Purpose Before Profit: Jme Thomas Of Motley Zoo Animal Rescue On The Benefits Of Running A Purpose-Driven Business

An Interview With Chad Silverstein

Chad Silverstein
Authority Magazine
30 min readFeb 26, 2024

--

Humility. Be confident in your skills, capacity, and potential, but remember that’s not the only reason your business will succeed. You need to find others who are better than you at many things- and be glad for it. Purpose-driven businesses need good people with great skills- not just one multi-talented know-it-all.

In today’s competitive business landscape, the race for profits often takes center stage. However, there are some leaders who also prioritize a mission-driven purpose. They use their business to make a positive social impact and recognize that success isn’t only about making money. In this interview series, we are talking with some of these distinct leaders and I had the pleasure of interviewing jme Thomas.

Jme has been involved in animal welfare for more than 17 years, both as a foster and volunteer as well as founding and acting as Executive Director of Motley Zoo Animal Rescue. She has experience with foster-based rescue, sheltering, animal behavior, nutrition, dog training, volunteer management, marketing, fundraising, and nonprofit management and has been featured as an expert in these areas both online and in print. Jme has fostered more than 1,500 animals in that time. She enjoys guiding others to pursue their passions and spending time with her husband, Bryan, and companion animals Satori (dog), Cash (dog), Tut (cat), and Refugee (cat).

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us your “Origin Story”? Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up loving animals, but my dad actually pretended he was allergic to them, so I only had fish, lizards, and small furry pets most of my life. When I was seventeen, my friend’s cat had babies and I begged my mom to let me bring one home. She agreed, but noted that if my dad was allergic I’d have to bring him back. My kitten was very loud and whiny and my dad discovered him and asked why he wasn’t consulted about the decision. “Well, what would you have said?” I asked. He said, “No”. I asked, “Why” and he responded, “Because”. I smiled and said, “Well that’s not a very good reason…”. He couldn’t argue with that! Perhaps not surprisingly, my dad was not allergic- and he fell quite in love with the cat too (though would never admit it). My love for animals drove me to consider becoming a veterinarian “when I grew up”, but when I was about seven, my mom reminded me “You’d have to put animals to sleep” and I reconsidered, pursuing fashion design instead.

My mom was a seamstress and taught me to sew, take orders, and keep the books so I ran a small enterprise selling bracelets in middle school. From there I desired to have a store where I could sell the crafts I made while other people could market theirs- a desire which stayed with me into adulthood. At twenty, I had the opportunity to open a boutique of my own, which I pursued for a few years, however, I was so busy buying and selling merchandise, that I never had time to make designs of my own. I felt like I got the cart before the horse and instead decided to move to Seattle (to snowboard, but it also had a sizable fashion industry.

I went to school, designed and showed my line of clothes in both Seattle and Portland Fashion Weeks. I was also nearly cast for Project Runway three times. However, during this time I’d gotten married, adopted my first dog (who was fostered), and discovered rescue. Fostering created room in our overcrowded shelter so it was less likely other animals would be euthanized and I took this very seriously quite quickly. I had always thought “someday” I would have the time and money to devote to animals- which was my initial intent in pursuing clothing design. I wanted to use the profits of my success to support my philanthropic efforts.

One day while struggling with my expensive and ever-elusive fashion design dream, I looked down to pet my foster dog on the head. It suddenly hit me that rather than chasing a dream, I was fulfilling one every day I had that dog in my home: the “someday” I thought I’d be able to help animals was TODAY. Rather than spending money and time to create a line of clothes and sell them, I could just save animals directly!

I vowed that if I didn’t make Project Runway that last time, I would start Motley Zoo (which was loosely in the works). After the casting deadline passed, I published our website and waited (not long at all) for our first dog in need. Now Motley Zoo is about to celebrate our 15th anniversary and more than 4,500 animals saved.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

One of the most interesting and exciting things that has happened with Motley Zoo, is accidentally dreaming up our backstage meet-and-greet concept which has now been emulated by many organizations since.

Motley Zoo plays on the rock and roll theme and we name our animals after musicians, and their songs/ albums. Our animals are called “Roadies” when in our care but become “Rock Stars” when adopted and have such names as Snoop Dogg (the cat), or Rooster (An Alice in Chains song). In 2013, we took in a group of cats and it was my job to name them. As I was looking forward to seeing Rancid (a favorite punk band) a few days later, I named the whole group after the band members, and their albums/ songs.

That night I had a dream that I brought the kittens to the back door of the show and asked to see the band. They graciously invited me in to take pictures and help promote the cats’ adoptions. It worked out so well- then I woke up. I was laughing as I relayed the dream to my husband when suddenly I just stopped laughing and said, “I’m going to do that”. My husband laughed and looked at me like I was nuts, but I told him, “You’ll see”.

I did exactly as I had in my dream. Security was amused but inquired with the band who surprisingly invited me up to visit with them. The band was excited about the whole idea as they love animals. They posed for pictures which they shared on their social media to help promote the cats’ adoptions. After nearly forty-five minutes (which is an eternity in rock star time) I was skipping to my car and calling my husband, giddy with excitement. “Guess who I just spent the last forty-five minutes with and who put us on the guest list”? My husband was amazed and quipped back, “Well, Snoop Dogg and Slayer are coming, let’s see what you can do with that”! Challenge accepted- and mission accomplished as they were our next meetings. Shortly after we met with Macklemore, Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top, Red Fang- and hundreds of bands since.

But it isn’t just fun and games. This effort is about promoting rescue and adoption far and wide and helping give the animals an identity and advantage over the many other animals seeking homes. When you see a puppy online named Rob Zombie, for example, you will remember that more than the ten others you scrolled past. This idea put Motley Zoo on the map so to speak, since many of our meetings have gone viral and have been featured in multiple magazines and online.

Now we’re invited by both bands and venues to provide backstage comfort to weary touring musicians who in turn, help us get the animals adopted through their social media. Though it’s not often, sometimes the band members or crew adopt the animals themselves such as Elle King, Kacey Musgraves, and John from Portugal the Man.

I would also like to clarify that the musicians are not significant donors. There are two who stand out as significant contributors, however in general this is not a fundraising initiative. We do seek ways to help leverage our long-standing relationships with these musicians, but we have yet to make that happen in a way we can rely on.

We often learn the most from our mistakes. Can you share one that you made that turned out to be one of the most valuable lessons you’ve learned?

We’ve been successful for the most part and thankfully, haven’t made any serious mistakes, but I will admit I had no idea what I was doing. I have a good business sense, as well as a flair for marketing- and my husband is an amazing artist. We had a great concept, but I’d never run a charity. We had no idea whether our “novel” ideas would work.

While fostering with other organizations, we saw things we felt could be improved but were repeatedly told, “This is how it is”. But I saw animals dying from preventable illnesses and no medical protocols; fosters quitting feeling used and abused and it all seemed so counterproductive to sustainability. I trusted the leaders of these organizations to do their best- until I couldn’t anymore. They inadvertently allowed problems I believed were unequivocally undermining their mission’s reason for being.

Despite my lack of experience growing up with dogs, I had a knack for working with behavior cases. I knew I had to show people the animals’ best qualities while being completely transparent about their issues. I often say, “A lie can kill a dog”- because what someone doesn’t know about my foster dog could be the issue that causes a bite and could endanger the dog’s life. I want adopters to know what they are getting into, especially if the dog is challenging.

When fostering a cute, fluffy “desirable” dog, I learned he’d been shot with a BB gun. His leg must have hurt at one point because when you put him down quickly, he’d turn and snap at you- but never with serious intention. It was clear he was simply afraid his leg would hurt when he touched the ground and this was a habit he’d struggled to grow out of. After experimenting a bit, I’d learned to slowly release him, making sure all four feet were solidly on the ground before letting go- and he never snapped again.

I was scheduled to meet with him for an adoptive family, but for some reason, the director questioned my intentions. Unfortunately, she tricked me into giving him to her so she could adopt him to her mother. But instead, him! She somehow thought I was not going to be honest about this dog’s limitations- and while I cannot understand what made her think that (neither can anyone else who knew), I was outraged. She lied to me intentionally as a way to resolve and issue that could easily have been a simple conversation. She used that sweet dog as a pawn in her egomaniacal game of power to prove a point: she was in charge.

