PR Pros: Nicole Atkinson Of Push to Start On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro

--

You need to be detail oriented. A successful PR person is someone who sweats the small stuff. If you tend to overlook details like including the time on an invitation, or you forget the names of people easily or don’t double check things before it is seen by others, you will learn either learn fast or learn this isn’t the job for you.

Have you seen the show Flack? Ever think of pursuing a real-life career in PR? What does it take to succeed in PR? What are the different forms of Public Relations? Do you have to have a college degree in PR? How can you create a highly lucrative career in PR? In this interview series, called “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” we are talking to successful publicists and Public Relations pros, who can share stories and insights from their experiences.

As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Nicole Atkinson.

For twenty years, Nicole Atkinson has worked with clients spanning industries as diverse as home furnishings, commercial real estate, healthcare, gaming, and food and beverage. An adept and results-driven PR professional, she has played an integral role in building brands, launching new products and promoting public health initiatives. Mixing traditional tactics and cutting-edge tools and ideas, Nicole takes a multi-faceted approach in evaluating each new communications project, which has earned her a well-established record of success.

Thank you so much for your time! I know that you are a very busy person. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

In high school, the only thing I truly excelled in was creative writing and socializing with my friends. In fact, I was an award-winning poet, so naturally I majored in English in college. I earned a master’s degree in Professional Writing at age 23, and when I graduated, our country was in a recession (2003). During my studies, I decided I wanted to be an advertising copywriter. I had been working part-time for a surgeon during graduate school, and a nurse I knew had a connection to a local ad agency and was able to get me an interview. When I went for my interview, the woman started asking me questions about things I had no idea about. Embarrassed, I asked her, “Where am I?” and she replied, “The Public Relations department.” I looked at her confused and disappointed. “Oh. Um, I am looking for a job in advertising.” She said: “Well, we’re interviewing for a junior PR account executive.” Because I was desperate for employment, I continued the interview. Truth be told: I had NEVER taken a marketing class or journalism class (besides one semester in high school). She sent me on my way with a writing test to take home — draft a press release using the inverted pyramid. What was that?? I went home and got to work. After two more rounds of interviews, I was offered the job…making less money than I did as a medical secretary. But I went for it.

It turns out I was perfect for this line of work. I’m a natural people pleaser. I’m a non-stop, multi-tasking, switching-gears kind of crazy person. I love networking. I love connecting people. I love reading something and then thinking of new ideas outside the set of traditional media relations to reach audiences and relay messages. I literally catch myself smiling when I talk to people on the phone and when emailing. The job totally suited me.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began at your company?

I think what people find the most interesting about me running my own company is the fact that I am a mother first, and how I manage to take care of my three children (and two dogs) simultaneously. When I had my third baby, I literally took off ONE week from work. I had a part-time nanny come to the house starting his second week, and I would nurse him, and then she would take care of him, and then bring him back to me to nurse throughout the day. I am really good at juggling and multitasking. Because he couldn’t take a bottle until he was 9 months, I remember having to travel to New York City to meet with national home décor magazine editors, and my three-month old baby and my mom had to come with me. I was nursing him in taxis, changing diapers on the train, running into offices trying to look polished while having these meetings on behalf of my home furnishings client.

When COVID hit, I had THREE kids at home with me, all on virtual school. My youngest was in kindergarten at the time and could barely read. It was incredibly stressful trying to manage my clients’ own Covid crises, the technology learning-curve for the kids and myself, and emotionally keep it together. There were many days I turned off my camera and muted myself to weep in between talking to my clients. Somehow, we managed. I lowered the bar for what I realized my kids could manage on their own and slowed down my work in order to find some balance in our world. I became homeschooling mother first, and PR business owner second. I was transparent to my clients, and given the state of the world and everyone’s own unique situations, we all gave each other grace.

The phrase I hear most often from people is, I don’t know how you do it all.

I guess I don’t know how I do it all either, I just do it.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Funny and embarrassing! When I was just starting out (age 23) I was on a team of three managing the PR for the World Series of Poker, which was in its heyday at the time. We were organizing a celebrity poker tournament in NYC and I was tasked with reaching out to celebrities/publicists and top media to invite them to participate.

