Publicist Rockstars: Emily Reynolds Bergh of R Public Relations On The Five Things You Need To Have A Highly Successful Career in The PR Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

When you meet someone and immediately think “ oh you should meet my friend” introduce them asap and just let one thing lead to another, that truly is the essence of good networking. Connect, offer some backstory that relates to both parties and see what happens ( that’s the magic).

Have you seen the show Flack? Ever think of pursuing a real-life career in PR? What does it take to succeed in PR? What are the different forms of Public Relations? Do you have to have a college degree in PR? How can you create a highly lucrative career in PR? In this interview series, called “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A Public Relations Pro” we are talking to successful publicists and Public Relations pros, who can share stories and insights from their experiences.

As a part of this series I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Emily Reynolds Bergh .

Emily has garnered more than fourteen years of marketing and public relations experience through owning her own business, R Public Relations Firm and through her previous experiences of running her award-winning website Defining Delicious and working for the Jason Dady Restaurant Group in San Antonio, Bread & Butter Public Relations in Austin, and Bay Bird Inc in San Diego.

While helping businesses and brands flourish is Emily’s passion — with degrees in Psychology and Philosophy and a Master’s in Social Work — empowering her clients and her employees is what drives her. Emily can proudly say that each client she signs is one she admires and knows is helping the world become a better place.

Emily’s priority in life is enjoying time with her husband Colter and their five children (no, that was not a typo) whom she calls “her peaches,” while simultaneously exploring the country seeking the next client for R Public Relations. At the helm of R PR, Emily’s philosophy on life and lifestyle are one and the same: words have power, make them move mountains!

Thank you so much for your time! I know that you are a very busy person. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I am what is called an accidental entrepreneur. I love people and writing so PR is a natural fit. My biggest trade secret is that you have to be a great writer to be a Rockstar PR pro!

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your company?

For me, I think my most interesting story would have to be one of the most challenging seasons of my business. During RPR’s greatest season of growth — the company expanded from Texas to Nashville and the West Coast — I was a single mom of two kids. Looking back — now I have an incredible husband and support system — I seriously do not know how I handled everything during that season of life. While I wouldn’t go back to that challenging season of life, I am really proud of it and more confident in myself knowing if I was able to handle everything then while also succeeding, I can do anything.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Yes, a cringy mistake I made was misspelling Restruantuer on a pitch and on web copy. I was scolded by an editor and was so embarrassed. I have never been a great speller or grammar gal, but I am a great writer. Something people don’t always know is you don’t have to be both! Most great writers are often heavily edited, myself included. In my company, we now have two full-time editors to check all of our work but back then i was writing without an editor ( big mistake).

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

We have a new tech start-up revitalizing the way people experience menus at restaurants, we have a chef turned empowerment author who just published a book, “self help for dummies” we have a client in Nashville who opened 2 new restaurants in 2 months! We have helped the Animal Defense League launch public awareness around a circus animal bill, and are sending out a cow hug therapy pitch for The Gentle Barn. Never a dull moment around here!

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why. (Please share a story or example for each.)

  1. Know who you like to work with and don’t try to please everyone.
  2. Know your lane, just do what you do best and do it best
  3. Invest in all the tools that make you successful.
  4. Invest in a team that supports areas you are not versed in
  5. Make up your own path, its ok to try and try again.

You are known as a master networker. Can you share some tips on great networking?

When you meet someone and immediately think “ oh you should meet my friend” introduce them asap and just let one thing lead to another, that truly is the essence of good networking. Connect, offer some backstory that relates to both parties and see what happens ( that's the magic).

Lead generation is one of the most important aspects of any business. Can you share some of the strategies you use to generate good, qualified leads?

We have invested in quality SEO and partner with online referral sources, but the best lead gen comes from our clients.

Is there a particular book that you read, or podcast you listened to that really helped you in your career? Can you explain?

The answer is and will always be Oprah, I was raised on Oprah, I love her and she is the inspiration for me and my career, from ah ha moments, to turning pain into power a lot of her affirmations have been what has inspired me.

Because of the role you play, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would love to end all family violence, our home and our family is the one place that should be safe for all. I have worked in Foster Care and seen first hand the impact of family violence, it will always be a movement and cause, I will support. We attract a lot of parenting coaches and people who work to improve mental health, i believe that our work has a ripple effect to help end suffering and violence and abuse.

This was really meaningful! Thank you so much for your time.

--

--