I quit without telling anyone (and to this day, I have never told this story publicly), but I vowed then never to trust someone else to put the animal first. I was dumbfounded and devastated that someone could be so selfish and cruel and could use an animal in such a way to express their authority- or resolve a conflict that had nothing to do with his ability to be adopted.

While I miss that little dog (and would have kept him myself), I don’t think I’d have been compelled to establish Motley Zoo if this had not happened. I owed it to that little guy to make sure something so tragic never happened again- which is a vow I have kept for more than fifteen years.

My partner in the rescue and I will never put any emotion or personal gain ahead of the objectivity of an animal’s needs. It is extremely difficult to do in practice, but it is one of our keys to success- and why many other organizations fail. You’ve got to check your ego at the door to do right by the animals and run a charity well.

As a successful leader, it’s clear that you uphold strong core values. I’m curious what are the most important principles you firmly stand by and refuse to compromise on. Can you share a few of them and explain why they hold such significance for you in your work and life?

I believe in transparency. I am frankly too honest most of the time, but I don’t want to beat around the bush or waste time with an adopter who cannot handle the animal and their quirks/ needs. If an adopter doesn’t seem comfortable with a dog’s management plan for a health or behavioral matter, then they are not a good fit. Someone who doesn’t flinch when you tell them about a challenge, or the suggested solution is someone that I can consider moving ahead with.

The other aspect of transparency is objectivity. I must assess the animal first and pair a person to them- not the other way around. Rescue is believing there’s a home for every dog, but not necessarily that every home should have a dog. But just as people may balk about something, they may still be driven to adopt that animal. Some people become obsessed. They just “want”, but do not acknowledge their limitations and desires. They want to be the person for that animal, even if they aren’t. But it isn’t personal and it is no judgment of their capacity as an adopter in general, just because they see and want an animal that isn’t the right fit.

To be objective, I routinely risk hurting someone’s feelings when I must tell them the fit isn’t right. And since only one of say, 5 people who apply will be the one to take the animal home, it can be hard to make people happy, even if we’ve done nothing wrong. The truth in this instance does not have to hurt! Many people recognize this is not a personal judgment about them- rather just an intrinsic incompatibility. And while perhaps disappointed, they understand and we move on and try again with the next animal. But others sometimes get angry and react- to which I must accept. I recognize it is my job to “take crap” on behalf of the animals so they find everything they need. Some people want to dish an awful lot of crap too!

Lastly, to be transparent and objective in serving the animals, I must also have integrity. I cannot be easily swayed by money or emotions. I cannot give a dog to someone who will pay more, just because they can and will- I have to find the right home. Similarly, I cannot accept donations from those whose values do not align with Motley Zoo’s. The extent of these limitations is profound- so even if someone wanted to give us $1,000,000.00 no questions asked if we knew those funds came from a “compromised” industry (that didn’t uphold our values regarding animal quality of life), we would have to refuse. If not, we’d not only betray our values but we’d be hung to dry in the court of public opinion. I must maintain our integrity and avoid following a means to an end, even if that would be easier- or the rescue could fold without that money. I would rather go down with my principles than maintain a falsehood.

What inspired you to start a purpose-driven business rather than a traditional for-profit enterprise? Can you share a personal story or experience that led you to prioritize social impact in your business?

I began first to solve the problem of creating a nonprofit that better served animals and people- but was driven to create a more sustainable nonprofit that could thrive even if donations dried up entirely. I never wanted to rely on others for the level of stability or success we could achieve- I wanted to rely only on our intrinsic skills and abilities. By stepping outside the traditional model of nonprofit funding, I believed the success of Motley Zoo would always be unimpeded, even if circumstances were not reliable.

I saw this as a hybrid model to a traditional shelter or foster-based rescue. One that would make money; more than it cost- and one that could help fund our mission to grow and thrive, not just survive. This came in the form of “Rock Star Treatment”- a dog daycare facility that would help our mission as much, if not more than those we served. Through this venture, we were able to allow foster families more support for their dogs- which in turn, opened the door for more people to foster, especially those who worked long hours. Also, the dogs benefited significantly because they were able to get socialized and exercise while their fosters were busy- which led them to be better-behaved dogs, better prepared for adoption with skills such as crate training, house training, and basic obedience.