My phone rang and on the other end was Fred Savage, a guy I grew up watching on tv. I said excitedly: “Oh my gosh, Fred Savage!? Why are you calling me back and not your publicist?” and he replied, “Well, Nicole, things at Camp Savage are a little slim these days.” I was so embarrassed.

In that same round of invitations, another guy called me and said in a fast and muffled voice, “Hey Nicole, this is Chris Meloni. I want to play in the poker tournament.” to which I replied, “Great, who are you with?” (meaning what media outlet are you with.) He replied sheepishly, “Oh, uh, I’m an actor. I star on Law & Order, SVU.” — I WAS MORTIFIED!

What I learned: Think before you speak! Give yourself a second. I tend to talk fast, walk fast, type fast, and work fast. I am learning to slow down, pause, and be more deliberate and thoughtful. It has only taken 20 years ☺

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am so fortunate to work on incredibly transformative multi-million commercial projects and initiatives in the City of Baltimore. For the next several months I’ll be working on the massive $45 Million reimagining of Baltimore’s historic Lexington Market, which remains on track for completion in September 2022, with developers pushing their vision of boosting small business ownership for communities of color.

In line with Baltimore City’s Mayor’s priority pillar for Equitable Neighborhood Development, the new merchant mix increases Black ownership from the current 5% to nearly 50% in the new Market and increases female ownership to 50%, and along with new vendors, it includes long standing business that are a staple in Baltimorean and Chesapeake food culture.

Few places in America are as steeped in history as Lexington Market. In fact, it is the longest continually operating market in the United States. For 240 years, Lexington Market has survived fires, raids, and the ups and downs of Baltimore itself. From a sprawling mostly outdoor marketplace that grew to more than 1,000 vendors, it got its start when our nation was new. With more than two centuries of history, Lexington Market is evolving yet again into a new gathering place and food hub with a mission of equity and empowerment, all while hoping to keep that old Baltimore charm.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Being relatable, friendly and upbeat.
  2. Being able to work efficiently and quickly.
  3. Being a thoughtful connector.

People like me because I genuinely like people. If people like you, they’ll not only want to work with you, they’ll want people they know and like to want to work with you too. Your network will grow. Business will grow. I’m a people-pleaser, so I make anyone I come in contact feel special and seen. That goes for everyone, including the clerk at the grocery store, the UPS driver dropping off a box, a stranger I pass on the street, a client who I text, a journalist I email, and of course, my friends and family.

Besides being able to multi-task, I am able to multi-think. I love connecting dots and putting things/ideas/people together. For example: A former client must suspend operations in her restaurant. She came to me to ask if I would help her get some press about Congress refunding the Restaurant Relief Fund, because thousands of independent operators are on the brink of bankruptcy or closure without help. Hours later, I met with my Lexington Market client, and saw there was an absence of the type of food this woman serves. I made the connection to see if that restaurant owner would consider opening a stall inside the new market so her dream/concept doesn’t have to end just because her restaurant is closing. Everyone is excited about this idea, prospect and introduction. This shows that I don’t just think about myself or my immediate work at hand (I’m not in charge of leasing!).

Earlier this year, I had a meeting with another local PR agency owner. It was just a quick Zoom connection to get to know each other’s skill sets, what we look for in clients, and possible client referral opportunities. In passing, he mentioned that he was looking for graphic design help. I had run into my high school friend several weeks earlier and she told me she was finishing her master’s degree in branding/design and would be looking for a job. I thought of her and made the connection. Six weeks later, I received a flower arrangement from my friend. She thanked me as a new employee on her first day at that agency.

Ok super. Thank you for all that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. For the benefit of our readers, can you help articulate what the different forms of PR are?

As I see it, PR can fall under three different types:

There is the political/government relations type of work.

There is crisis control/reputation management type of work.

There is general practice/publicity/brand awareness type of work.

Within these can also fall the strategies of marketing/outreach using Business to Business (B2B), Business to Consumer (B2C), or Direct to Consumer (D2C).

Where should a young person considering a career in PR start their education? Should they get a degree in communications? A degree in journalism? Can you explain what you mean?

