Natalia Tsvetkova On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Eden Gold

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine
9 min readMay 5, 2024

--

Self-Care is Paramount: The intensity of acting — emotionally, physically, and mentally — can be overwhelming. I wish someone had emphasized the importance of self-care early in my career. Balancing work with activities that replenish my energy and spirit is essential for sustaining a long and healthy career.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Natalia Tsvetkova.

Natalia Tsvetkova is a Russian-born film actress and producer based in the UK who plays one of the lead roles in the thriller “DarkGame,” starring Ed Westwick. She began her acting career in Russia, performing in Russian TV series (“Moskovskiy Dekameron”), films (“Conference,” “Brief Encounters”), and commercials before moving to the UK. As a producer, her filmography includes a variety of films such as “Freud’s Last Session,” “DarkGame,” “Dirty South,” and “Selfiemania,” among others.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I am incredibly grateful to have grown up with my two sisters, with whom I shared an invaluable companion: our video camera. We adored making films, always having two of us in front of the camera while the third took on the role of director and cinematographer. It was during these creative sessions that I discovered my profound love for the filmmaking process and acting. Although I spent a lot of time dancing and performing on the school stage, making films with my sisters was always my favourite activity!

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Even though I graduated from Law University, I always knew I wanted to be an actress and be involved in the filmmaking process. I was constantly on the lookout for ways to land a role in films or TV, or to make my own films. I found some early success because I was cast as one of the leads in a TV series called “Moscow Decameron” and moved to Moscow from my hometown. However, after that, I went through a period where I made a living by gaining any experience I could, doing commercials, videos, and my own short film projects. I travelled a lot to some film festivals to learn more about the industry and find international partners to work with. But recently I moved to the UK and have been working for Happy Hour Productions in their film and TV unit, helping to develop and produce projects, and also being able to act in English-speaking films.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

One of the most interesting stories from early in my career involves meeting one of my favourite actors, Robert Knepper. I had a role in a series that was shooting in Romania. One night, after the shoot, we were hanging out at the bar. When one of the actors mentioned Robert Knepper’s character, T-bag, from “Prison Break,” I jumped into the conversation because it’s one of my favourite series. As we were talking, I saw a man enter the bar and walk straight towards where I was sitting with the producers… And it was Robert Knepper himself! It turns out he was also part of this series, something I had no idea about. He came over to say hello to everyone and spoke to me as if I were a long-time friend.

It was an incredible filming period. During the shoot breaks, we spent a lot of time chatting about Robert’s career, film characters and experiences. I think I was pinching myself from time to time, as I was such a fan of his work!

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I remember I had a small part where I had to storm out of a room in a dramatic scene. Eager to shine, I practiced my exit over and over. However, during the actual take, I was too excited and lost some control, I mistimed my exit and walked straight into a prop door that was supposed to swing open. It didn’t budge. The sound of the crew trying not to laugh while I bumped into the door and stumbled was unforgettable. I joined in the laughter, composed myself, and we redid the scene perfectly.

This taught me two important lessons: always double-check your surroundings and keep a sense of humour about you. And also no matter how much you prepare, unexpected things can happen during filming.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

It’s a new comedy series that we’ve been developing and aiming to make in a next year or two. It is a feel good drama comedy, inspired by my work at Happy Hour productions, I think the tone of Ted Lasso but in a different workplace setting, that will take place in the UK.

Another exciting project is a mystery thriller about astral projection where I will be the lead character developing some unique abilities.

As a rising star, you’ve likely faced challenges along the way. How do you stay motivated and overcome obstacles in your career?

I often read about the challenges others have faced and what they’ve had to overcome to reach where they are today. Most of the time, I find that the obstacles they encountered were significantly tougher, yet they managed to persevere and keep moving forward.

Similarly, when I watch a truly great film (one that I’ve seen before and know for sure is excellent), it inspires me to continue pushing myself. It motivates me to aspire to be part of such films and to work with the directors who’ve created the movies I love.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Firstly, I believe that the films and TV shows we watch as we grow up significantly influence us. Therefore, representing characters correctly and fairly in film and TV carries a significant responsibility for producers.

Secondly, it’s crucial to avoid stereotypes because they shape people’s opinions over time. Playing a character that defies stereotypes can have a positive cultural impact, helping to ensure that people don’t judge others solely based on appearances.