When COVID hit, because we were not just chasing donations, we had savings to rely on that helped sustain us without worry during lockdowns. This made a huge difference because instead of fearing the future, I was able to not only pay our staff and rent but also use the time to study, learn, and grow myself, achieving a certificate in animal welfare administration. I did not waste a moment and I still look back at this “freedom” as one of the best gifts I’ve been granted- since life in rescue and nonprofit administration can often become all-consuming. Even unhealthy and unbalanced. This time helped me find the joy in it all again- and the excitement for the future, not dread.

When we reopened, although most of our clients did not return due to the primarily work-from-home model, we met new clients who’d acquired puppies during that time. Dogs who did not need daycare as much as dog training. We met this change with enthusiasm and inspiration and established a new program, “Rock Star University”, a day training program for those who worked. Instead of just watching dogs play, we worked intensely with dogs who needed socialization and training but whose families would be challenged to meet the dogs’ needs after going back to work.

This lasted for a few years, until the building we rented (from our city) was deemed unsafe and we were forced to vacate with no alternative location. We searched for more than a year to find something suitable, but the irony is that commercial landlords won’t allow dog use. Despite a stellar reputation (even having the mayor’s dog at daycare weekly) and no complaints for more than nine years, we had to put this unique vision to bed.

This has been a significant loss, not only to our funding (at a time when animal welfare is at its worst) but also to our animals, volunteers and community. It is a shame, but one that cannot be changed. So I try not to look back- and instead continue to envision how we can thrive in new ways. Perhaps even disrupting the status quo yet again!

Can you help articulate a few of the benefits of leading a purpose-driven business rather than a standard “plain vanilla” business?

I feel fortunate that I discovered relatively early on in my life that purpose and passion matter far more to me than wealth. Part of this is because I had a relatively successful, supportive upbringing where my needs were met- and I was encouraged to thrive. But it is also because I lost money in my early business ventures- even filed for Chapter Seven bankruptcy. I had to start again without much except the understanding that I needed to find fulfillment, not just a job. And it is my experience of loss that has shaped my values.

I certainly don’t think this makes me better than anyone, it just makes me fortunate to know values outweigh money in my decisions. This in turn gives me strength and motivation to work even harder to find success- especially since my success is shared. I work hard for myself, but I work harder because I see a need that is bigger than me- and even in my weakest moments that “big picture” gives me strength that my life and my efforts matter. Animals and people are counting on me, and I want to do right by them.

Pursuing a business for profit alone is nice and intriguing. Plenty of people do that and find success, but I often wonder if they find happiness? I have found meaning through struggle, challenge, and loss- more than through gain, which I believe helps me find happiness long-term. My meaning comes from within, not from what others yearn for. I feel very lucky that I don’t need external validation to feel my life is worthwhile and impactful. Making a difference is more important to me than making money. I believe if your goals are driven by the outside world, you may be closing the door on what it takes to be your best, live to your fullest, and die without regrets.

I also believe it’s important to pursue purpose over profit because this is what times demand. The very functionality and sustainability of the entire planet hinges on people recognizing the need to be part of a bigger picture- not the biggest part of their picture. We have reached a point in history and our evolution that if we do not choose “WE” over ME, we will drive ourselves into oblivion. There is a growing demand from consumers that the businesses they buy from become extensions of their desire and power to make change. This is important especially when creating wealth undermines those values.

Business owners must not only see the reason for making sustainable choices and play the long game- potentially choosing to only be moderately profitable- over playing the short game to unfathomable wealth that can’t even be spent in a lifetime. This is where I like Mackenzie Scott’s vow as a billionaire to spend more than she keeps- but she also doesn’t fund animal welfare organizations, which is another fundamental problem we face. The needs of animals in our society are overlooked, despite the fact that they are true innocents and play critical roles in our lives.

How has your company’s mission or purpose affected its overall success? Can you explain the methods or metrics you use to evaluate the impact of this purpose-driven strategy on your organization?