I think before even considering the education part of it (which doesn’t always mean everything), the person needs to truly understand the work that is done and figure out if their personality and work ethic is best suited. Public relations can be very fast moving, a lot of switching gears, thinking outside the box, being polished, being pleasant, and often working or keeping tabs on work all the time (because the news never stops). It is one of the top 5 most stressful jobs, and here’s why: You can’t guarantee results. It’s not like advertising where you design an ad and it runs. There are hits and there are misses. The hits feel invigorating, and the misses are depleting. You can work to the very best of your ability and still not produce coverage or get people to attend an event (if that was the goal).

Most great PR people are great writers AND great relationship builders. If you hate writing, you’ll hate PR. So, yes, math majors who decide they want to do PR may not be great at it if they can’t write well.

Like I said, I didn’t take communications or journalism in my higher ed career. My focus was English and writing, and it has served me very well. I have learned other skills along the way — like basic design, spreadsheets, video editing, and research. You can learn those things, as in my case, by mentors, clients, and just work experience.

You are known as a master networker. Can you share some tips on great networking?

My father is the exact same way. He connects people ALL OVER THE WORLD and has his whole life. People call me, write me, text me, DM me for connections, ideas, and advice constantly. They do so because I’ve proven my ability to answer and give them what they need. Often they begin with, “You know everyone…” and then ask their favor. Part of it just comes from 20 years of experience, part of it comes with being in my 40s, and part of it comes because I’m a social creature. I know people because I like to know people. I remember what people do, what they’re working on, and can often connect dots and put them in contact.

I have been successful as an independent PR business for the past decade because I know how to network. I have never used traditional marketing to attract clients. I know how to toot my own horn, post on social media about what I’m working on, and obviously do a good job so that people both hire/rehire/refer me.

My advice is always to SHARE! Unless you have a publicist, no one else is going to hype you so you have to do it for yourself. Social media has made this SO easy. Just post. What are you working on? Who are you working with? What needs to you have for your strategy that puts a call out to others? Use photos, tags, hashtags, etc.

I recently retained a lucrative client because she found my hashtag on Instagram, which I had only just started using a couple months prior to our engagement: #baltimorepublicist

Lead generation is one of the most important aspects of any business. Can you share some of the strategies you use to generate good, qualified leads?

My clients have always come to me. I have never sought them out in the traditional form of lead generation. Word of mouth (my own, and from others) has been my only form of lead gen — that goes back to the other question about networking. If you are tapping your network, and growing a solid network, you should generally get qualified leads. I would say 8/10 times I get good, qualified leads thanks to this.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are your “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” and why.

1 — You need to really know the type of person you are to have a highly successful career as a PR pro. Some people have a hard time with rejection, tough bosses or getting little to no results for their hard work.

PR can be highly rewarding but working hard and not seeing the fruits of your labor can be stressful and demoralizing. In fact, some PR agencies terminate employees on a weekly basis if they don’t produce coverage for accounts. If that sounds like something you can handle without losing your mind and falling into a depression, PR may be the right fit!

2- You need to like people. It’s that simple. If you are on the shy side or don’t like people and relationship building, you won’t like PR and you won’t have a successful career. You’ll encounter all types of people in this field. From curmudgeon-y reporters to tough clients to no-nonsense bosses to egocentric celebrities and influencers…if you don’t actually like people, you won’t want to or won’t be able to relate to them and have a relationship. If you don’t have relationships, you don’t have a PR career. This goes far beyond dealing with coworkers. On any given day, I will interact with dozens of people — from colleagues in the industry, reporters, clients, partners on projects and even friends. I enjoy it. I get energy from it. For the most part, it feeds my soul. Someone who is drained from this much interpersonal interaction will not enjoy this type of work.

3 — You need strong communications skills, both writing and speaking. If you can’t write compelling and persuasive and professional emails, copy, messaging, etc. you will not succeed. If you can’t eloquently articulate your thoughts, client advice, pitches, message points, etc. your work will go unnoticed, untrusted, and unusable.

