Publicist Rockstars: “Keep a sense of humor; Not everything is a crisis” with Cherie Kerr of KerrPR

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readOct 9, 2020

--

Keep a sense of humor. Not everything is a crisis. Before I scaled down the size of my firm I had at least a crisis a day when my PR agency was at its peak in terms of the number of staff. Like one day, a client services rep couldn’t make the super important “big client” meeting because she was too busy bailing her boyfriend out of jail. On another day, it was the ongoing drug dealing enterprise in the copy room. An unforgettable crisis was the disastrous holiday party: the caterer didn’t show and we wound up eating trail mix and drinking bottled water. Some were smoking joints. When they got to the munchie stage, people began dealing candy bars and chewing gum. “Laugh it off,” my mentors often told me. That was hard to do, especially the day one of my top account executives returned late…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.