Motley Zoo was established to challenge the status quo in nonprofits and animal welfare organizations; to be the best of each but also to better itself by pushing boundaries and pioneering new concepts. I have always believed that just because we did something yesterday doesn’t mean we should do that today (and it doesn’t mean we were “wrong” before either). Therefore, as a rule, I seek to change proactively before it’s required. This has not only opened us to seeing significant threats and challenges well in advance of others- but it’s shaped us to be highly adaptive and agile when circumstances around us change unexpectedly.

COVID and our pivot to dog training is a great example of that- as is our ability to continue as a foster-based rescue virtually, even after almost a decade of relying on and functioning around a physical location. While this has been a difficult change for me particularly to adapt to, it has ensured I don’t take our situation for granted and that I continue to look at every option. I am not blind to potential, and I don’t believe there is only one way to do things. I have even challenged my initial idea that maybe indeed a charity can and should run on donations alone!

I measure the impact of our success within our atmosphere primarily, however, I also look outside to see how other organizations operate. While we have invented a new wheel in many ways ourselves, there is also value in learning from others and I am humble and eager enough to recognize I can and should.

I not only look to see whether we are spending money on positions or programs that bring greater returns in value, but I also look to see how we are compared to other organizations in output. For example, how much is the average cost of care per animal? The problem is that this alone is not an accurate way to value our impact, since 30% of our animals are special needs. They stay with us longer and cost much more to care for but that is a founding aspect of our mission: to value animals as individual, living beings worth more than the number at the bottom of a veterinary bill. It doesn’t matter to us that another organization may rescue two or three more animals in that time- or that it may cost them less because those animals do not have the same challenges.

But this also makes it difficult to gauge the impact of charities in general- a system that is currently intrinsically flawed. Sometimes we struggle to show the virtue and value of Motley Zoo’s impacts based on the “old school” systems that simply look at animals vs dollars. There isn’t a system to rate the daycare and dog training’s impact on the community or the animals we’ve served (ours and the public’s)- nor do other organizations like ours venture into that territory to compare ourselves to. It may appear we’re “out of our element”, but instead we’re welcomed by those who saw a similar problem in our industry and believe we do the right thing in trying to fix it.

Thankfully Motley Zoo has cultivated a culture and following that also sees beyond traditional metrics and finds value in the shared belief that ultimately, we cannot save animals who were thrown away using the flawed metric valuing lives saved directly to dollars.

Can you share a pivotal moment when you realized that leading your purpose-driven company was actually making a significant impact? Can you share a specific example or story that deeply resonated with you personally?

I realized our belief in and acceptance of our values over traditional metrics was successful when we took on a litter of puppies exposed to parvovirus and one was already sick. This is a serious illness and without care, there’s not much chance for success- even 50/50 is too optimistic. The cost of treating a parvo puppy is about $5,000 and we had four puppies we needed to raise support for, so we started a fundraiser on social media.

Five thousand per dog sounds like a lot to ask of people- and it is. But it was also one of the most successful fundraisers we’d had in a long time. We hit our goal for that campaign, unlike many others we’d had previously for much smaller goals. In the end, the entire $20,000 budget was spent on one dog (as the others didn’t become as sick)- and they all lived. While unprecedented, it was a success because we had the funds we needed for them all- and it didn’t matter that it was spent so unequally on one animal.

However, I was talking with a very wealthy, traditional businessperson who in the past, had said before meeting me, they’d never seen someone who was so much the “real deal”. They could not wrap their head around how I “bucked the system” and poured so much heart into my work, but still succeeded.

After seeing that campaign, however, in simplest terms that person told me very critically that asking for $5,000 per dog was foolish and that we should never do that again. The person seemed to be amazed I could be that stupid- and was not ashamed to share that disdain (nor the pleasure of rubbing it in that they knew better). They’d finally they’d seen a flaw in my thinking and were glad to be “right” in their traditional views.

When I countered this with the immense success of it all and that the entire budget went to one single animal, the person was speechless. They almost looked as if they’d been punched. I cannot say that I didn’t enjoy that feeling- knowing that going with my gut was what was best, even when a seemingly “more experienced”, wealthy person told me otherwise. But it proved what I already know: I know THIS business. I know how to be me- and run Motley Zoo as it should be, successfully, because I am not driven by traditional cues or values.

Have you ever faced a situation where your commitment to your purpose and creating a positive social impact clashed with the profitability in your business? Have you ever been challenged by anyone on your team or have to make a tough decision that had a significant impact on finances? If so, how did you address and reconcile this conflict?

I would say this happens often because as I mentioned previously, we as charities are judged harshly for how we spend every penny- including on staff and rent. There is an antiquated view of what charities should be able to do without spending any money- and the entire system of ratings for nonprofits is essentially based on how well you “hide” overhead in your budget.

Everyone knows you need to spend money on that aspect to exist but the pressure on charities to do everything with nothing is immense and unrealistic. This means that even just boosting a social media post, or trying to advertise locally to draw more clients to our service-based business to increase profit are all things I have to think long and hard about. And no matter what, we cannot spend like a for-profit would even when I know that would help us get ahead. We must get ahead in mystical, magical, conjured-up ways to avoid losing precious donor support, which is still a necessity for our operation.

This was especially apparent when we sought grant funding to establish the dog daycare in 2013- an unproven concept from a newbie charity. Not surprisingly, most funders emphatically declined, but we were fortunate that one said yes- to the tune of $50,000 for a build-out. I believed that we should invest in everyday fundraising (that also served our animal, fosters and built community support) rather than one gala event as most charities do. This was untraditional and clashed with what others in our industry believed would be profitable- especially funders.

But as we hoped and worked for, it was all a huge success for nearly a decade. And now, we face another such situation again. The reality is even if we could find a commercial landlord to rent to us with dogs (or a reasonable rate), we’d be facing a buildout of upwards of $350,000 to even get started. This is a huge sum of funding- and we’d be hard-pressed to “sell” that idea to donors, even thought they saw what we’d done with our previous facility. But at this stage and in this economic climate, it seems too far out of the realm of our mission’s focus and spending to even consider asking.

Since looking back and repeating what once was is not an option, I am looking now at how we can build our training business to be more successful and profitable- since this is not only what our adoptable dogs need most, but also what the community does as surrender requests continue to rise. We have been working out of people’s homes- even continuing the day training while people are at work- and will continue to push the aspects of building this system up to be not only a mission-driven focus, but a fundraising success as well.

What advice would you give to budding entrepreneurs who wish to start a purpose-driven business?

I would tell anyone to consider what you want from your life that money cannot buy. When you die, how do you want to be remembered and what would you like to have accomplished? If leaving behind your name is most important to you, then maybe a purpose-driven business isn’t for you. But if you want to be remembered for your impact, then perhaps this path is for you.

When people tell me they want to be famous, I counter with, “What for?”. Often, they cannot answer. They haven’t thought about why, just the result- which makes no sense to me. While I have achieved a small bit of notoriety, it is far from fame- and it only comes because I’m succeeding at my purpose of saving animals. It’s a byproduct of my impact, not the result. I believe you need to understand the difference to be able to be successful with a purpose-driven business.

My entire purpose from day one with Motley Zoo was to make myself obsolete in the equation because I desire it to be successful without me. I don’t want Motley Zoo to revolve around me in the spotlight, being needed all the time. That would be counterproductive to my happiness- whereas many people can only envision success while at the helm and cling to a title with their very last, dying grip. They don’t see more than they can accomplish for themselves.

Just like many businesses, many animal organizations established themselves around/ after Motley Zoo don’t exist today because the founders couldn’t get past their egos. Ultimately, when building a purpose-driven business you need to be a cog in the machine but not the lynchpin. If you can envision that, then you have a great chance of success. But if that sounds crazy, maybe you need to pursue a more traditional path toward success where profit is the ultimate measure.

What are your “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Purpose-Driven Business.”

1 . Humility. Be confident in your skills, capacity, and potential, but remember that’s not the only reason your business will succeed. You need to find others who are better than you at many things- and be glad for it. Purpose-driven businesses need good people with great skills- not just one multi-talented know-it-all.