Reporters have been known to delete an email before they finish reading it if there is even a minor typo. They can get hundreds of emails a day, so if there is a mistake, they’ve already lost trust in the person sending it.

As a young 25-year-old who had only been in the business for two years, I remember having to write the remarks for a Chicago-based iconic news anchor who was emceeing a gala for one of my foundation clients. I had to include warmth, humor, serious facts…all for a woman who was 30 years my senior and a professional reporter. It was incredibly intimidating. She saw the script just minutes before stepping on the stage. I watched her read it with a red pen in hand. She was crossing things out, making new notes, and personalizing it. When she made it to the stage, I was so proud to see that she used a majority of what I had written. What that told her, and also my client and my boss, was that I was dependable, eloquent, and trustworthy.

4 — You need to be detail oriented. A successful PR person is someone who sweats the small stuff. If you tend to overlook details like including the time on an invitation, or you forget the names of people easily or don’t double check things before it is seen by others, you will learn either learn fast or learn this isn’t the job for you.

I remember my first year as a junior account executive I had to create some kind of spreadsheet for a client — I had never done one before (remember, I was a writer not a marketer or mathematician) and I had to put so much data in it, with actual monetary figures. I had one wrong sum. Something so wrong. I sent it to my client before I had my boss check it, and my boss caught the error only afterwards. I wanted to crawl into a hole and die. It was then that I experienced my first anxiety attack. Another more senior colleague said to me kindly, “Nicole, this is PR not the ER. People will not live or die by these numbers, but you do need to double check your work. Sometimes mistakes can have financial repercussions. Always get approval before submitting or sending something out…either by a boss or the client.” I never forgot that.

5 — READ THE NEWS! I can’t stress this enough. If you don’t care about what’s going on in the news, you will not care about this line of work. If you are working in a specific industry, read up on that news every day, all day, get breaking news alerts, follow social media accounts that are relevant, and stay on top of your game. Always stay informed and ahead of the curve if possible. It will serve you.

I remember a VERY senior member of the PR agency I first worked for spent the first two hours of her day reading the news. Some younger, more inexperienced staff would get upset, like she wasn’t carrying her weight or doing the work she was tasked with doing, but in fact, this was a very critical and relevant part of the job. It set the tone for the rest of her day.

There have been many times that I had to have a proactive response after reading/seeing breaking news unfold and in moments, I was on the phone calling either local or national news outlets with a pitch, an expert resource, etc.

There have been times when I had to have a reactive response, for example:

I recall waking up early on a Sunday morning (my youngest son was one at the time) and the day before had been the grand opening of a $15 million commercial project I was the publicist for. I had set up Google Alerts to be emailed at the time of news. A few blocks up the street, there had been a drive by shooting and a 3-year-old was shot, just hours after the grand opening festivities ended. It was making national news and the stories were mentioning the opening of this project, for added context about location and timing. I had to contact the Associated Press, the Wall Street Journal and CNN and demand they remove the mention because the new building’s opening had no connection to the shooting, which the police reports quoted even said, and it could tarnish the impactful mission and opening of the community space. The media did what I asked. Had I not been reading the news as soon as I woke up, I would not have had the chance to nip it in the bud and change the stories.

Because of the role you play, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would want to inspire a movement of more connection among people. Often people are too consumed about themselves or immediate circle. Sometimes they think about someone but don’t act on it. If you think of someone randomly, or if a song reminds you of someone, or you remember something about someone, ACT on it! It doesn’t take much effort to make a quick connection, but it can have a huge impact. Pay a compliment to someone out loud instead of thinking it. Text your high school friend when a song comes on the radio and reminds you of that road trip from 1997. Recommend someone you know for a job. Offer to help others in need through a drive or just donating time or items. Send a thank you note in the mail. Leave a voicemail to just say hi. Check on someone if they just had surgery or had a baby or are grieving to let them know you’re thinking of them. These things can take such little effort but mean so much. Be the reason someone smiles today. It’s contagious.

This was really meaningful! Thank you so much for your time.

--

--

Kristen Shea, President of Tribe Builder Media
Authority Magazine

Kristen Shea is a publicist and the President of Tribe Builder Media, an award-winning boutique PR firm.