Power Women: Candy McBride of #GYMKITTY On How To Successfully Navigate Work, Love and Life As A Powerful Woman

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMay 7, 2023

Emotional intelligence is the ability to recognize and manage your own emotions, as well as understand and empathize with the emotions of others. It’s an important skill for building strong relationships, navigating difficult situations, and achieving success as a powerful woman.

How does a successful, strong, and powerful woman navigate work, employee relationships, love, and life in a world that still feels uncomfortable with strong women? In this interview series, called “Power Women” we are talking to accomplished women leaders who share their stories and experiences navigating work, love and life as a powerful woman.

As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Candy McBride.

Candy McBride is an accomplished wellness influencer and founder of #GYMKITTY. With a passion for health and wellness, she has built a loyal community of followers who turn to her for inspiration, motivation, and advice. Candy is on a mission to empower women to live their best lives.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

Growing up in Miami’s Seminola area, I experienced the harsh realities of poverty and homelessness. My family struggled to make ends meet, and we often had to make difficult choices just to survive. Despite these challenges, I remained determined to create a better life for myself. After years of hard work and dedication, I was able to earn an MBA and secure a brighter future for myself and my family. My experiences have taught me the value of perseverance and the importance of never giving up on your dreams, no matter how difficult the road may be.

Can you tell us the story about what led you to this particular career path?

During my second pregnancy, I gained a considerable amount of weight, and I struggled to find a supplement brand that offered high-quality ingredients to help me get back in shape. I discovered that many supplement brands on the market were filled with synthetic ingredients and fillers that were ineffective and even harmful. As a result, I decided to take matters into my own hands and start my own supplement line. I wanted to create a brand that could help others achieve their wellness goals without compromising their health. I am proud to offer products that promote overall wellness and vitality.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

In March of this year, I was offered the opportunity to be featured on the cover story of Formidable Women, a well-known publication. Initially, I was hesitant to accept the offer, as I’m not one to seek out the spotlight. However, after giving it some thought, I realized that this could be a great opportunity to share my story and inspire others. Little did I know that this interview would lead to me being connected with the team at the BET Awards! It was a surreal experience, but I was thrilled to be able to share my message on such a large platform and connect with so many amazing people. Sometimes, taking a chance and stepping out of your comfort zone can lead to unexpected and incredible opportunities.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

I can say that three character traits that are instrumental to success are resilience, persistence, and adaptability.

Resilience is the ability to bounce back from setbacks and persevere through challenging situations. It involves being able to maintain a positive attitude and remain focused on your goals, even when things don’t go as planned.

Persistence is the unwavering commitment to achieving your goals, even when faced with obstacles or setbacks. It involves being willing to put in the time and effort required to succeed and persevering through difficulties.

Adaptability is the ability to be flexible and adjust to changing circumstances. It involves being open to new ideas, learning from feedback, and being willing to make changes as needed to achieve your goals.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. The premise of this series assumes that our society still feels uncomfortable with strong women. Why do you think this is so?

There have always been societal norms and expectations that limit the roles and behaviors of women, including discouraging them from being strong or assertive. One possible reason is traditional gender roles have historically positioned men as strong and assertive, while women are expected to be nurturing and submissive. Strong women who challenge the status quo and seek to effect change may be seen as a difficult to those who benefit from the existing power structures.

Without saying any names, can you share a story from your own experience that illustrates this idea?

When I first started my fitness journey, I was met with skepticism from those around me. I was a mom, working full-time, and starting a business. How could I possibly find the time and energy to prioritize my health and fitness?

But I refused to let anyone else’s doubts hold me back. I started small, carving out just a few minutes each day to move my body and make healthier choices. It wasn’t always easy — there were days when I felt like I was failing at everything. But I kept pushing forward, reminding myself that progress is rarely a straight line.

And little by little, I started to see changes. My energy levels increased, my clothes fit better, and I felt stronger and more capable than ever. There were still setbacks along the way, but I learned to approach them with grace and resilience.

Now, as I continue on my fitness journey, I know that it’s far from a straight line to success. But I’m proud of how far I’ve come, and I’m excited to see where this journey takes me next.

What do we need to do as a society to change the unease around powerful women?