2 . Be reasonably experimental. I believe everything is fixable except terminal illness or death. Don’t be afraid to make a mistake or fail with an idea- but be sure to respond appropriately when you realize it’s a misstep. Also, don’t put everything on the line just because you “believe”. You still need a solid plan behind your risk- therefore only put on the line what you can afford financially and emotionally (which is also a function of humility). Don’t let outside pressures force you too far, especially for the payoff of glory. Find the things that you can “inexpensively” double down on- and know when you’re biting off more than you should.

3 . A good team- another function of humility! You need people who won’t always agree with you- and you need to care more about those opinions lest you miss out on valid input. It’s easy to validate yourself with “yes men” but you may miss key threats. But don’t confuse this disagreement with a lack of fundamental compatibility. You need someone who has the same values and vision, even when you may not agree. Just have a plan for seeking input from other sources when you’ve hit a wall or are butting heads.

4 . A solid business concept. You cannot just imagine that your business will go gangbusters because of your underlying purpose. The purpose is not enough alone. You must have a profitable concept and execution plan which is enhanced further by your purpose. You can grow a rabid fan base from mutual alignment- if you have a solid product or service. Quality matters here. You must be everything your competition is and more- or you won’t be anything.

5 . Endurance. This is a long-game venture and is not for the faint of heart. You will be pushed to limits you never thought possible, but when you’re doing it for the right reasons, you will dig deep and find the strength. Frankly, I could do many things for a paycheck alone- and in tough times I think about it. But I stick with my work because I’ve had jobs that provided a paycheck but no purpose- and I wasn’t happy then. I would rather be challenged than feel I don’t have meaning behind my existence. I know exactly why I am getting up each day now- and most of the time, I’m happy, even when it’s early!

I’m interested in how you instill a strong sense of connection with your team. How do you nurture a culture where everyone feels connected to your mission? Could you share an example or story that showcases how your purpose has positively influenced or motivated people on your team to contribute?

This used to be far easier to do when we had our dog daycare location and has been a significant challenge this past year. The biggest upset we’ve ever had was when I had to tell the staff we had to vacate our building in a short time. I told them I didn’t know the answers but that I would figure it out and they all said they were with me, no matter- which is exceptionally rare.

I assured them they’d keep their jobs, which was the main concern, and they agreed anything else could be finessed in time. We were able to offer that because we could pivot to in-home services including boarding- and we’d recently taken over a dog boarding business (with property) in a different town. While never meant to be a replacement for our dog daycare, this new opportunity offered other benefits the staff could relate to. It offered growth in a different aspect of our mission: establishing a sanctuary. This new direction still offers a service-based dog boarding business (for stability) but opens doors for us to take in different kinds of animals and have a place for dogs to stay and train when fosters are hard to come by (an increasing issue in 2023).

This has not been without challenges, since the property is disconnected with different buildings all over and staff is often “alone” in their work. I also don’t go there daily/ weekly as before, which also proved challenging initially as leadership changed to our Animal Care Director who also lives on site. To make up for the lack of face time, I schedule one-on-one meetings and we do online staff meetings to ensure we stay connected. We are also currently planning a get-together, morale event as well, where we can all just have fun.

Finding new staff to fit into this picture is much harder than it was before though. Finding people with our purpose is harder when there’s less of a natural “bump into each other” team environment to build on- but honestly, finding anyone who wants to work at all right now is an even bigger challenge. The potential workforce is bleak and makes me tired. But I keep on because our mission and keeping the team engaged will sustain us through this difficult challenge (every business is going through right now).

Imagine we’re sitting down together two years from now, looking back at your company’s last 24 months. What specific accomplishments would have to happen for you to be happy with your progress?

I would love to hear that we built a successful capital campaign that helped fund our building projects on the new property to make our sanctuary more functional. Right now, we have infrastructure and utility challenges as well as lack a “gathering place” (beyond our temporary solution of a party tent). While we can gather and train dogs in this tent, the lack of electrical capacity makes it impossible to heat and cool- so it’s as hot or cold as whatever the weather’s doing. It also won’t last much longer as the rain and heat are tough on the structure.

