“Never let them see you sweat” With Lulu Cohen

--

My father, an Emmy Winning Producer for ABC’s, 20/20, taught me everything. He is my hero and mentor. Among the many things he said, this has stuck with me over the years: “Never let them see you sweat” and “Find your passion, never lose sight of it and always look like you have hustle.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Lulu Cohen. For over 15 years, Lulu has been changing the parameters of PR/social media, one click at a time. Lulu specializes in music, film, live events, TV, hospitality and beyond. Her strategic PR and marketing initiatives help strengthen trends and build brands; creating a positive need in the marketplace. Flourishing in the digital universe via new and unique media/ branding platforms, Lulu thrives on creating and implementing targeted on-message campaigns with proven results. Currently, she is VP at Sayles & Winnikoff Communications in NYC.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I started collecting records when I was 11, I would place them in order by record label. I knew I loved music but looking back it still shocks me that I did that. Back then, vInyl was like a piece of candy to me, I would stare an album for hours.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

I was working with Wu-Tang Clan, and I was traveling with them for a show in Orlando at Disney. We were shooting a feature story for The Source Magazine. I was the only one there from the record label and responsible for everything. RZA and I decided to throw an after party. The EIC from The Source warned me not to do it; but I didn’t listen. Then RZA announced at the show from the stage… that all were invited to an after party at his hotel. Standing by the side of the stage with the EIC, she laughed so hard and said I told you!! Their tour manager and I had a great relationship and he said, “we got you, Lulu, don’t worry!” He was on it… they had a lot of security in front of the hotel and I believe there was a secret word that that granted entrance. It was one of the best parties I have ever hosted.

But I have to say the most interesting story involves Afroman and the making of his video, “Because I Got High, The Positive Remix.” It tagged the vote to legalize marijuana and to date has over 8 million views!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I was at Rolling Stone with Slash and we were meeting with Jann Wenner, the head of the magazine and I was out of CD’s. I was prepared, I ran to a writer I knew who I hoped had the CD. He had it on his desk and gave it to me to give to Jann. Slash’s singer (not Axl) gave me a high five and a woo woot, you did it! He was the only one who saw me sweat that day.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Imcon, Imcon’s Internet Backpack enables internet connectivity anywhere. They work with remote countries; giving them internet access anywhere! A feel good project and I love it! Please check the website for more info.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Wow so many stories! Carole King, a legend and a sweetheart, Kool G Rap, Opeth, Ramones and many more.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

It’s easy to feel overwhelmed in this business, I think the key is to just stay focused. Concentration is key. Always try to be creative in whatever you’re doing and you will thrive.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Always do the right thing and you will win no matter what! #positivity

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

If you can’t write, take a class, stay passionate, be yourself, find someone you trust and have fun.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Passion vs pain, they are both the same but have different indications. Identify them all and move forward with avengence!!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My father, an Emmy Winning Producer for ABC’s, 20/20, he taught me everything. He is my hero and mentor. Among the many things he said, this has stuck with me over the years: “Never let them see you sweat” and “Find your passion, never lose sight of it and always look like you have hustle.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

Joni Mitchell, Gloria Steinem and Lady Gaga.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Instagram: @lulucohenmedia or Linkedin, www.linkedin.com/in/lulucohenmedia

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational!

--

--

Inspiring True Stories with Marco Derhy
Authority Magazine

Entrepreneur | Author | 20 years in publication | Content Creator & Interviews w/media Impact | Writer |Film producer|Founder @ Derhy Enterprises.“God is First”