Contin creating career. it is also always important to listen to your audience and you can do this by checking up on your analytics moving in the direction your audience and you enjoy the most. It’s important that those two are in line because if you’re doing something you don’t like you’re not going be able to do it long term and if you’re doing something, your audience isn’t really thrilled about that is also going to be something that won’t be able to work long-term. To conclude consistency, organization, and determination are key.

Ok thank you for all that. Now let’s shift to the main focus of our interview. In my work, I focus on how one can thrive and care for oneself in three areas: body, mind, and heart. You are a busy person with a demanding schedule, can you share with our readers two self-care routines, practices or treatments that help your body thrive?

For a long time, I have put my carotenes on hold for work, but lately, I have really got back into it and it has helped me become more inspired for work and more efficient. I have a couple of routines that have really helped me on a day-to-day basis, I know this is really common but working out at least two or three times a week really did do a lot for my confidence for my bill Up in Gray shoes and for my overall health, it doesn’t have to be hard-core weightlifting. It can be yoga Pilates a little bit of cardio. Whatever you feel like doing. Also, I have been loving long night walks with some good music. I feel like it helps me collect my thoughts at the end of the day and I always come from those walks feeling like there’s a weight lifted off my shoulders, and it has really helped me get my sleep schedule in line. For example, I used to have a really messed up sleeping schedule and there wasn’t anything that could get me to fall slip in time. I really don’t enjoy prescription medication or any kind of pills. I really wanted to try to take the natural route first. Since I’ve started doing these walks and working out two or three times a week I have really seen an improvement in my ski sleeping schedule and while I’m still working on getting it to Carl, I really wanted to be I’m seeing a lot of progress and I would recommend trying this if you have similar problems.

Can you share with us two routines that you use to help your mind or heart to thrive?

Some routines that have helped me, and that I have been doing for a long time, have been journaling and meditation. I started journaling, approximately four years ago. At first, it took some time for me to get used to journaling, and it took some time to really do it correctly. It became my routine and I don’t do it daily, but I do try to make it at least one or two times a week because it’s a great way to, summarize your feelings and everything you have in your head. I have had journaling be useful for me in other situations. For example, if you’re going through a breakup a loss, or in general a difficult time, I try to write out all my feelings and it really helps me take some weight off my shoulders and understand myself and my feelings better. also for break ups, it’s good to write out a final
letter to your ex that you’ll never send them it’s just for you to feel more at ease without making any changes to your healing journey. It has been very helpful for me in the past.

Can you help articulate why self-care is so important for your mental wellness?

Self-care is very important, not only for your mental wellness but for your efficiency and your job, your personal relationships and I think long-term it affects the longevity of your life and overall health. The mind is really important because our brain controls our entire body and if our thoughts are overwhelming and we don’t take care of mental health or physical health can also be affected by it. I have seen it a lot of times in real life where mindsets can either heal a person or make them unwell. It’s really important, especially in today’s day and age because I think all of our lives are really stressful and stress levels in youth are at an all-time high, it’s really important for the manner in person to think about their mental health and to have a really healthy coping mechanisms and routines to help them, maintain their mental health and wellness.

Can you share five ideas that anyone can use “to feel beautiful”?

My five routines to feel beautiful and that can be used every day are:

1. The most important for me is to not compare yourself to others. It seems simple, but it’s really not. We really have to train our minds not to put ourselves up against other people because it’s not a competition you are your unique person in the way, your look is the most beautiful for you because there is not another person like you. I really try to trade my mind every day whenever my thoughts go in that direction to tell myself, you are so unique and there is no one else like you and if there is an insecurity, then comparing to another person, I always say, for example, no your nose is beautiful the way it is because it is perfect for your face and it compliments your eyes for example.

2. To really look at yourself in the mirror. People always look at themselves in the mirror, but never really look at themselves like look at yourself, admire every inch of your body the way it is, and think of a reason why you love it. For example, I used to hate my broad shoulders, but now I’m like I love my broad shoulders because they make me look so strong, or my stomach. I love the curves on my stomach because they make me look so feminine and gentle. We really have to look at ourselves and be proud of every inch of our bodies.

3. If you’re really struggling with your self-image I would write down my positive thoughts about myself. For example, “I love my eyes because they’re that special unique kind of brown that I don’t see in a lot of people, they are so warm.” Write down a couple of sentences about your body or about your appearance that make you beautiful and that you’re proud of and try to focus on them and really explain to yourself why you are beautiful. This really is a factor in the long term because you start to notice those beautiful things about yourself even more.

