Pets and Mental Wellness: Brandi Barker Of Bark Pouch On How to Maximize the Mental Health Benefits of Having a Pet

An Interview With Wanda Malhotra

Wanda Malhotra
Authority Magazine
11 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Know your limits — Bringing a pet into your home can alleviate stress for many people. But, the idea of caring for an animal and actually tending to their needs, even when it’s inconvenient, isn’t for everyone. It’s work. My dog needs a lot of exercise and mental stimulation, which I’m happy to do because I’m active and love training her.

Pets have always been more than just companions; they play a pivotal role in enhancing our mental well-being. From the unconditional love of a dog to the calming presence of a cat, pets have a unique way of alleviating stress, anxiety, and loneliness. But how do we genuinely harness the therapeutic potential of our furry, feathered, or scaled friends? How can they aid in promoting mindfulness, reducing depression, or even enhancing social interactions? In this interview series, we are talking to veterinarians, psychologists, therapists, pet trainers, and other experts who can shed light on maximizing the mental health benefits of having a pet. As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Brandi Barker .

Brandi Barker fell into dog training because two dogs attacked her beloved Finn, and he began barking and lunging at other dogs on leash. After learning from positive trainers how to better understand what Finn was communicating and rewarding him for the absence of unwanted behaviors, they could enjoy walks together again and travel all over the country, hiking and exploring.

Brandi wanted to share that gift with others, so she returned to school and received her master’s degree in Animal Behavior. After Finn peacefully passed, Brandi rescued a pitbull she called Gavin. Gavin didn’t love walks or treats, so training and giving him the exercise his young body needed was complex. Brandi also noticed her clients struggling while trying to leash train. They’d drop treats on the ground. Their dogs would bite their fingers or refuse treats when it mattered most. So, Brandi returned to school and learned about food safety to launch Bark Pouch, simple, irresistible, human-grade recipes in an easy-to-use pouch.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we start, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

I received an order from the magazine editor I’ve read and respected for years. Then, one of my customers emailed me that Whole Dog Journal listed my dog-treats-in-a-pouch as one of their top ten gear of the year. I was ecstatic.

Is there a particular book that made a significant impact on you? Can you share a story or explain why it resonated with you so much?

Signs by Laura Lynne Jackson. At the beginning of the year, I said goodbye to my perfect dog, Gavin. My sweet boy had cancer at least seven times and was on a lot of medications, supplements, and herbs, but he always got better, so when he told me he was in pain, I had to decide very quickly to give him the peaceful passing he deserved at home. I was so broken; my heart hurt so badly that I didn’t think I’d ever feel good or laugh again.

Laura Lynne Jackson’s book gave me a way to still communicate with Gavin. Her beautiful words about life beyond what we know helped me begin processing my overwhelming grief and helped me understand the guilt I was feeling was normal by communicating with Gavin (or at least believing I was). He helped me finally feel like I indeed did everything I could to keep him as happy and healthy as possible for as long as his body let him be by my side.

Ok, thank you for all that. Now let’s move to the main focus of our interview. Can you share a personal story about how a pet has helped you or someone you know to improve mental wellness?

My sweet Gavin loved people. I mean, he’d wiggle so emphatically that he’d hit himself with his tail, but he had a lot of anxiety and fear. Until Gavin came into my life, I lived by my to-do list. I thrived on getting stuff done and moving as fast as possible, which isn’t good for anyone.

But Gavin needed a softer, slower, more gentle daily approach to life. Giving Gavin the compassion he needed when a fire truck went by gave me more peace. Soothing him when thunderstorms arose, and his medications hadn’t kicked in yet helped me heal from past wounds and neglect. And nursing him through surgery after surgery taught me that love truly is all that matters at the end of the day. Gavin changed me and helped me see how much I needed a slower pace.

I listen to people with my heart now. “How can I help?” is a more frequent response than stress or feeling inconvenienced. And my big love boy taught me that when life is hard, or I’ve had a bad day, rest and nurturing are much better for me than worrying and staying up all night researching solutions to the problem.

