Oscar, Emmy, and Golden Globe Winner Ernest Thompson: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Started

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
20 min readNov 2, 2022

--

Credit: Photography by 3Sixty | Bruce Luetters.

…I feel that if you can set an example and live your best life, then someone will notice that. It may be your kids or my kids! In my case, it may be students. It may be people on the set. I have this philosophy when I’m directing, whether in the theater or on a film set. Anybody who’s not putting positive energy into a project takes energy out of it. And I’m very conscious of that and can feel it. I can sense it. If you don’t love it, maybe this isn’t what you should be doing. And that’s cool. No hard feelings…

I had the distinct pleasure to talk to Ernest Thompson. Ernest, whose debut novel The Book of Maps is available now for sale, has won an Oscar, two Golden Globes, a Writers Guild Award and a Broadway Drama Guild Award for Best Play. His work has been nominated for a Tony, an Emmy and a British Academy Award. His more than 35 plays have been seen in theatres around the world. The most enduring, On Golden Pond, has

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator