Power Women: Rori Sassoon of Platinum Poire On How To Successfully Navigate Work, Love and Life As A Powerful Woman

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
10 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Always be on time: The world does not revolve around you. Employ power in every step you take. From a meeting with a potential client to a brand partnership, I am at least five minutes early. Be respectful to others, and they’ll return the favor.

How does a successful, strong, and powerful woman navigate work, employee relationships, love, and life in a world that still feels uncomfortable with strong women? In this interview series, called “Power Women” we are talking to accomplished women leaders who share their stories and experiences navigating work, love and life as a powerful woman.

As a part of this series I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Rori Sassoon.

Rori Sassoon is a Relationship Expert and Power Player Matchmaker. Rori partnered with life coach, Dr. Gluck, to institute the nation’s first invitation-only Power Matching company; Platinum Poire. As Rori herself was matched by a third party, she is passionate about giving others the same opportunity for a lasting and successful relationship. As co-owner, Rori helps individuals gain the self-confidence necessary to build the perfect relationship through coaching and consulting and then sets them up with match opportunities. Beyond this, Rori is a frequent, as a dating expert/matchmaker on Real Housewives of New York (Season 10–12), and author of The Art of the Date that explores the secrets to a healthy relationship and how to navigate the dating scene. Rori was recently honored as a “Power Women of Manhattan”. Rori’s advice can be found across major publications like Cosmopolitan and US Weekly as well as live, like on the Today Show.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood “backstory”?

My childhood was anything but cookie cutter. I grew up in a high-profile business family, with my uncle being Crazy Eddie himself. Needless to say, I was no stranger to the media. Although I came from a tight knit family, I learned what to gravitate toward and steer clear of in a healthy, sustainable relationship. After all, my parents married and divorced twice! I admired a childhood friend’s parents and relationship, hoping one day I could have a similar type of marriage. As time would tell, it took two marriages to get to that point. I married my high school sweetheart in my early 20s, which did not last very long. I am a big advocate in everything happening for a reason — out of that first marriage came my first son. Ironically enough, I was introduced to my current husband by my gynecologist no less! We were quite the blended family: my son, my husband’s three children, and we had another son and daughter together. I desired to recreate the happiness I had from my second marriage in a business. I thought to myself, how can I inspire others to live life with happiness and love? Through a series of unexpected events, Platinum Poire was born. We match power couples and create dynasties.

Can you tell us the story about what led you to this particular career path?

I have always been a connector and human Yelp — whether that be in real estate, jobs, fashion, love, friendships, and the likes. My passions have involved the fashion space, though human dynamics and interpersonal relationships became a larger component of what fulfilled me. After being married for 12 years, I was ready to get back into the working world. My children were older, and we held a tight ship at home. I fondly recall my husband telling me I was too dynamic to keep my personality at home! Adhering to my “everything happens for a reason” tune, I sought an Executive Life Coach named Dr. Errol Gluck, but I was unaware that this person would become my business and co-author of my debut novel, The Art of the Date. Platinum Poire was born out of a blessing in disguise, as seeking personal growth led to my career! Dr. Gluck helped me identify my skill set, which connected my interests in human connection, love, and relationships. We felt that there was a gap in the dating market, particularly in New York City. Our elite matchmaking service, Platinum Poire, is best suited for single, successful men and women looking for the real relationship deal, creating long-standing, healthy, successful relationships. As the cliché says, wherein passion lies success. We are going on ten years in business. I credit our success to selectivity, the male x female dynamic of our business, alongside matching people on the inside before we focus on the outside.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I have been given the opportunity to appear on a variety of television segments throughout my career. One of my most shining moments was commenting on the Jeff Bezos divorce on Good Day New York. I was featured as a relationship expert, alongside the well-known lawyer Marilyn Chinitz. It was doubly a “pinch me” moment, from the female panel to being requested to offer my own advice on the marital matter. I definitely felt like I had made it in my industry!

You are a successful business leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Relatability: When people feel like they can comfortably tell me anything, then I have bridged the gap between uncertainty and trust. Whether I am working with a successful businessperson or high-profile individual, being relatable works wonders in a relationship-focused business like Platinum Poire.
  2. Direct: I tell it like it is! Even if a heart may be broken in the process, I will rip the bandaid off the client — sooner rather than later. Sometimes, the not-so-glowing truth is part of the job.
  3. Consistency: I never take no for an answer. From a long-term career goal or media opportunity, I have never closed myself off to something that could potentially open up so many other doors. I spent three seasons on the Real Housewives of New York, as a relationship expert and matchmaker. Long story short: no should not be in a successful person’s vocabulary — unless of course it goes against their ethics and morals.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. The premise of this series assumes that our society still feels uncomfortable with strong women. Why do you think this is so?

Most women are not hiding anything, whereas men have skeletons in their closets — especially within the office. Generally women are not looking over their shoulders, afraid that the past will catch up with them. Excuse my crassness, but women know how to keep their pants on!

Without saying any names, can you share a story from your own experience that illustrates this idea?

Some things are left best unsaid. But it’s New York — you do the math!

What should a powerful woman do in a context where she feels that people are uneasy around her?

If a powerful woman feels that people are uneasy around her, she should exude relatability, comfortability, and charm. Power stems from being able to talk to anyone. Instead of being intimidating, strive toward being respectable and know the difference. How much more powerful and admirable is it to be relatable and kind than antagonistic?

