Norman M Rowe of Rowe Plastic Surgery: 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career As A Plastic Surgeon

An Interview With Jake Frankel

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
5 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Stamina — it’s a long haul to get there. Don’t look at it as 10 years after medical school, take it one day at a time.

As a part of my series about healthcare leaders, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Norman M. Rowe, M.D., M.H.A.

Dr. Norman Rowe, MD, is a board certified plastic surgeon recognized by the American Board of Plastic Surgery. With training from New York University Medical Center and the Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Institute, and an additional year dedicated to the study of microsurgery and breast reconstruction surgeries, Dr. Rowe brings a wealth of knowledge and skill to his practice.

Specializing in breast procedures, rhinoplasty, and revision procedures, Dr. Rowe and his team of top-rated plastic surgeons offer a comprehensive range of services to address the diverse aesthetic needs of their patients. A decade of practicing in New York City has solidified his reputation as a trusted and skilled plastic surgeon. Notably, Dr. Rowe’s expertise in minimizing scarring and surgical trauma has gained recognition, particularly for his methods in short-scar breast reductions.

He is a proud member of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, further attesting to his commitment to excellence and ethical practice.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! What is your “backstory”? What led you to this very interesting career?

I have always wanted to be a plastic surgeon, even as a child. Somewhere in my parents’ home is a picture of me in 1st grade dressed as a doctor for career day. I have always been drawn to the thought-provoking and stimulating nature of medicine. In particular, I find that plastic surgery is a specialty that offers significant freedom in treating patients. There are no standard algorithms, but rather a substantial amount of personal artistic input.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

About 15 years ago, a 16-year-old girl visited my office wearing a heavy shirt in the sweltering heat of August. As it turned out, she wore that because of her discomfort with having large breasts, and was doing her best to conceal them. We worked together to align on the best procedure for what she wanted, which was a breast reduction and lift. I happened to see her about a year after the procedure at the beach and this time, she was wearing a tank top and was exuding confidence. Though we didn’t speak, she gave me the nicest smile imaginable, speaking volumes to her newfound confidence and making it one of my most rewarding moments.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Coming out of the NYU Plastic Surgery training program, arguably one of the top programs in the world, I felt I had seen and done everything. However, my first case after training was something I’d yet to encounter. I called one of my former professors for their advice, and in our conversation and through this experience, I learned that plastic surgery is a field where you are ALWAYS learning.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now?

I am working with a female patient who recently received a positive genetic test that indicates a high risk for breast cancer. We are working on a surgical approach on how to treat the breast tissue and potentially cancerous area before it actually occurs!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I am grateful to my wife, who has been an unimaginable supporter of mine and my rock, and to the surgeons who taught me how and when to operate.

Is there a particular book that made an impact on you? Can you share a story?

Dr. Suess’s, “Oh The Places You Will Go ‘’ holds a special place in my heart. One of my professors gifted me the book when I graduated and included one of the loveliest notes inside of the front cover: “Always look up, not down, the glass is half full, not half empty.”

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

A certain percentage of the patients I operate on are unable to afford the services, which is why I offer pro bono treatments and procedures. I believe that everyone, regardless of their profession, should give back to the community. Additionally, I donate to my hometown school district which serves underprivileged children and am involved in a program aimed at helping instill self-worth and civic pride within the community.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share a story about how that was relevant to you in your own life?

Never quit and never take no for an answer; a wall will not stop you — it is meant to be torn down. Everyone encounters crucial moments of truth and inflection points that determine the course of our lives, so I always believe to follow your heart regardless of how difficult it may seem.

What are your “5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career As A Plastic Surgeon’’ and why?

  1. Stamina — it’s a long haul to get there. Don’t look at it as 10 years after medical school, take it one day at a time.
  2. Find your niche — your passion often aligns with your path.
  3. Take care of yourself — if you’re sick, you won’t be of much help to others.
  4. Don’t be a lemming — plot your own course and think outside of the box.
  5. Listen to others — talk less and listen more; there is value in the opinions of others.

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being a plastic surgeon? Can you explain what you mean?

The myth that plastic surgeons are cold and distant. I am a very open, friendly person and I hope that warmth shines through to all.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

I believe that mental wellness is an overlooked problem. If I could be a part of any movement, I would want to be in support of mental wellness and encourage others to take a 15 minute break in their hectic day to close their eyes and reflect.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them :-)

I would love to have a cup of coffee with Elon Musk. I respect the hurdles he has overcome to bring his vision to reality. I see him as a visionary and the Thomas Edison of our time.

What is the best way our readers can follow you online?

Instagram, Tik Tok: @drnormanrowe and www.roweplasticsurgery.com

Thank you so much for these wonderful insights! We wish you continued success.

--

--