Be authentic, don’t try to change who you are to fit in. Embrace your strengths and weaknesses, and be true to yourself. People will respect you more for being genuine. Be approachable. Smile, make eye contact, and engage in small talk. Show that you are interested in people beyond their professional capacity. Practice empathy, try to understand other people’s perspectives and emotions. Listen actively and show that you care about their concerns.

Society can challenge gender stereotypes that portray women as less capable or less qualified than men. This can be done through education, media representation, and workplace policies that promote gender equity.

In my own experience, I have observed that often women have to endure ridiculous or uncomfortable situations to achieve success that men don’t have to endure. Do you have a story like this from your own experience? Can you share it with us?

One time, a male colleague aggressively approached me about a minor misunderstanding at work. It was clear that he was looking for a confrontation, and I couldn’t help but feel that his behavior was fueled by the fact that I was a woman. I believe that had I been a man, his approach would have been different. It was an unfortunate reminder that gender bias and discrimination still exists in the workplace, and that women are often subjected to a different set of standards and expectations. The incident created a hostile environment for me, and it was a difficult experience to navigate.

In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges faced by women leaders that aren’t typically faced by their male counterparts?

Women leaders may be judged more harshly than male leaders for the same behaviors or decisions, and may be criticized for being too emotional. Women leaders may face additional pressure to balance work responsibilities, including caring for children and elderly relatives.

Let’s now shift our discussion to a slightly different direction. This is a question that nearly everyone with a job has to contend with. Was it difficult to fit your personal and family life into your business and career? For the benefit of our readers, can you articulate precisely what the struggle was?

Balancing a family and career can be incredibly challenging, with the constant demands and responsibilities of both competing for my time and attention. However, by cultivating a disciplined approach to managing priorities and setting `boundaries, I have successfully navigated this delicate balance. Whether it’s waking up early to exercise, scheduling work tasks around important family events, or making time for self-care, my discipline has helped me push through the toughest days and achieve both personal and professional success.

What was a tipping point that helped you achieve a greater balance or greater equilibrium between your work life and personal life? What did you do to reach this equilibrium?

Suffering from migraines can be debilitating and can make even the simplest tasks seem insurmountable. For me, it took years of medication and doctor’s visits to finally realize that my migraines were a result of living an unbalanced life. I was pushing myself too hard and neglecting my own needs, leading to stress and triggers for my migraines. It was only when I began to set boundaries and prioritize my health that I was able to achieve a more balanced lifestyle. By taking the time to rest, exercise, and practice mindfulness, I not only saw a reduction in my migraines but also felt more energized and fulfilled in all aspects of my life.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are the “Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Powerful Woman?” (Please share a story or example for each.)

1 . Confidence: Confidence is a key trait for success as a powerful woman. Confidence in oneself and one’s abilities can help overcome challenges and inspire others to follow.

2 . Leadership Skills: Strong leadership skills are critical for success as a powerful woman. The ability to inspire, motivate, and guide others can help drive change and achieve goals.

3 . Resilience: Resilience is the ability to bounce back from setbacks and failures. It’s important to have resilience to overcome obstacles and maintain focus on your goals.

4 . Networking: Networking is an important skill for success as a powerful woman. Building strong professional relationships and leveraging your network can open doors to opportunities and help you achieve your goals.

5 . Emotional Intelligence: Emotional intelligence is the ability to recognize and manage your own emotions, as well as understand and empathize with the emotions of others. It’s an important skill for building strong relationships, navigating difficult situations, and achieving success as a powerful woman.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

Dear Al Reynolds,

I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing to express my admiration for your work in the field of brand strategy and popular culture. Your noted history of helping brands achieve more success has inspired me to always consider a different perspective when it comes to marketing and branding.

As someone who is passionate about the world of business and wellness, I would love to have the opportunity to sit down with you for a private breakfast or lunch to discuss your insights and experiences. I believe that your expertise and knowledge would be invaluable to me as I navigate my own career path.

Your unique perspective on popular culture has also been a source of inspiration for me. I have always admired how you are able to stay ahead of the curve when it comes to trends and consumer behavior. I would be honored to have the chance to hear your thoughts on the current state of brand marketing and how it may impact the world of business in the future.

I understand that your time is valuable, but I would greatly appreciate any opportunity you may be able to spare to meet with me. I am confident that a conversation with you would be both insightful and inspiring, and I would be grateful for the chance to learn from your expertise.

Thank you for taking the time to read my letter. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Candy McBride

Owner & Executive Director of #GYMKITTY

--

--