PR Pros: Jared Meade Of Rayne Strategy Group On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro

An Interview With Kristen Shea

--

… Vulnerability: Being vulnerable makes you more relatable, fosters trust and builds stronger professional relationships. Relatability, trust and strong relationships are crucial to being a successful public relations professional.

Have you seen the show Flack? Ever think of pursuing a real-life career in PR? What does it take to succeed in PR? What are the different forms of Public Relations? Do you have to have a college degree in PR? How can you create a highly lucrative career in PR? In this interview series, called “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” we are talking to successful publicists and Public Relations pros, who can share stories and insights from their experiences.

As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Jared Meade, MPS, APR, CMPRCA.

Jared Meade, MPS, APR, CMPRCA, brings more than 18 years of public relations experience to his current roles as founder and principal of Rayne Strategy Group (RSG), senior advisor for Meehan Business Advisers and senior public relations strategist for Holdsworth Communications. In addition to his role as co-chair of the Public Relations and Communications Association (PRCA) International University Advisory Group, he is chair of the East Central District of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), past president of the Northwest Ohio PRSA chapter, the founding member and former president of the public relations alumni chapter at Eastern Michigan University, where he was named the chapter’s Alumnus of the Year in 2009, a member of the Board of Advisors for the Museum of Public Relations and a member of the PRCA PR and Communication Council and the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR). Meade earned a Bachelor of Science in Public Relations from Eastern Michigan University and a Master’s in Strategic Public Relations from George Washington University’s Graduate School of Political Management. He earned his Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) in 2018.

Thank you so much for your time! I know that you are a very busy person. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

During my senior year of high school, my goal was to attend university and earn a degree in sports medicine. However, one day I was in the school’s Career Center looking through a book on potential professions and came across a description of public relations. As I read what a job in public relations entailed, something clicked and I knew public relations was where my future was. I immediately decided to change my course of study the following year at university and I have never looked back. It was one of the best decisions I made. I love what I do!

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began at your company?

I’m not sure it is the most interesting story, but one that proves how important relationship building is to the public relations profession. I began my company in 2017; however, I was still working a full-time job and working with clients during the evenings and weekends. A year after the pandemic hit, I made the leap and decided to devote my time exclusively to Rayne Strategy Group. I needed to sign additional clients to make my consultancy a success but was anxious about the prospect. The pandemic was in full swing and in-person meetings were out of the question. I decided to send a tweet mentioning that I was no longer with my previous employer and was looking for additional clients. I didn’t think much would come of it but decided it couldn’t hurt. To my astonishment, the response was overwhelming. I began receiving calls from Michigan and North Carolina to Southern California. Every new client I have signed in the past year has come from the relationships I built through the last 13 years on Twitter and that one random tweet.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

When you are first starting, there are no funny mistakes. Every mistake feels like the end of the world. But I think it is essential for those joining the profession to understand that everyone makes mistakes; just learn from them. One mistake that I still remember happened to me early in my career when working for a large health system. I had just started the position and was trying to complete a press release and wanted to make sure I had the correct spelling for the executive’s name that I was quoting. I decided to save time and copy and paste it from an old press release along with his title. My mistake was not looking at the title listed in the old press release; it was a position the executive held before his current position as CEO! Thankfully, my supervisor caught the mistake before sending the press release. However, it didn’t save me from being mortified. In the end, it taught me the importance of slowing down, even when you have a deadline, and double-checking everything.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I can’t share too much information because most of my clients require me to sign nondisclosure agreements. Still, I can share that the projects I am working on range from brand building for a k12 hybrid and virtual school with students around the world, including a few elite athletes, to an international biotech company working on fascinating drug trials, including one for COVID antivirals to an advertising agency working on a social justice program to highlight the voices of the Asian American and Pacific Islander community.

You are a successful leader. Which three-character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

The three-character traits that I believe were most instrumental in my success were self-motivation, confidence and vulnerability. Self-motivation because I moved out of my parents’ home when I was 16 years old, finished high school, and worked through undergrad and graduate school. I was the first one in my family to earn a degree and build a professional career. I had no one to walk me through what steps I needed to take or show me where the pitfalls lay. Without being self-motivated, I never would have made it as far as I have. When it comes to confidence, I don’t mean that I always felt confident in each decision or my abilities, but I did try my best to always project confidence even if I didn’t feel it. When you project confidence, it shows others that you believe in yourself and causes others to believe in you. Last and certainly not least, vulnerability makes you more relatable to those you work for and who work for you. It also fosters trust and demonstrates strength of character because it allows you to admit when you are wrong and face criticism.

Ok super. Thank you for all that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. For the benefit of our readers, can you help articulate what the different forms of PR are?