While human interaction is essential for emotional well-being, in what ways do interactions with pets offer unique benefits that human relationships might not provide?

Pets offer quiet companionship. When I’ve had a long, tough day at work, sometimes I don’t walk to talk about it or think about it again. I don’t want advice. And, sometimes, when I’m empty, I don’t have the energy to listen to another person’s problems.

Playing with my new rescue dog makes me laugh. Even mundane things like making the bed feel more joyful when I toss a squeaky toy and chuckle at how clumsy Mabel is at catching it. I love long walks with my dog. We, joined together by a leash, explore, her sniffing, me breathing in fresh air, and letting go of thoughts or feelings that don’t serve me. I come home more clear-headed, more mindful, and more at peace.

Can you explain how this works? How do pets, particularly common ones like dogs and cats, biologically and psychologically help to alleviate human stress levels and anxieties?

For us caretakers, loving an animal who shares our homes fills our hearts with love and provides us with a purpose much more significant than ourselves. We feel good in our pets’ company because dogs and cats don’t judge us. They don’t tell us we’ve gained weight. They aren’t capable of cruelty or deception. Our pets don’t talk over us when we need someone to listen.

Even pets struggling with behavioral issues help us learn and grow. Anxious ones help us learn to listen and be more compassionate, thus more compassionate to ourselves when we’re anxious. Dogs who bark and lunge at others teach us to take smaller steps and celebrate successes in stressful situations.

In the backdrop of global events like pandemics or natural disasters, how have you seen pets playing a role in alleviating anxiety and providing comfort?

When faced with isolating experiences like pandemics, pets alleviate loneliness: one pur, one game of tug, one walk, one shared snack at a time. The loss and helplessness can feel devastating when dealing with a natural disaster. Having a beloved dog or cat by your side can help people struggling to survive by still having snippets of what everyone deserves: love, companionship, and a being we cherish.

Can you share some instances where pets have been integrated into therapeutic practices?

My dog Gavin and I used to volunteer with Safe Humane Chicago. He and I went to at-risk elementary schools where high school students from the same neighborhood gave presentations on what to do if they saw an off-leash dog, why it’s essential to be kind to animals, and how to respond if a family member or neighbor told them about an illegal dog fight.

At the end of each presentation, the children were taught how to greet an unknown stuffed animal dog appropriately and then allowed to greet Gavin if they wished. While not therapeutic, teaching children who may not have role models to be kind and compassionate is vital. Demonstrating to children, in neighborhoods where an off-leash dog could hurt them, how to keep themselves safe is life-giving. Showing children who may be afraid of dogs, based on past experiences, that they should honor their needs if they aren’t comfortable greeting a dog is crucial for lifelong development.

How do they complement traditional therapeutic techniques?

In the above example, we demonstrated safety and appropriateness with my dog that no one, even the best teachers, could ever explain, draw, or write for the children to understand.

Not all pets are dogs or cats. From birds to fish to reptiles, how can individuals choose the right pet that aligns with their mental health needs?

The first step would be to choose a pet that matches your lifestyle. An active young dog for a person who enjoys being sedentary and thrives in a calm environment would deter from their mental health. That person may better benefit from an older cat or dog.

A person whose mental health would improve by petting an animal must spend ample time finding the right cat or dog, as not all animals enjoy snuggling and physical touch. Some pets are even afraid of being petted, so fostering is a great way to determine if an animal and person are the right fit.

How does the act of taking care of a pet — feeding, grooming, exercising — contribute to an individual’s sense of purpose and mental well-being?

For worriers, caring for a being other than oneself takes our minds off our troubles. For anxious people, the movement of a walk with a dog can ease our minds. And, for any adult with any responsibilities, a play break with a pet, whether tug, fetch, chase or a game invented together, reminds us what’s important in life: joy and laughter.

The past 5 years have been filled with upheaval and political uncertainty. Many people have become anxious from the dramatic jolts of the news cycle. From your experience or research, what are your “Five Ways To Maximize the Mental Health Benefits of Having a Pet?” Can you please share a story or example for each?

