Music Star & YouTube Star Ally Hills On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
8 min readDec 29, 2022

--

Honestly, I just wish I could inspire less hatred because there is an overwhelming amount and it’s absurd. The current world we live in is clearly very hostile to minority groups, hence the countless movements already in existence and I obviously don’t know what the solution is, but in terms of supporting a movement I can’t think of something more important than the human lives that are actively being threatened due to hatred in all it’s forms.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Ally Hills.

Launching her viral YouTube channel in 2012, Ally quickly captured the hearts of tens of thousands of fans from around the world. Delivering a quirky mix of comedy, music and stories about her experience in the LGBTQ+ community, Ally’s loveable content quickly positioned her as one of YouTube’s most popular creative influencers. Frequently playing shows at LA and NY’s most notable music venues (Peppermint Club, Harvard & Stone, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang), Ally’s success eventually led her to a Shorty Award Nomination in 2016 for Best YouTube Musician. Her musical influences range from pop icons such as Paramore, modern indie pop, as well as beloved new wave bands from the 80’s like Tears for Fears and New Order. Comedically, Ally’s brand of ‘observational humor’ allows her to find comedy in ordinary, everyday things, making them relatable yet wildly entertaining to her viewers.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit about your “origin story”. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in Hermosa Beach with my mom, dad, and sister. Growing up I spent a lot of my time playing basketball and music, among other activities (I had some weird hobbies when I was younger. I had a phase where I just dug holes because of the movie Holes). I would say that I had a pretty normal upbringing for a California beach town. The place where I grew up was a little over 1 square mile and because of that it didn’t have a high school. Having to go to high school in a different area introduced me to a ton of new people with similar interests, specifically music. I was in the theater/band kid crowd and surrounded myself with other artists and creative people, but I was also “straightedge” so I didn’t go to many parties or high school events, but I did spend a lot of my time making music and doing other things that I was passionate about. I would like, spend an entire night mass messaging people on PureVolume and MySpace to get them to listen to my music for fun.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

One instance that has stayed with me was when I was 14 in the basement of my friend’s house. It was probably the first time we had ever hung out and he put the music video for “crushcrushcrush” by Paramore on the tv and I just remember being like “This is the coolest girl I’ve ever seen. This is the best thing I’ve ever heard. This is what I want to do.” That really felt like the moment where I set the goal for myself to pursue music. I’ve done more than just music throughout my journey to get here, but music has always been the end goal and that was a particularly impactful instance for me.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

About ten years ago, I was hanging out in a Denny’s with my friend at around 2 a.m (obviously the most appropriate time to eat Denny’s). A random dude came up to our table and started a conversation with us. We found out he played music which sparked up a conversation that was so good that we all ended up exchanging phone numbers to keep in touch. We didn’t keep in touch haha. But fast forward to my first session with the producers for my 2022 EP and the guy that opens the door is the same guy from the Denny’s. We both still had each other’s numbers and it was a cool full circle moment. I’m not sure if it’s the MOST interesting story, but I do find synchronicities to be an interesting thing.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m going to be working on a lot of new music in this upcoming year and hopefully playing a lot more shows. In 2022 I released my first EP and played my first live shows so 2023 is all about gaining and maintaining momentum for the next stages of my career.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

In my opinion, the main reason for “burnout” comes from a lack of creativity due to the growing frequentness in which people are expected to consistently create content. Realistically, the most common advice for success is consistency and frequency which I think sometimes almost guarantees an eventual burnout after a certain amount of time, but I find that taking note of the moments of creativity that naturally occur in your life as opposed to setting a strict time to be creative tends to help the process feel less forced. I think the most helpful tip that I could offer would be to save every idea that comes to you, even if it’s just something random, like a phrase, or you think it’d never really be worth expanding on. Anytime you have the slightest idea for music, content, or anything creative at all; make a note of it (not a mental note, like actual documentation) so when you do find yourself feeling stuck or in dire need of having to create for the sake of consistency, there’s a slew of bits and pieces to work with and take inspiration from. And if your memory is anything like mine, you will probably have forgotten taking note of most of them so the ideas might feel new again or spark the same excitement you had when they initially came to you. I think finding ways to make the creative process still feel creative is vital to staying inspired and avoiding less burn out.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Honestly, I just wish I could inspire less hatred because there is an overwhelming amount and it’s absurd. The current world we live in is clearly very hostile to minority groups, hence the countless movements already in existence and I obviously don’t know what the solution is, but in terms of supporting a movement I can’t think of something more important than the human lives that are actively being threatened due to hatred in all it’s forms.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I’m really grateful for both of my managers and their immense amount of encouragement, support, and work towards helping me thrive. Their confidence in me has helped me grow as both a person and an artist and their dedication is something that means the world to me. At the same time, I don’t think I would be where I’m at today if it weren’t for my parents allowing me to pursue everything I’ve ever wanted to do. I showed an interest in music from an early age which they picked up on and continuously allowed me to explore during my adolescence. I got my first drum kit when I was 8 years old and from there found an interest in guitar, then keys, then writing, then recording. I made music in my bedroom throughout high school and when I finally showed my parents the songs I had been making they were enthusiastic about helping me find a producer to make an EP. I eventually dropped out of college to focus on turning my creative endeavors into a career, which I’m sure they weren’t super stoked about, but regardless they still supported my decisions. Having been given the ability to pursue my interests from such a young age and the freedom to focus my energy on my passions is something that I’m extremely grateful for getting me to where I am now, and for that I have my parents to thank.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

One quote that I always try to keep in mind is to “Choose your thoughts carefully.” I think that manifestation is a powerful thing and I also think that your thoughts and outlook have an impact on the direction things can go. Whether it’s telling yourself that you are capable of bigger things or simply just not trying to be your own worst critic, the way that you think can influence your own limits and what you’re able to do. It basically sounds like trying to say “believe in yourself” haha, but also I think that surrounding yourself with good thoughts generates good energy and from there, good things will come. I think for anyone in the music and entertainment industry, doubt can seem like a very real thing and choosing which thoughts you carry with you is important to growing and accomplishing what you want.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I think if I could choose anyone it might have to be Susan Sarandon so I can fulfill my dream of taking her on a date since she never saw my DM when I asked her on Instagram (and my girlfriend said she’d be cool with it so it’s fine).

How can our readers follow you online?

My music is available on all streaming platforms and you can find me at @allyhills on Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, and Twitter.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.