Public relations is the strategic process of building mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics. That means any effort by an organization that affects or could affect its relationship with its publics falls underneath the umbrella of public relations. This includes media relations, community relations, internal communications, crisis communications, public affairs, social media, corporate and social responsibility, employee relations, etc.

Where should a young person considering a career in PR start their education? Should they get a degree in communications? A degree in journalism? Can you explain what you mean?

I would suggest any young person considering a career in PR look for a university that offers a degree specifically in public relations. There are several throughout the U.S. If a student’s chosen university doesn’t offer a PR degree, then a degree in communications or journalism would also be a good choice. I would also advise that students consider what type of PR they would like to pursue, whether political, corporate, etc., and choose a minor that would complement that path. For instance, if you have an interest in politics and believe this is a path you may want to pursue, choose a minor in political science.

You are known as a master networker. Can you share some tips on great networking?

Networking is at the core of everything we do as public relations professionals. The effects of the pandemic (e.g., fewer in-person events, working from home) have created new challenges and new opportunities. In the past, we relied heavily on networking in person at various events throughout the year. However, since many of those events are now hosted virtually, we must find new ways to meet and connect with others. One of the best ways to network virtually is through social media and in my opinion, the best platform to use is Twitter. When I started Rayne Strategy Group, all my clients were either people I built relationships with on Twitter or who had been introduced to me by those I met on Twitter. While I prefer Twitter, LinkedIn is another good platform to build your professional network. It’s also important to begin building your network within your workplace and social circle. Once you start to feel more comfortable with the process, you can expand outside of those you already know. My last piece of advice would be to remember that networking isn’t just about what someone can do for you. Any connection that you make should provide value to both parties. Always look for ways you can help your network first and when someone helps you in some way, pay it back and pay it forward.

Lead generation is one of the most important aspects of any business. Can you share some of the strategies you use to generate good, qualified leads?

Lead generation can seem daunting, but you’ll reap the benefits quicker than you think if you set aside a few hours a week to focus on it. One of the most important things you can do to generate leads is to constantly build your network. You never know who may need your services in the future or who may know someone else who does. You should continually engage with people in your network and add new people as you meet them. Once you start receiving leads, it is important to nurture those relationships even if they decide not to become clients right away. When and if those leads become clients, you should conduct regular calls to ensure that expectations are met. This will build a good rapport and is essential when asking for future referrals. It is also crucial to highlight your expertise through case studies, social media, speaking engagements, etc.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are your “5 Things You Need to Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” and why.

1. A passion for storytelling: Every person and organization has a unique story to be told. Sometimes that story is obvious and sometimes, to find it you must do a bit of digging. Either way, it’s the job of a public relations professional to find that story and share it in the most compelling way possible. There is no greater feeling than when you find the story at the heart of an organization that conveys its authentic culture honestly and transparently and it truly connects with their publics.

2. A thick skin: Public relations isn’t for the faint of heart. There are still many people in the business world who do not understand what we do. They can see us as little more than the person that answers the phone when a reporter calls because they don’t understand the complexities of the profession. There are also times when your counsel won’t be listened to, or you’ll be on the receiving end of a phone call from an angry customer. Whatever the situation, you can’t take it personally. You must learn to roll with the punches.

3. An understanding that relationships are personal: Public relations is about building relationships. While there is a lot of new technology that helps us be more efficient, we need to learn to set that aside as much as possible and connect with clients, reporters and colleagues. Remember to pick up the phone, set up a meeting over coffee and learn about the personal lives of those in your network — are they married? Do they have kids? What are their hobbies? — this information helps to build trust and create relationships that last.

4. Vulnerability: As I stated before, being vulnerable makes you more relatable, fosters trust and builds stronger professional relationships. Relatability, trust and strong relationships are crucial to being a successful public relations professional.

5. The ability to push past obstacles: Everyday public relations professionals hit obstacles and you can’t back down and let them keep you from reaching your goal. Don’t let someone’s limited knowledge of what you do, the constant rejection or lack of acknowledgment of pitches from the media, or anything else stand between you and whatever professional or campaign goal you have set. Your attitude during these situations will make a world of difference on your mental health and your relationships with colleagues and clients.

Because of the role you play, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could inspire a movement, it would be to bring attention to the more than 150 million children worldwide who do not have homes or families to call their own. Doing something that would help them grow up in loving families who can give them the environment and tools they need to succeed could change the world in ways I can’t even imagine. Who knows how each one of those children will impact the future? I can’t think of a movement that would have more of an impact or touch the lives of more people.

This was really meaningful! Thank you so much for your time.

--

--

Kristen Shea, President of Tribe Builder Media
Authority Magazine

Kristen Shea is a publicist and the President of Tribe Builder Media, an award-winning boutique PR firm.