“Most successful people in your field are far behind the scenes, so just focus on what your good at and become the best to do it”, with Beau Rich

Drew Gurley
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readOct 3, 2018

Thank you so much for joining us! Let’s show everyone you’re a normal human being. What are your hobbies, favorite places to visit, pet peeves? Tell us about YOU when you’re not at the office.

“I have a passion for the creation and consumption of anything music related. I also love anything outdoors, especially kayaking, camping, and hiking. Some of my favorite places to visit are Death Valley National Park in California where beautiful views of the stars can be seen, old record stores, and anywhere off the beaten path. A few pet peeves I have are people finishing my sentences/being cut off, materialism, and people looking down on others.”

Can you tell us something about you that few people know?

“I was recently a part of NBC’s #1 rated show The Voice, and I am also a Military Veteran.”

Do you have any exciting projects going on right now?

“I am currently getting ready to release my first EP which I am incredibly excited to share with the world.

Many people say success correlates with the people you meet in your life. Can you describe two that most impacted your success and why.

“I strongly believe that the people you choose to surround yourself with will undoubtedly determine the success of your future, for better or worse. Kiedra Tyson, my amazing publicist, is without a doubt one of the most important people in my life. Over the past four years, she has somehow been able to keep me grounded, humbled, inspired, motivated and optimistic through some of the lowest points in my life, which has allowed us to reach many milestones throughout my music career thus far. I’m very thankful to have her in my life.

“Another example of this is not the addition of a person, but rather the separation from a group of people that I believe delayed the pursuit of my dreams for a long time. Although this group of friends will always remain in my life, I am thankful for the good times we shared in the past. If I had not separated myself and focused on what I truly wanted in life, I may have never been where I am today.”

Leaders always seem to find ways to overcome their weaknesses. Can you share one or two examples of how you work outside of your comfort zone to achieve success?

“Going outside of your comfort zone is never an easy thing to do, but I strongly believe that it is the ONLY way to progress in life, overcome your fears, and achieve things that you may not have ever thought yourself capable of.

“Personally, I like to get into the habit of just simply saying yes. Every opportunity that comes my way I try my best to just go for it, because you never know what opportunities or learning experiences may come along the way.

“Another example to make sure I am able to get out of my comfort zone is to do my best to live a healthy lifestyle. I believe that when you are able to achieve a clear mind and focus, you will be less likely to let obstacles stand in your way.”

The concept of mind over matter has been around for years. A contemporary description of this is having mental toughness. Can you give us an example (or two) of obstacles you’ve overcome by getting your mind in the right place (some might call this reframing the situation)?

“To expand on the previous question, I think that having a heathy mind goes hand in hand with having ‘tough skin’. I used to be afraid to sing in front of people, and one night at a Karaoke bar I was forced to get up on stage and I’ll never forget how fulfilling it was to get over that fear.

“Another example is doing the most difficult tasks early in the morning, before my mind has a chance to procrastinate.”

What are your “3 Lessons I Learned from My Most Memorable Failure”?

“I really believe that in life, failure is simply a test of your ability to handle situations, and the only outcome is becoming a stronger and more prepared person, so in essence, I’ve learned that the more failures you experience in life, the stronger you become.”

What unfiltered advice can you give aspiring stars regarding how to avoid common mis-fires in starting their career?

“Whatever talent you possess, whether it is singing, fashion design, or acting, it can be very easy to get focused on ‘making it’, which can often deter people from the most important things, which are mastering your craft, creating/development, and networking.

“The instant gratification of social media has trained people to believe that your worth is determined by the amount of likes or followers you have, but that is only a perception. Some of the most successful people in your field are far behind the scenes, so just focus on what your good at and become the best to do it.”

What is the best lesson you learned from your worst boss?

“Always treat people equally regardless of your status or position in life. I also learned and made a promise that I will never have a boss again in my life ;)

What is one “efficiency hack” you use consistently in your life to keep your time and mind free to focus on your strengths and passions?

Getting the stuff done that you are dreading early in the morning will save you from the possibility of procrastination, and meditation and healthy eating will give you the energy and mental strength to stay focused during tough times.”

All actors or musicians have sleepless nights. We have a term we use with our clients called the “2 a.m. moment.” It’s when you’re wide awake and thinking not-so-positive thoughts about your business choices and future. Can you describe a 2 a.m. moment (or moments) you’ve had and how you overcame the challenges?

“One night I stayed up all night thinking about a song that I had sent to a new and very important music executive. I tossed and turned telling myself that he would hate the song, or I should have sent something else. By 4 a.m. I was in a state of insomnia. I finally reached the point where I had to say ‘screw it’; if it doesn’t work out I at least tried. He ended up loving the song and I felt so dumb for overthinking the situation. Sometimes you just have to say, ‘screw it’.

Nobody likes to fail, and we sure don’t like to admit we failed. Can you describe a moment when you confided your most closely-held business issues/problems to someone close to you, and how the conversation(s) helped you work through the issue?

“Failure as I mentioned before is not only a tough situation to deal with but can also be extremely embarrassing to share with your closest family and friends, because I think we all just want everyone to think we are doing well regardless of our situation.

“Although my opinions on “failure” have changed throughout my life, I also realized that having someone to talk to, even to simply vent, can be an incredible release. There was a day where I was second guessing my entire music career and considered pursuing a career in real estate because it was the ‘responsible’ thing to do. I reached out to my publicist Kiedra, who kept me focused and let me experience first-hand the mistake I had made, which eventually led to some of the greatest achievements in my career.”

What’s on the drawing board for your next venture?

“My future goals are definitely to create and release as much content as possible, but also start getting involved in aiding with the development of other artists.”

What did we miss? Feel free to share any other thoughts or advice on overcoming failure, initiatives you’re currently supporting, any other relevant information you would like to share with the readers.

“Stay focused, keep your brain on point, and be the best at what you do; success will surely follow.”

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

Instagram- @beaurichmusic

Twitter- Beau Rich Music

--

--

Drew Gurley
Authority Magazine

Drew Gurley is an avid entrepreneur, member of the Forbes Finance Council, and epilepsy advocate.