Richard Willis Jr: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker

An Interview With Guernslye Honoré

Guernslye Honore
Authority Magazine
4 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Success doesn’t come overnight and those who do receive it overnight, don’t last long. You can’t rush the process because in the process is where you learn lessons that schooling can’t teach you. And it’s in that same process that you gain the biggest jewel, the learning of self.

As a part of our series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Richard Willis Jr.

With a career spanning nearly 30 years in the entertainment industry, Richard Willis Jr. is the CEO and founder of Mozell Entertainment Group. MOZELL has achieved success in all arenas of entertainment since 1998. By juxtaposing development expertise with niche marketing opportunities, Mozell has been able to level playing fields and accomplish their goals. As an individual, Richard Willis, Jr. has produced and directed projects, exploiting the mass appeal of their creativity and purpose in the entertainment and commercial marketplace. As a company, MOZELL has produced and managed projects domestically and internationally. This includes administrative supervision and coordination as well.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Never give up on yourself, your people, or God. I’ve been through so much — especially recently, with my back surgery — and still, I come out on the other end, better and stronger than ever. That can only be thanks to the unwavering belief I have in myself, the love I receive from friends and family, and the strength that God has given me to pull through.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Although I can’t give specific details on the projects I’m working on, I can confidently say that they are tied to some of the biggest names in the industry, and that your readers will be hearing a lot more about Mozell Entertainment Group in the months to come.

Which aspect of your work makes you most proud? Can you explain or give a story?

I can honestly say I’m proud of everything I’ve done, regardless of how it ultimately turned out in the end. Each thing is an experience, and leads me to the next chapter of my story. I’m grateful for everything I’ve learned along the way.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

1. The race is not made for the swift.

Success doesn’t come overnight and those who do receive it overnight, don’t last long. You can’t rush the process because in the process is where you learn lessons that schooling can’t teach you. And it’s in that same process that you gain the biggest jewel, the learning of self.

2. Learn to write, direct, produce & create.

Learning how to be a Jack of all trades in this business helps one to stay afloat in an industry that’s very fickle and it allows you to learn the different languages from the technical side, which strengthens your ability to communicate.

3. The importance of networking.

Building relationships is key in building your business and having accessibility to rooms.

4. Taking risk

The most successful people in this world whether through entertainment, whether through inventions, or whether through making social contributions, have made huge impacts in the world, that would not have been recognized had they not taken the risk.

5. Be grateful for everyone on your team.

No one owes you anything — not time, not money, not effort. Anyone who takes the time to work with and for you, especially if they’re helping bring attention to your project, is not to be taken for granted.

When you create a film, which stakeholders have the greatest impact on the artistic and cinematic choices you make? Is it the viewers, the critics, the financiers, or your own personal artistic vision?

I think it’s mostly my personal artistic vision. For example, I recently worked on a project called The Known Unknown, which is a symphony of Hip-Hop in five movements. Fame, Friendship, Fulfillment, Fear, Freedom. The Known Unknown, through MUSIC, DRAMA, COMEDY, DANCE, GAMING, and stunning VISUALS, takes the audience on an enchanting but shocking thrill ride that enlightens, helping us to see more clearly the times we live in, the world we are creating, the communities, families, relationships, and finally, how they see us, and the courage to face how we see ourselves.

You can see a trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYTBWFGjzzM

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would start a movement where young creatives of all kinds — filmmakers, actors, artists, producers — can come together and make all their dreams come true.

How can our readers further follow you online?

They can follow Mozell Entertainment Group on all social media platforms.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MozellEntertainmentGroup/

Twitter/X: @RWJMozell

YouTube: @mozellentertainmentgroup5309

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you for your time today!

--

--

Guernslye Honore
Authority Magazine

Guernslye Honoré, affectionately known as "Gee-Gee", is an amalgamation of creativity, vision, and endless enthusiasm.