1 . Companionship — COVID-19 has caused a lot of people to feel lonely and isolated. Sharing my home with my sweet boy Gavin, I didn’t feel disconnected. Walking him daily and seeing people, even from afar, and masked at times, I still felt like I had some human connection.

2 . Joy — The news is sad and overwhelming, and I often feel helpless and want to do more to improve the world. For those of us who do little things throughout the day, like giving money to an unhoused person or donating to a reputable non-profit, when we read the news the following day, it doesn’t feel like we’re making any difference. Then, our dog, my dog, picks up her squeaky toy and squawks it against the bed while I’m tidying up. I never refuse the invitation to play because I’m lighter after those few minutes of tossing the ball for her or tugging. I don’t feel the weight of the world on my shoulders.

3 . Love — There’s nothing better at the end of a day when I feel like I’ve been pulled and stretched, tested and frustrated and stressed than curling up under a blanket with my dog nestled against me, snore-humming. Her love, her need for nothing at that moment, but my company fills my heart with so much love.

4 . Anxiety-reduction — After my sweet Gavin passed, my heart hurt so badly, and I needed time to tend to it before I was capable of loving another dog, my Mabel. During those months, I was more anxious because I was more sedentary. I didn’t have the mirror of love from a dog, nor the fun of playing, training, walking, and enjoying quiet time together.

5 . Know your limits — Bringing a pet into your home can alleviate stress for many people. But, the idea of caring for an animal and actually tending to their needs, even when it’s inconvenient, isn’t for everyone. It’s work. My dog needs a lot of exercise and mental stimulation, which I’m happy to do because I’m active and love training her.

Before bringing home a pet, ask yourself: Am I willing to change my lifestyle to help the pet thrive? Am I ready to get up in the middle of the night if my pet’s sick or needs to go outside? Am I aware enough of others’ needs to take my pet to the veterinarian if it is not feeling well? Assessing these questions before bringing home an animal can help alleviate a life together that’s more difficult.

The loss of a pet can be deeply traumatic. How can individuals navigate this grief, and how does it compare to other forms of loss in terms of mental health impact?

Be gentle with yourself. I’ve seen too many people beat themselves up for being sad because time had passed, and they felt like they should feel better. Every person grieves differently, and every relationship is different. I still sometimes cry because I miss Gavin so much. It’s not debilitating anymore, almost a year later, and it doesn’t mean I don’t love my current dog.

Still, I’ll always love Gavin and give myself time to process my emotions when they arise, so what’s left is the beautiful memories we made and the joy and love I’ll always carry.

I think the difference between losing a pet and losing a human-loved one is we’re blessed and cursed to be able to give our pets a goodbye when we believe it’s time. That’s a huge responsibility and carries its aftermath of emotions. Did I say goodbye at the right time? Could I have done more?

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of peace to the greatest amount of people, what would that be?

I wish that no living creature suffered at the hands of another and that all sentient beings felt safe and had enough food to eat and shelter from the elements. I hope and pray that, even in unsavory circumstances, human beings will choose kindness, compassion, fairness, and love.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why?

Oprah Winfrey! She’s been through so much and triumphed.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

barkpouch.com

Thank you so much for sharing these important insights. We wish you continued success and good health!

About the Interviewer: Wanda Malhotra is a wellness entrepreneur, lifestyle journalist, and the CEO of Crunchy Mama Box, a mission-driven platform promoting conscious living. CMB empowers individuals with educational resources and vetted products to help them make informed choices. Passionate about social causes like environmental preservation and animal welfare, Wanda writes about clean beauty, wellness, nutrition, social impact and sustainability, simplifying wellness with curated resources. Join Wanda and the Crunchy Mama Box community in embracing a healthier, more sustainable lifestyle at CrunchyMamaBox.com .

--

--

Wanda Malhotra
Authority Magazine

Wellness Entrepreneur, Lifestyle Journalist, and CEO of Crunchy Mama Box, a mission-driven platform promoting conscious living.