Knowing that in two years we’d be past this challenge and able to host events, training classes and better support our own dogs on the peoperty- as well as the community- would make me happy.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would like to inspire those with power, wealth and influence to refuse to overlook animals in their philanthropic aspects. This is especially critical since for roughly fifty years, animals and the environment have consistently shared a mere 2% of the overall picture of global giving (and for example, religion holds about 30% consistently). Animals don’t even get their own category and yet, this past year shows that small, shared percentage has been halved to a pitiful 1%. This gives unsettling validity to the fact that blindness to such issues is growing, yet the need in these areas is increasing dramatically.

In the US, this is particularly true for companion animals. In December 2023, there were 245,000 more animals in the system than the year prior- and the euthanization rate for dogs increased 85% from 2021 (as determined by Shelter Animals Count). A few percentage points increase in euthanization should be cause for concern. Such a disastrous figure should be cause for immediate action, as it proves the utter failure of our efforts to responsibly steward the lives of innocent animals.

We owe it to the creatures we bring into our homes and lives and get so much comfort from, to support them properly. Most animal shelters cannot address their animals’ basic needs- and many must forgo requirements to prepare animals for successful adoption (ex: sterilization, training) due to cost. As voiceless beings who will never have the option to take control of their fate, educate themselves, or proactively take action to rise above their struggles, we cannot overlook our duty to ensure that they are not wrongly imprisoned or killed for convenience- or due to ignorance.

Part of this is being more supportive of humans in ways that also support animals. Families facing issues such as homelessness, food insecurity, etc should not be expected to abandon pets as a part of the solution to their plight. Rather, we should expect and work for solutions that cover all family members. This is especially true when those animals cannot find resources outside those homes and euthanization is the subsequent, and primary solution to their homelessness. We cannot condone families being torn apart when one of the family members will die as a result. And as economic concerns continue to increase, the number of families- therefore animals- in this situation will continue to rise. And so will their rate of death.

In an advanced society, there are no animal problems, only people ones. As Gandhi wisely said, “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way in which its animals are treated”. When we fail to address our companion animals’ needs, we are likewise failing to support our humanity.

Here’s where someone will try to justify inaction by saying humans are more important and should be prioritized- but I believe that is an excuse. The numbers show is clear that humans already are prioritized. This is not about choosing between a person and an animal- rather I believe it’s about choosing to take action and spend in ways that support humans without costing animal their lives.

Animals and humans are forever intertwined. Every pet owner can share how much their animals have helped them- often more than the people in their lives! Therefore, as their stewards, we must find solutions to human problems that incorporate animals and the betterment of their care and well-being. We must create additional ways to support animals while we support the people that love them.

Humans will do better by humans because humans can choose to do so. Does there need to be more of this? Yes! But animals cannot choose to change what is killing them in record numbers- it’s entirely in our hands. This is why I plead with those of great means to see support for companion animals as additional support for humanity as a whole.

Likewise, I implore the “masses” to make better choices about how they source their pets and to choose adoption first. Adopting ensures animals’ well-being is the priority- unlike animals’ sale as a profit-making commodity (such as buying from a pet store, therefore puppy mill). When animals are property, they will always lose- but when animals are family, everyone benefits.

How can our readers further follow your work or your company online?

You can find us at www.motleyzoo.org where you can learn more about our mission and impact, but also see the many animals we have available for adoption and foster- or check out a volunteer opportunity and make a donation.

This was great. Thanks for taking time for us to learn more about you and your business. We wish you continued success!

About the Interviewer: Chad Silverstein, a seasoned entrepreneur with over two decades of experience as the Founder and CEO of multiple companies. He launched Choice Recovery, Inc., a healthcare collection agency, while going to The Ohio State University, His team earned national recognition, twice being ranked as the #1 business to work for in Central Ohio. In 2018, Chad launched [re]start, a career development platform connecting thousands of individuals in collections with meaningful employment opportunities, He sold Choice Recovery on his 25th anniversary and in 2023, sold the majority interest in [re]start so he can focus his transition to Built to Lead as an Executive Leadership Coach. Learn more at www.chadsilverstein.com

--

--

Chad Silverstein
Authority Magazine

Chad Silverstein: 25-years experience as a CEO & Founder, sharing entrepreneurial insights & empowering the next generation of leaders.