And lastly, film and TV offer the opportunity to be as inclusive as possible. They have the power to teach someone, somewhere in the world, about different values or cultural experiences they might not encounter in their own lives.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

1. Rejection is Not Personal: In the beginning, every rejection felt like a direct critique of my talent or personality. I wish someone had told me that casting decisions are often based on a myriad of factors beyond my performance. Understanding this would have helped me maintain confidence in the face of rejection.

2. Networking is Key: I underestimated the power of networking when I first started. The film industry thrives on connections not just for getting roles, but for support, growth, and collaboration. Knowing the importance of building a network of peers and mentors early on would have accelerated my career and personal development.

3. Continuous Learning is Crucial: Acting is an art that demands constant growth. I wish I had grasped the importance of continuously honing my skills through workshops, classes, and feedback. This ongoing learning process is crucial for staying relevant and expanding one’s range as an actor.

4. Self-Care is Paramount: The intensity of acting — emotionally, physically, and mentally — can be overwhelming. I wish someone had emphasized the importance of self-care early in my career. Balancing work with activities that replenish my energy and spirit is essential for sustaining a long and healthy career.

5. Patience is Your Best Friend: Success in the film industry rarely happens overnight. I wish I had been advised to cultivate patience and understand that building a career takes time. This mindset would have helped me appreciate the journey and the small victories along the way, rather than constantly focusing on the end goal.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Diversify your interests! I think, cultivating hobbies outside of acting is key. This industry can be intense, and having other passions helps balance your identity and maintain joy, regardless of career highs and lows. These activities not only offer a break from the demands of acting but also enrich your performances by broadening your perspective on the world. Ultimately, diversifying your interests enhances both your personal well-being and your depth as a performer, making you more resilient against burnout.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could inspire a movement for widespread good, it would be the Daily Kindness Challenge. Everyone commits to performing at least one act of kindness each day for a certain period of time. This could be anything from a smile or buying a cup of coffee to a stranger to volunteering time for a local cause. It’s an inclusive, universal call to action that requires minimal effort but has the potential for massive impact. The beauty of this movement is in its ripple effect that can create a significant positive shift in the global community.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

For me, that person is my father. He was always the first to praise the home videos my sisters and I created, insisting they were amazing and entertaining. He encouraged me to hone my acting skills further even though I was studding as a lawyer.

When I began learning English, his happiness and support were overwhelming, as if he foresaw its necessity for my future in film. And when I landed my first significant acting role, requiring me to leave our hometown and move to Moscow for two months, he shared his unwavering belief in me. He urged me to pursue my dreams, affirming his faith in my success.

Can you please give us your favourite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

‘’Our attitude towards life determines life’s attitude towards us’’.

This quote that I read when I was probably 14 years old, taught me that a positive outlook can change our path. It’s a reminder that we can influence our lives significantly by how we choose to react to what happens to us. Early in my career each rejection felt like a defeat, but this quote helped me see them as chances to grow.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

This person is Baz Luhrmann. When I went to the movie theatre and watched “Moulin Rouge,” I decided that I wanted to take part in films like that, in English-language films. I remember enjoying every moment of the film — how the story was told, every actor’s performance, the set design, the music, the choreography. And I watched it five more times in the movie theatre! I bought the DVD and played it over and over again, repeating my favourite scenes and trying to perform like Nicole Kidman. Later, I watched his other films many times and enjoyed them so much — “Romeo and Juliet” starring Leonardo DiCaprio. And much later, “The Great Gatsby” became my absolute favourite.

I would like to have lunch with Baz and say thank you for inspiring me with his films for many years!

How can our readers follow you online?

The readers can follow me on Instagram @tsvetkovanataly or Facebook Natalia Tsvetkova

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

About The Interviewer: Eden Gold, is a youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of the online program Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast. Being America’s rising force for positive change, Eden is a catalyst for change in shaping the future of education. With a lifelong mission of impacting the lives of 1 billion young adults, Eden serves as a practical guide, aiding young adults in honing their self-confidence, challenging societal conventions, and crafting a strategic roadmap towards the fulfilling lives they envision.

Do you need a dynamic speaker, or want to learn more about Eden’s programs? Click here: https://bit.ly/EdenGold

--

--

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine

Youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast