Producer Fred Mollin of Melody Place: From Avocation To Vocation; How I Turned My Hobby Into A Career

An Interview With Penny Bauder

Penny Bauder
Authority Magazine
4 min readOct 29, 2021

--

I think originally, I thought I was going to be a singer, songwriter, and a performer, but very early on I became an arranger and producer of other artists, and I realized that that was really what I was meant to do.

As a part of our series about entrepreneurs who transformed something they did for fun into a full-time career, I had the pleasure of interviewing Fred Mollin.

Renowned record producer Fred Mollin has spent decades working in film/TV, music, and production. Mollin has an extensive background from producing for artists such as Jimmy Webb, Kris Kristofferson, and Johnny Mathis to playing a significant role in the production of classics in TV entertainment. Once serving as Vice President for A&R at Walt Disney Records in California, Mollin currently serves as President/Co-founder of the record company Melody Place LLC.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us a bit about your “childhood backstory”?

I grew up in Merrick Long Island, on the south shore. Once I heard the Beatles at age 11, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I’ve been making music ever since.

What was the catalyst from transforming your hobby or something you love into a business? Can you share the story of your “ah ha” moment with us?

I wrote a song with my brother when I was 15 years old, in 1968, and I pitched it to a major publishing company in New York City and they published the song, and that’s when I knew I might be able to have a career in music.

There are no shortage of good ideas out there, but people seem to struggle in taking a good idea and translating it into an actual business. How did you overcome this challenge?

I learned very early that it’s one thing to have good ideas and another thing to take the ideas and follow through. It is truly a matter of talent, and effort.

What advice would you give someone who has a hobby or pastime that they absolutely love but is reluctant to do it for a living?

I do this a lot in my different seminars. If you have any second thoughts about making a life creatively, you need to stop. If you have no second thoughts and you believe in yourself 100%, you need to drop everything and pursue this goal.

It’s said that the quickest way to take the fun out of doing something is to do it for a living. How do you keep from changing something you love into something you dread? How do you keep it fresh and enjoyable?

I have never heard of this, so I don’t agree with it. If you have a life in music, it is the most beautiful and most rewarding life. For me, I’m still as excited starting a new project in the studio as I was when I was 17.

What is it that you enjoy most about running your own business? What are the downsides of running your own business? Can you share what you did to overcome these drawbacks?

When you are self-employed, as a freelancer, you have to understand there are peaks and valleys, and you’ll have to except them. The most important part is that you don’t lose sight of your goals and your life as a creative entity.

Can you share what was the most striking difference between your actual job and how you thought the job would be?

I think originally, I thought I was going to be a singer, songwriter, and a performer, but very early on I became an arranger and producer of other artists, and I realized that that was really what I was meant to do.

Has there ever been a moment when you thought to yourself “I can’t take it anymore, I’m going to get a “real” job? If so, how did you overcome it?

I never had that moment. There was nothing else I believed in except making music.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

There are so many, I can’t think of one only.

Who has inspired or continues to inspire you to be a great leader? Why?

As a record producer I look upon the great record producers before me, people like Arif Marvin, George Martin and Thom Bell.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

That’s a terribly tough question. I just hope that the music I made over all these years, has given pleasure and comfort to many people.

What person wouldn’t want to work doing something they absolutely love. You are an incredible inspiration to a great many people. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I believe that Music is deeply important to our humanity. I only hope the people who are musical, deeply creative and passionate can continue to help life be better.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

--

--

Penny Bauder
Authority Magazine

Environmental scientist-turned-entrepreneur, Founder of Green Kid Crafts