What do we need to do as a society to change the unease around powerful women?

There is true power within a woman’s relatability, approachability, and kindness. When powerful women embody these characteristics, the stigma around these figures ceases to exist. Once we rewrite the narrative, we start to change the association between women and success.

In my own experience, I have observed that often women have to endure ridiculous or uncomfortable situations to achieve success that men don’t have to endure. Do you have a story like this from your own experience? Can you share it with us?

No, I like men! I can’t say that I have endured any type of situation like this.

In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges faced by women leaders that aren’t typically faced by their male counterparts?

Women have to climb, jump, and sometimes struggle through many hoops to get an interview, let alone the job. Because women generally hold a stronger presence in the home, they have to combat their careers amongst their families and any other commitments. Men have been characterized as the breadwinner for years upon years. Women have taken on that caretaker role within their maternal responsibilities and expectations. On or off the clock, women never leave any pots unwatched — whether that be a kid’s lunch or a boardroom presentation.

Let’s now shift our discussion to a slightly different direction. This is a question that nearly everyone with a job has to contend with. Was it difficult to fit your personal and family life into your business and career? For the benefit of our readers, can you articulate precisely what the struggle was?

It was not difficult fitting my personal and family lives into my business and career because my children were a bit older when I re-entered the workforce. By co-owning Platinum Poire, I was able to work around my children’s schedules, offering ample flexibility. Matchmaking is less of a 9–5 scenario, which was beneficial for scheduling clients and the likes. With that being said, I struggled on an emotional basis, trying to balance my family and work time. I was so excited about this new venture, and I was eating, breathing, and sleeping Platinum Poire. I had to consciously keep myself in check, to ensure I was present as a wife, mother, and businesswoman.

What was a tipping point that helped you achieve a greater balance or greater equilibrium between your work life and personal life? What did you do to reach this equilibrium?

When I was nearing my more career-defining moments, I was able to greatly and appreciably rely on my husband to carry some of the weight. He stepped up to the plate, and took on that role as a true partner. As I established myself as a businesswoman, it brought us closer together with him being in business for over 50 years. Our dynamic and connection intensified, being that we had that much more in common.

I work in the beauty tech industry, so I am very interested to hear your philosophy or perspective about beauty. In your role as a powerful woman and leader, how much of an emphasis do you place on your appearance? Do you see beauty as something that is superficial, or is it something that has inherent value for a leader in a public context? Can you explain what you mean?

I live by the phrase: look good, feel better. It’s important to take care of yourself, from the mind, body, and soul. Whether it’s going on a 30-minute walk, taking a trip to the spa, praying, or meditating, you have to invest in loving yourself. I am an ardent supporter of beauty, health, and wellness. When you are put together from the inside out, you demand that much more of a presence — while remaining that powerful woman. As I like to say, if you’re not camera ready, you’re not really ready. You never know who you are going to meet, from the airport to the supermarket. I take pride in my appearance, and it’s always been a component of who I am. Play the part of the person you want to be. Would my clients trust me if I came into the office as a disheveled hot mess? I don’t think so.

How is this similar or different for men?

Whether in business or the likes, you should be your own walking business card. How much more seriously do you take a well-groomed, well-dressed, put together man? When you are confident and secure in who you are as a person, you are that much more dynamic, engaging, and respectable to those around you. Long story short: groom yourself with confidence!

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are the “Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Powerful Woman?” (Please share a story or example for each.)

  1. Always be on time: The world does not revolve around you. Employ power in every step you take. From a meeting with a potential client to a brand partnership, I am at least five minutes early. Be respectful to others, and they’ll return the favor.
  2. Be a yes person: I cannot stress this enough. If I passed on even the most minuscule of opportunities, I would not be where I am today. From my expert opinion for a smaller digital outlet to an Insider exclusive, I am honored for my name to be considered and subsequently mentioned.
  3. Establish boundaries: From my personal to professional lives, I have made a clear distinction as to what will or won’t be acceptable. You want to call me morning, noon, and night to discuss your love life? Email my assistant, and let’s set up a time to chat (I just started doing relationship coaching within my business offerings!). You want to walk all over me? Let’s discuss why this is disrespectful. If you don’t establish boundaries in your career early on, then you have a recipe for doormat-dom.
  4. If you don’t know something, don’t be afraid to ask questions: If I’m reading a book and don’t know what the author is talking about, I google it. You’re never too old to be in school! Knowledge is power, and I prefer the student approach to life. Power lies within knowing the time and place to either teach or grow.
  5. Read everything you can get your hands on: I cannot stress this one enough! Ever the emphatic reader I am, I gravitate toward the biographical genre scope. I recently finished The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki, inspiring me to continually evolve as a powerful woman.

Who is the person with whom you hope to have a private breakfast or lunch with some day, and why?

If I could have lunch with anyone, I would invite the late and great Jackie Kennedy to my table. A class act in and of herself, Jackie had the most electric energy about her, while being a powerful force to be reckoned with. She was brilliant, beautiful, charismatic, and ever so stylist — truly the whole package. She left her mark on this world with grace and the utmost elegance. Jackie Kennedy is the true definition of a powerful woman.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.