PR Pros: Steve Honig Of The Honig Company On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro

An Interview With Kristen Shea

--

Exceptional writing and communication skills.

A genuine curiosity about whatever it is you are working on.

An intimate understanding of the media landscape.

An ability to see the big picture.

Balls.

Have you seen the show Flack? Ever think of pursuing a real-life career in PR? What does it take to succeed in PR? What are the different forms of Public Relations? Do you have to have a college degree in PR? How can you create a highly lucrative career in PR? In this interview series, called “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” we are talking to successful publicists and Public Relations pros, who can share stories and insights from their experiences.

As a part of this series, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Steve Honig.

Steve Honig has been at the forefront of the public relations business for more than 30 years, having navigated worlds as diverse as Hollywood, Wall Street, Silicon Valley, the Olympics, New York’s fashion industry, the Las Vegas Strip and Washington, D.C. He has represented some of the world’s most recognizable companies, personalities and brands in a variety of businesses and industries.

Thank you so much for your time! I know that you are a very busy person. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I had worked in the mailroom of talent agency ICM during my breaks from college and became an assistant agent after I graduated. I was on track to become an agent and for some reason that still escapes me I quit my job and went to the Bahamas for two weeks. When I came back, I started looking for a new job and came across an ad in The New York Times placed by an executive recruiter. I set up a meeting and she asked me what I liked to do. I jokingly told her I like to talk, and she snapped her fingers and said, ‘I have the perfect job for you.” She set me up on an interview with Jody Donohue, at the time a legend in fashion publicity. I met with Jody, got on the train back to Long Island and by the time I got home there was a message from Jody that she wanted to hire me for an entry level position. I took the job and thus began my career in public relations.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began at your company?

I have a lot of interesting stories; unfortunately, most involve clients and cannot be told. One story that stands out for some reason is several years ago when I was handling press for a particular celebrity who had gotten in a bit of trouble. My name was all over the press that day. I went out to eat that evening and when I went to pay the bill, the server saw my name on the credit card, recognized it and said to me “boy, you had a rough day today, huh?”.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I was handling press for a very upscale fashion brand. I got a phone call from someone claiming to be with a production company currently shooting a big film in New York. They wanted to borrow some product from my client and, in my eagerness to get my client’s fashions in the movie I gave them several thousands of dollars’ worth of product. Turns out it was a scam and I had to explain to the client what happened. It wasn’t very funny at the time but I laugh about it now. What I learned was if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

We are working with clients in a lot of different industries right now, from crypto and the metaverse to health and wellness

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

I think curiosity is one of the most important character traits if you want to be successful in public relations. Particularly when you are working with clients in different industries. You need to really spend the time to understand the nuances of different industries and if you are not a genuinely curious person that is going to be a long road for you. Understanding the big picture is also very important. All too often people can’t see the forest for the trees, and they lose perspective on why you are doing whatever it is you are doing. Finally, I think honesty and integrity is an absolute must for whatever it is you do.

Ok super. Thank you for all that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. For the benefit of our readers, can you help articulate what the different forms of PR are?

Public relations is an umbrella that pretty much includes anything involving communication. Most people associate public relations with publicity, meaning earned media coverage. The truth is writing a letter to a disgruntled customer, speaking at an industry conference and shaking hands with voters are all forms of public relations as well. Public relations is not a tactic or even a strategy; it is a philosophy.

Where should a young person considering a career in PR start their education? Should they get a degree in communications? A degree in journalism? Can you explain what you mean?

Studying communication and journalism are certainly beneficial. Even more so, become a good communicator and writer. It is shocking to me how many people practicing public relations cannot write to save their lives. Writing is critical. Also, understand how the media work. Read newspapers. Watch the news. Listen to the radio and podcasts. If you are going to “sell” something to reporters or producers you need to understand how they work . Unfortunately, public relations is an industry filled with mediocrity. Learn the core skills then get practical experience. I would also advise finding a mentor who knows what they are doing and is a seasoned professional.

You are known as a master networker. Can you share some tips on great networking?

The best way to be a great networker is to not look like you are trying to network. Have meaningful conversations with people and offer up perspective that is insightful and valuable. Be memorable in either what you say, how you say it or both. Nobody likes a salesperson so don’t sell. SHOW your value instead of talking about it.

Lead generation is one of the most important aspects of any business. Can you share some of the strategies you use to generate good, qualified leads?

My business is based exclusively on referrals. And the best way to get a continuous stream of referrals is to do good work. It is as simple as that.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your opinion and experience, what are your “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” and why.

  1. Exceptional writing and communication skills.
  2. A genuine curiosity about whatever it is you are working on.
  3. An intimate understanding of the media landscape.
  4. An ability to see the big picture.
  5. Balls.

Because of the role you play, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would inspire a movement of kindness and respect for others. I think the world we live in today is sorely lacking this and I hope future generations can get us back on track. The Golden Rule has been obscured to the point that I bet most people don’t even know what it is anymore. The good news is being kind and respectful toward others is pretty easy, so why not start today?

This was really meaningful! Thank you so much for your time.

--

--

Kristen Shea, President of Tribe Builder Media
Authority Magazine

Kristen Shea is a publicist and the President of Tribe Builder Media, an award-winning boutique PR firm.