4. To feel beautiful there are some routines. You can do that really make you feel “fresh any new”. For example, you don’t have to do a crazy shopping spree, but buying a couple of things that your body looks good in will do wonderful things for your ego and remind you of how beautiful you are. I’m not saying that material things really matter it doesn’t have to be clothes. You can go and get a little haircut or you can do a hair mask, full body scrub, put on some moisturizer, and have some kind of routine that makes you feel nourished and beautiful for some people that will be shopping for clothes and for others it will be a spa day find something that works for you and included in your weekly routine.

5. Resources say that we are a lot more attractive to other people than we are to ourselves so if you’re not aware of how beautiful you are try with “ delusional confidence” first. I tried this and it really worked. It made me super confident. For example, even if you don’t believe it when you put on a cute outfit just go to the mirror and tell yourself “I’m so hot today. Everyone is looking my way I am breathtaking the way I am.“ when you come into a room always keep your head high and look around the room clockwise with a good posture. This makes me feel like I own the room and like I’m the hottest person in their confidence is something that really makes me personally feel more beautiful every day and it is a process but you can do it if you put a little bit of work in it.

Is there a particular resource, a practitioner, expert, book, or podcast that made a significant impact on you and helped you to thrive? Can you share a story about that with us?

Actually, there is a book that made a really big change in my life and completely shifted my mindset. When I was a teenager, I used to be really depressed and I had a super negative mindset. I couldn’t really control my emotions. I couldn’t focus on anything. I wasn’t really goal oriented and I was a little bit lost in my mind. for a particular birthday, my grandma bought me the book “Secret for Youth” so basically, it’s the same as the book “Secret” but for younger generations. I don’t read many books, but this one really intrigued me and I read it within one day I liked the book so much that I also decided to read “The Secret” and “Power” by Rhonda Byrne. These books are mostly about really organizing your mindset and manifesting anything you want in your life, a lot of people don’t believe in manifestation, but for me, it really worked firsthand and I can really say that things started really changing in my life when I started manifesting and journaling. The books taught me that if you believe in something and you believe that, some things should be yours, and you can manifest them into your life and you are the ruler of your universe. You can make everything you want happen if you have the right mindset, all the resources are within you, and there are no limits to your power. If you never checked out these books, I would really recommend you give them a try, may not be for everyone, but for some, it could be life-changing.

As an influencer, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I wouldn’t think of myself as a “big movement starter“, but I think if there was a movement I would start it would be about teaching, young people, and children about their power and the power of their mindset. I think a lot of people’s lives would be changed if you only taught them at a young age they control their destiny. I don’t think it’s talked about enough and I think that a lot of people and a lot of kids are programmed from a young age to do very operational jobs and creating creativity isn’t really something that can flourish in these atmospheres. I would love it if there was a way that I could communicate to younger generations about learning, your self-worth, and your self-value, in fact, I have been thinking of starting a podcast that that concentrates on this topic in learning how valuable you are truly appreciating in using your full potential in life. Maybe that will be something you will be seeing from you soon.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world with whom you’d like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this. :-)

I am very blessed that I am a part of this column and thank you for this opportunity. If there was anyone, I would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with it would definitely be Lady Gaga. I have been a huge fan of her since I was a little kid, and she kind of inspired me to be different and be the way I am and that meant a lot to me in that moment when I was feeling really weird about being kind of different from everyone else. Also, I think she’s an amazing businesswoman and I really admire the way she works in her creative mindset. I think that conversation itself would be very life-changing for me, so yeah, she is definitely the first person that pops into my mind.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

If your readers want to become my friends on any of my social media accounts, my handle is @mimiermakeup on TikTok, Instagram, and YouTube. Can’t wait to hang out with you if you decide to join me on my social media journey :)
And thank you for making me a part of this column, it’s truly an honor.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

About The Interviewer: Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher, and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl. As a disruptor, Maria is on a mission to change the face of the wellness industry by shifting the self-care mindset for consumers and providers alike. As a mind-body coach, Maria’s superpower is alignment which helps clients create a strong body and a calm mind so they can live a life of freedom, happiness, and fulfillment. Prior to founding Rebellious Intl, Maria was a Finance Director and a professional with 17+ years of progressive corporate experience in the Telecommunications, Finance, and Insurance industries. Born in Bulgaria, Maria moved to the United States in 1992. She graduated summa cum laude from both Georgia State University (MBA, Finance) and the University of Georgia (BBA, Finance). Maria’s favorite job is being a mom. Maria enjoys learning, coaching, creating authentic connections, working out, Latin dancing, traveling, and spending time with her tribe. To contact Maria, email her at angelova@rebellious-intl.com. To schedule a free consultation, click here.

--

--

Maria Angelova, CEO of Rebellious Intl.
Authority Magazine

Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl.