Publicist Rockstars: “Make Sure To Be Transparent” with Kristi Piehl

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readMar 18, 2019

--

Be Transparent. Acting out of fear, I kept a lot details from my team. In the early years, I quit taking a salary and put everything I could back into the business. I think I was afraid the team would think I’d failed with the finances so I didn’t share this information. Our COO convinced me that it was important to be transparent. When the team found out I wasn’t taking a paycheck, they rallied behind me and the company. A year later, they cheered when they found out I was back on payroll. It’s been a slow process, but our numbers are now shared quarterly with the entire team. It doesn’t even freak me out anymore!

I had the pleasure of interviewing Kristi Piehl, Founder and CEO of Media Minefield. Kristi is a member of the Women Presidents’ Organization and C200 Protégé Class 2017. She is a graduate of Bethel University, and in 2015, Bethel named Kristi Alumna of the Year. Media Minefield has won numerous awards

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.