Real Weng Of Lilireal Studios: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readJan 2, 2022

“Everything is possible“ — There’s no limitation of yourself and your work. You never know what is coming your way with all kinds of surprises and opportunities. Get yourself ready for the unknown stop in your life.

As a part of our series about “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist” I had the pleasure of interviewing Real Weng.

Real Weng is a freelance illustrator, author, business owner and graphic artist based in Los Angeles. Previously a Marketing Executive in Taiwan she decided to focus on her art career full time after moving to Los Angeles. Being born and raised in Taiwan, Weng had the privilege to immerse herself in the traditional Asian culture. Weng also uses her experiences of living in several different countries and knowledge of other cultures in her artwork. Weng enjoys creating unique freehand artwork showing her life experiences while keeping an open mind to challenge and improve herself.

Thank you so much for joining us. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born and raised in Taiwan. Being in a single parent family, I have learned to be independent. But the love from home was never lacking for me. I had a lot of freedom to develop my habits and creativity. I have always wanted to study abroad and am willing to step out of my comfort zone to seek my future on the unknown path. Fortunately because of the adventurous spirit, through study, work and marriage, I was able to explore the world thoroughly.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

My philosophy is that focus and concentration can clear the mind, especially when the focus is on work product. I relished the serenity and peacefulness that I experienced during the time that I was creating artwork. The joyfulness has brought me and keeps me on this path passionately.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

When I was putting ideas of my career together and looking for any hint to execute every step. One of my family friends had told me that I am good with hand-drawing and copying after she saw the 30 hand-written tag by me of party favors. That was one of the hints I took and started to create my book.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

The Aloha coloring series I am working on is my life experience in Hawaii. Combining Hawaiian well-known features and the floral pattern. I am very excited to bring the tranquil, tropical feeling to the audience.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

This is a new friend I recently met. She had shared her life story with me and I found herself and her story very intriguing. She is a strong, single mother always willing to learn. The story of her begins from studying in the US and she became a champion of a beauty pageant then traveling around the world as a goodwill ambassador. The unexpected life brought her into a marriage that does not fit her. Later, she decided to build up her own restaurant business and started her bright new life. She told the story positively with no regret.

Where do you draw inspiration from? Can you share a story about that?

The inspiration of my art is derived from my zeal and appreciation of life itself and through my travel experiences. I have had the good fortune of being able to travel throughout the world. Those experiences exposed me to unique and varying cultures which impacted my life considerably. Hence, seeing the world through different sets of lenses instilled within me a passion and desire to express my vision through art.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

To bring you a peaceful mind. It was my desire to transfer that sensation through my handcrafted design for the audience to experience similar emotions and inspiration whether glancing through it or coloring pages within it.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. “No one can define you” — Be confident. There’s always someone that appreciates and is touched by your work.
  2. “It is not easy to begin a career as an artist” — There are hundreds and thousands of visual art artists that are trying hard to stand out from the industry and the market. Once you begin, You have to believe in yourself and keep on going what you are passionate about. Seeking all kinds of opportunities and non-stop learning and trying new technics, ideas.
  3. ”Yes! Social Media“ — It’s not just a post and share movement. Social media has become the most important medium for marketing and exposure. No matter what kind of business and how low key you want to be, you still have to find a harmonious way to expose yourself on social media.
  4. “Take a break“ — To be in the artist’s journey, sometimes you will just lose faith and feel exhausted when the path or the result is not going your way and fits your expectation. Or ideas just would not come out from your brain. Taking a break from the rigid thinking and vision will help you look further and go further.
  5. “Everything is possible“ — There’s no limitation of yourself and your work. You never know what is coming your way with all kinds of surprises and opportunities. Get yourself ready for the unknown stop in your life.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I sometimes like to share my theory with my friends and that is ”If you don’t know what you want then think from what you don’t want”. This theory has helped me make a lot of decisions since.

We have been blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she just might see this.

Sadhguru, a yoga guru, a sage. I often watch and meditate with his videos as a guide when I want to clear my mind and cheer myself up. I would love to have a private dining time with Sadhguru to learn about his view of life, the wisdom of life.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/artist_lilirealstudio/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/lilirealstudio

Website:

www.lilirealstudio.com

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--