“Nothing Can Prepare You For This Business Until You’re In It” 5 Insider Tips with Actress Sierra Capri

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readMar 13, 2018

--

I had the pleasure to interview Sierra Capri. Sierra has quickly become known for her natural instinct in front of the camera, and ability to command attention from an audience through the characters she brings to life on television. She can soon be seen starring on Netflix’s highly anticipated, coming of age comedy “On My Block.” The series follows four bright and street-savvy teenagers navigating their way through the triumph, pain, and the newness of high school. Set in the rough inner city of South Central Los Angeles, Sierra stands out as ‘Monse Finnie,’ the beyond honest, devoted friend, and hothead of the group. The show is slated to premiere on March 16, 2018. Sierra’s big break came after being an extra in the Oscar-nominated film “Hidden Figures” (2016), where she met a woman who taught her how to self-tape and submit on auditions. In 2017 while attending college and studying Biology (with aspirations to go into Forensics) she put herself on tape for the role of ‘Monse’ in “On My Block.” She was instantly contacted by casting directors and landed the lead role.

What is your “backstory”?

I was born in Baltimore, Maryland and moved to Georgia when I was 12 years old. That’s where my mother and I resided until I went to college. I was…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator