Power Women: Darci Price of Foundation Media On How To Successfully Navigate Work, Love and Life As A Powerful Woman

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
21 min readSep 6, 2022

--

Boundaries: Know when to separate yourself from people or from the job. Boundaries keep us healthier and more productive, but they are also positive for other people in our lives. Do not let the pressure of work dominate your entire life; you must be able to take a break from it when you are feeling overwhelmed.

How does a successful, strong, and powerful woman navigate work, employee relationships, love, and life in a world that still feels uncomfortable with strong women? In this interview series, called “Power Women” we are talking to accomplished women leaders who share their stories and experiences navigating work, love and life as a powerful woman.

As a part of this series I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing (Darci Price of Foundation Media.

Darci Price is an Executive Talent Manager at Foundation Media who leverages experience and a determined attitude to ensure that everyone has their fair chance. Darci sees her role as one to serve as an example for all women who are trying to succeed in the industry and wants to help them advance their careers in a traditionally male-dominated industry.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

It’s my pleasure to chat. I appreciate you and this opportunity.

I grew up in Southern California with two parents who were teachers and my amazing sister, Marni, who was and is my best friend. We had many advantages, but life was not storybook perfect and came with a set of challenges that, although incredibly difficult, gave us wisdom, insight, and strength over time. Fortunately, our parents encouraged us to explore our passions and dream big. We were never told that an interest we had was silly or impractical. However, we were taught that commitment, practice, and work ethic were key components to any successful endeavor. Success didn’t necessarily mean receiving a blue ribbon or being the best in a particular field, but we were taught to identify the wins throughout our journeys and not just the end game grand prize. For instance, Maybe I wasn’t the best soccer player (I wasn’t), but I was never shamed for trying the best that I could on any given day. I always felt that my family was cheering me on in my endeavors (practical or not). I have brought that type of support and attitude into my career for my clients as well as myself.

Can you tell us the story about what led you to this particular career path?

I did not take the typical road to this career.

Growing up, theater was one of my safe places and where I felt most comfortable. I loved performing for and interacting with a live audience. Being part of a chosen family that worked together to bring a story to life fulfilled me and gave me purpose. In my heart I knew this was my life’s path, and I wouldn’t let anything stop me…. Until, spoiler alert, I made a new decision.

To reach my goal of “successful” actor, I studied theatre at the University of Southern California. After college, I made the cliché actor choice by taking a restaurant job in the evenings. This enabled time to audition with an income to pay for rent, acting classes, headshots, and… student loans. I was barely making ends meet, but that was ok, because I was happy pursing my big dream.

At some point, I realized that I was no longer enjoying the process. I was doing what I had spent my entire life dreaming of, but even when I booked an acting gig, the magic was gone. In those days, there were no inspirational Ted Talks or podcasts about pivoting or second chapters, so I sat in denial avoiding the feeling that I was a quitter. Eventually, I came to understand that life isn’t static, so I needed to listen to myself, because I wasn’t a failure nor was I bitter and burned out. I still loved actors, the process, and the entertainment industry. I just didn’t want to be in front of an audience- I didn’t need that to make me whole anymore.

This was a brutal time, because I was living life without a dream or a goal other than to find my passion, so I felt scared and lost. I decided to do a “year of yes” (even before Yes Man was a film). Any opportunity that came my way, I accepted it. This led me to intern in a management company based out of Madrid, Spain that was transitioning European film stars such as Penelope Cruz to the US. I worked there during the day, and I waited tables at night. This is where I fell in love with talent management. I understood actors because I had been in their place and had empathy for their challenges.

I don’t know why I thought I could do this (most likely fortunate naivete), but I went from there to open my own talent management company. I started by representing a few actor friends, and I learned the job by taking risks, working on instinct, and making mistakes. Sometimes, I succeeded because I was too green to know that I couldn’t or shouldn’t do something. I worked long hours 6 days a week at my management company while continuing to work nights at the restaurant. Surprisingly, my actors and I had relatively rapid success, so other performers reached out for representation. I became known as a manager with a sharp eye for talent who would invest in actor development and who would fight for her clients. Within 6 months, I had a full roster, and I was in the black (although I was only paying myself a couple hundred dollars a month).

Fast forward to my leap into the talent agency world. I knew there was more for me to learn than what I could figure out on my own, so when I was offered an agent position, I eagerly took the job without foreseeing the challenges ahead. I worked 12–14 hour days and on weekends. In about a year, I had increased the numbers exponentially and rebuilt a department filled with actors who had only needed love and attention to thrive. I was fortunate to have an entertainment attorney colleague named Chad Christopher who mentored me and taught me how to negotiate theatrical contracts. One of our agents, Mike O’Dell, taught me to negotiate commercial contracts. He was also the cheerleader who stopped me from giving it all up one critical morning.

During my time at the agency, I met the incredibly talented Bill Perlman who has now been my management partner for 14 years. We have a similar work ethic and moral scope particularly when it comes to protecting our actors’ well-being while helping them realized their dreams. I wasn’t looking to make a job shift back into management at the time, but when Bill invited me to join him, I eagerly accepted. Years later, we joined an accomplished group of talented representatives brought together through the beautifully unique inspiration of Patrick Hughes. His vision of a positive and synergistic culture of associates comprises our home at Foundation Media Partners.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

An agent friend of mine asked if I could do her a favor by meeting with her friend’s niece who was visiting Los Angeles. I approached the favor meeting expecting only to educate and encourage this child who thought she wanted to be a performer.

In our meeting, this tiny peanut of a girl told me that her goal was to be a Disney Channel star and to be a professional singer. I had her read a scene for me, and I was impressed by her natural talent. She then told me that she was a singer. I invited her to sing while bracing myself for better or worse. To my surprise, a lovely and soulful jazz voice came booming out of that little one.

I gave her mother my business card and let them know I would like to represent her when they were ready to pursue a professional career. Later, after I had partnered with Bill, I received a note on social media from the family asking if I remembered them and if I was still interested in working together. They let me know that they had received a sign, because my business card had fallen out of a book where they had stashed it years before. They had forgotten where it was placed for safe keeping until that day.

Together with Bill, we signed the girl, and her name is Sabrina Carpenter. With us, she has gone on to realize not only the dreams she had when I first met her by starring in a hit Disney series and becoming a successful solo artist, but she has added to the list of accomplishments. In addition to numerous lead roles and volumes of popular music, she is also now a producer and entrepreneur.

That favor for a friend I did so many years before turned out to be a favor for me as we continue our work and friendship with Sabrina.

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Authenticity:

At the top of my career, when I would negotiate deals, I had only heard tales about the cutthroat “swimming with sharks” agenting style from which Hollywood Lore is spun. I didn’t have a mentor at the time, so I believed I needed to approach it like the proverbial bulldog- cold and demanding with no room to bend (and unlikeable I’m quite sure). I wasn’t nervous to negotiate, because I knew my clients’ worth, but I was terrified that Business Affairs would see I wasn’t the tough chick I was trying to portray. I made great deals for my performers, but it was a struggle.

As I grew into my role as negotiator, I realized that I didn’t need to affect an inauthentic persona to effectively fight for my clients. I could be myself and come from a place of respect and kindness. I presented the needs of my client, clearly asked for what we wanted, and justified it. This took the other person out of defense mode and into a problem solver position. We are all humans living a human experience. Honest connection and communication are key elements to the success of my job. I still approach a negotiation with authenticity, and that has proved to be most effective.

Empathy (It leads to connection and trust):

I work with artists who are beautifully sensitive by nature which is part of what makes them remarkably skilled. On any day and at any time, they can be called to scale incredible heights and explore dark depths of the characters they embody, but at the same time they can be subjected to extremely personal criticism in the workplace and on social media. This is a savage business to pursue as a performer because there is no proven formula for success, no amount of education that guarantees a return, and the rejection is incredibly personal.

There are many times when these circumstances are crippling to a performer. As a manager, it is my job to understand this unique situation and let them know that I feel and understand their challenges, that I’m fighting for them, and that I believe in them… even when they don’t believe in themselves. Being heard and understood is something that we all need in life and work.

Work ethic:

Many people are looking for life hacks, but there is no hack for success that I have observed. Each step forward in my career was a result of passionately caring about the job and clients, showing up fully present each day, putting in the hours, and continuing to move one foot in front of the other even when fear and self-doubt showed up.

It wasn’t long after my transition from manager to junior agent that the senior agent departed the company. I found myself without a mentor, and 3 different departments were handed to me with no assistant. I quickly came to know that these 3 departments were failing which was troubling as I was compensated through a commission structure… Talk about fear and self-doubt. What if the success I had building my management company had been a fluke? What if I couldn’t do it again? This was sink or swim time.

I worked my tail off to create opportunity and success for my clients which in turn was a win for me. I was the first person in the office each day and the last one out; I worked weekends when the building was closed and the air-conditioner turned off. Months into this grind and as my numbers rose, I earned a shared assistant. Another agent was hired to take one of my newly functional departments which left me with 2 divisions to oversee. At the end of a year’s time, I had increased the monthly income exponentially and continued to grow it throughout my tenure. Although I gave up working most weekends once we were on track, it did still happen when needed, and I continued to be first in and last out of the office.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. The premise of this series assumes that our society still feels uncomfortable with strong women. Why do you think this is so?

I appreciate this conversation because I think we need to continue to amplify female voices and provide examples of success. I’m also grateful that you are speaking with women of different races and backgrounds. Many females must surmount additional cultural stereotypes and perceptions in addition to those that are baked in to being a woman in our society.

I’m fortunate to have worked for a female owned and run agency, to have found an incredibly evolved man with whom to partner in management, and to currently be a member of a company where the business environment is positive, supportive, and one of awareness. The tough issues are fairly addressed and corrected when they arise.

However, I have had plenty of experiences in business and life where I was shamed or denigrated for being a strong woman. These reactions have come from all genders. I think people can perceive strong women as unbending, tyrannical, unfeminine, and incapable of working in a team. It also triggers competitiveness that comes from a scarcity mindset or a person’s lack of self-worth. Many people still think that there can only be one strong person in the room, or that a strong woman somehow diminishes their value. This can trigger a win at all costs competition from the person who feels threatened. There can be more than one acknowledged strong person in the room at the same time, but we all need to embrace and demonstrate that.

True strength comes from respect, inclusion, collaboration, listening, support, and leading with compassion.

Without saying any names, can you share a story from your own experience that illustrates this idea?

I went into my first talent agency position as a Junior Agent. I had painted a grand story for myself about how I would join this agent, he would teach me everything I needed to know about that world, and that he would help me thrive while I supported him in his role. I was going to make us both successful, by proving my undying (and, by the way, unearned) loyalty to him. I gave him my sacrifice and dedication before I even started my first day.

This Senior Agent did not know the plan in my head, so he perceived me to be a threat. He believed I had been hired to either push him out or show him up. When I eventually shared my vision, nothing changed. In one instance, I was on the phone pitching to a casting director which in my estimation was proving my fearlessness, eagerness to elevate our clients, and self-motivation. Unfortunately, he did not receive it as intended. This was made clear when he threw an office tool past my head and loudly exclaimed “Fu*k that casting director” while I was on the phone with said casting person. This was the tip of the iceberg. I would have quit my job over this agent had I not had a mentor who gave me some perspective and encouragement to stick it out. I did remain, the senior agent left shortly thereafter, and I was promoted to head the department.

What should a powerful woman do in a context where she feels that people are uneasy around her?

It took me many years to understand this, but it’s not my job to regulate someone else’s feelings. Being a person with a history of attempting to control situations for safety, this was not an easy lesson for me to learn. Now, I try to move in a way that is genuine. I work to be at ease with myself and hope that others can find their own comfort. The only control we have is over ourselves- our reactions, actions, and presence. Hopefully how I act has a positive influence, but the outcome is not mine to construct.

What do we need to do as a society to change the unease around powerful women?

We need exactly what your series is doing which is to highlight more examples of what powerful women look like. They look like all of us. Humans can be scared by what we don’t understand, and assumptions based on incorrect or incomplete information are dangerous. By continuing to educate with our 3-dimensional stories, we help people see us in our relatable human form. These examples also help other women identify their own inherent strength. Powerful women are not influential in all the same ways or by all the same means. We present in many forms.

Representation is important in media for women of all races, backgrounds, and spiritual cultures, because the stereotypes are planted deeply in our psyche. In my industry, we are seeing an emergence of stories by and about women which I think is wonderful, but we need more to affect systemic change and to shift the zeitgeist by replacing the cliché misunderstandings with truth.

Men are incredibly powerful allies in shifting negative or incorrect perceptions of women and lifting them up. There are many brilliant, sensitive, and influential men who are speaking out in support. We could use more. Women cannot do it for themselves by themselves. It takes teamwork with advocates from all groups.

I also believe that powerful women need to mentor other women (and non-binary people) to bring them into the fold. Historically, this is how Hollywood and other male driven business has functioned for men. We don’t need to change that, but we do need to give equal care for and opportunity to women. When there is balance in a room, there is no odd person out, so conversations, productivity, and creativity are elevated by the diversity of perspectives.

In my own experience, I have observed that often women have to endure ridiculous or uncomfortable situations to achieve success that men don’t have to endure. Do you have a story like this from your own experience? Can you share it with us?

I have a few, but the most impactful example is one that I cannot fully share with you, because it was so egregious that I have an NDA attached to it. I worked for a company that enabled predatory men to repeat their behavior with no meaningful consequences. When I reported my situation, I was told that the company was very sorry for my experience. I was then informed that I would have to continue to work with this aggressor, but that he would be instructed to steer clear of me when possible. I could not safely work in this environment, so the best of my poor options was to find new employment. And…… he was subsequently promoted.

In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges faced by women leaders that aren’t typically faced by their male counterparts?

Thanks to the tenacious women before us, the situation is slowly evolving. Currently and historically, though, when a woman holds a leadership role as compared to a man, the expectations of her are greater than that of her male counterparts and are often insurmountably contradictory. She is not only expected to nail the work, but also to be likeable, attractive, and to behave in a “perfect” manner, whereas a man is often judged singularly by his success or the perception thereof. Failing upward is not and has not typically been a path afforded to female leaders.

In addition, because there are fewer female leaders, a woman is often subject to the pressure of representing all women and not just herself. There are many examples of prominent male founders who have led in harmful and unprofessional manners, but who continued to be revered and rewarded. They have not been the assumed avatar for all male professionals in the same way that women are held up.

Let’s now shift our discussion to a slightly different direction. This is a question that nearly everyone with a job has to contend with. Was it difficult to fit your personal and family life into your business and career? For the benefit of our readers, can you articulate precisely what the struggle was?

Yes! To this day, balance is something I practice, but have not perfected. I’m continually recalibrating. When I was building my businesses with and without a partner, extra hours were required to meet the growth and brand establishment demands. I took on the burden of success in my mind as if I was alone even when I wasn’t, because I wasn’t good at asking for help. I’ve been lucky to have mostly supportive family members and partners, but I have had relationships that were strained. I learned that the extra time I spent at work made other people feel devalued. My absence made them feel like I was choosing work over them when, in fact, I much preferred to spend time with those loved ones. I have true passion for my role as a talent manager, but I have learned that it can never be and isn’t more important than family and friends. I need to demonstrate that to them with presence and quality engagement.

What was a tipping point that helped you achieve a greater balance or greater equilibrium between your work life and personal life? What did you do to reach this equilibrium?

My epiphany came from total depletion. We had an incredibly talented client with high expectations who was driven by his own internal feelings of lack which is an insatiable situation when addressed externally. We helped him achieve almost every goal he set for himself, but it was never enough. He devalued his wins, had a difficult time showing gratitude, and despite the heights we achieved, he felt like we as a team were falling short. The more we provided, the more he needed.

I was terrible at boundaries, so this was the perfect kindling for burnout. I sacrificed time with my family and friends for him. I rarely had space to recharge, because I was running around for him instead of standing in my own power.

After several years of this pattern, we parted ways. This had been an important client to us, so I was anxious about the fallout.

After 2 weeks without this client on our list, I realized how happy and light I was feeling. I felt rested, playful, and joyful looking forward to spending time with my boyfriend and sister, but I hadn’t put the pieces together. Suddenly, it hit me like the proverbial ton of bricks. Nothing in my life had changed other than the absence of this client. Not only had my work life been affected by him, but so had my personal life. I had essentially been in a dysfunctional relationship without recognizing the role I played in enabling it. Do you know what? We never felt the loss of that client financially or otherwise. By releasing that person, we made space in the form of time, energy, and spirit to expand into other more fulfilling and lucrative relationships.

From that moment on, I have set boundaries, and prioritized my personal life. I still work at full capacity and fight for clients, but in retrospect, I realize that I am a more effective manager when I am at my best which means private as well as professional health and fulfillment. I still feel my boundaries slipping occasionally, and I do let myself get sucked into working too many hours, but I am now able to identify it more quickly and correct the course. Again… practice, not perfection.

I work in the beauty tech industry, so I am very interested to hear your philosophy or perspective about beauty. In your role as a powerful woman and leader, how much of an emphasis do you place on your appearance? Do you see beauty as something that is superficial, or is it something that has inherent value for a leader in a public context? Can you explain what you mean?

There is incredible pressure on prominent women (and all females) to look attractive. Every day in social media and the press we see commentary on female actors, politicians, newscasters, and others for what they wear, their features, or their age. Superficial beauty is weaponized to belittle and control when focus should be on actions and performance. Even when the discussion is seemingly complimentary, there is still a value being assigned to a woman (and one that can be diminished arbitrarily). I find it lazy, bullying, and unintelligent for an attacker to assault someone based on their physical appearance. It does happen to them, but men are much less often belittled in this public way.

That being said, I do not think superficial beauty is negative when it originates from within. What I mean is that, aside from the qualities of inner beauty, women can and should enjoy feeling lovely. For me, I appreciate skincare, fashion, and makeup which are elements of my personal self-care, because I enjoy the process, ritual, and art of the activity. The true value isn’t in how good I look on a societal scale. When I feel attractive, I feel confident, and I do believe that people respond to my energy in a positive and engaging manner. Additionally, I have indeed witnessed people treating me differently when I am “all dressed up.” I believe it has helped me in certain instances which is a double-edged sword, because those are the times that also reinforce the extrinsic beauty standards in my mind. When I find myself reaching for the cosmetic or fashion tools because of external pressure, fear, or lack, I know it’s time to step back and do some inner work.

Feeling and expressing beauty for ourselves is different than being judged and appraised by another based on physicality.

How is this similar or different for men?

Men face these challenges, but in different ways that aren’t as often amplified in public forums.

From talking to male friends, they do feel held to difficult beauty standards whether it is height, physical strength, or a full head of hair. Some researchers say that men are generally more satisfied with their appearance than women are with theirs, so this may not be directly comparable. However, from studies, we do know that more attractive people tend to be promoted more often and have more success. A challenging difference for men is that society makes it less acceptable for them to be open about the pressures they feel.

All people deserve to feel beautiful, and it shouldn’t be a condition to determine worth.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are the “Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Powerful Woman?” (Please share a story or example for each.)

There are more than 5 components, but here are the ones that first come to mind.

Boundaries:

Know when to separate yourself from people or from the job. Boundaries keep us healthier and more productive, but they are also positive for other people in our lives. Do not let the pressure of work dominate your entire life; you must be able to take a break from it when you are feeling overwhelmed.

Integrity:

Never compromise your core ideals and beliefs. Stay true to what inspired you to enter your industry, but don’t be afraid to grow beyond that (even if that means growing out of it). If you hold yourself accountable to your own standards, you will live a more fulfilled life with less regret.

Vulnerability:

Embrace it in yourself and recognize it in others. It’s not something to deny or feel shame about, because it is one of our greatest messengers. It’s a sign to stop and observe yourself or the person in front of you and then determine what needs to be addressed. It can also be a point of connection. Show empathy for people by letting them feel supported in their ability to be vulnerable.

Support:

We are a tribal species that requires groups to thrive. We all need support, but it’s also important for us to be mentors to enable the synergy. Regardless of background or career, eventually everyone needs an ally, educator, therapist, or friend to help reach their success and to overcome difficult times. I value the friends and coworkers who have supported me, and likewise I strive to elevate others.

Passion:

I don’t think we can fully succeed without passion. It propels us forward, heightens the excitement from our achievements, and pulls us off the edge when we feel failure. If we live in our passion and let it fill us, it inspires and encourages not only ourselves, but others around us.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I’m going to get very greedy and give a double answer. At different stages of life, both Don Miguel Ruiz and Brené Brown have profoundly impacted me. These were times I didn’t realize I needed them, but my world changed when I found their insight. Don Miguel’s Four Agreements shifted my paradigm entirely. One of the most notable ways was in releasing my need to be a fairytale version of perfection. Brené validated my vulnerability by teaching me that it is a superpower that doesn’t need to be buried.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.