Rick Lauber On The 5 Things You Need To Be A Successful Author or Writer

An Interview With Kristin Marquet

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
10 min readMar 27, 2022

--

A strong backbone (i.e. being able to handle rejection and having the self-confidence to continually market oneself and one’s work). Admittedly, I struggled with this, but by having my work regularly accepted and published, I have become more confident. My mindset has since changed. Rejection from an editor may have nothing to do with me, my abilities, or my pitched story topic … my idea may simply have been poorly timed and my query could be filed for future consideration). Newspapers and magazine editors are also bound to page constraints and must balance submitted content with paid advertising. Even if a writer pitches an excellent idea, the story may not be accepted as there is no room to include it.

Some writers and authors have a knack for using language that can really move people. Some writers and authors have been able to influence millions with their words alone. What does it take to become an effective and successful author or writer?

In this interview series, called “5 Things You Need To Be A Successful Author or Writer” we are talking to successful authors and writers who can share lessons from their experience.

As part of this series I had the pleasure of interviewing Rick Lauber.

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada-raised Rick Lauber is the published author of two caregiving guidebooks (The Successful Caregiver’s Guide and Caregiver’s Guide for Canadians), an established freelance writer, and a caregiver’s advocate. Lauber’s passion for writing about caregiving stems from his personal experience helping and supporting his aging parents. In addition to his two books, Lauber is a twice-published story contributor for Chicken Soup for the Soul. Learn more about Lauber and follow him on social media through www.ricklauber.com.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

I was born into a family of five and have two sisters — one older and one younger. Growing up as the middle child — and the only boy in the family — had some challenges! Both of my parents were academics and worked at the local University (my mother was a zoologist while Dad was an English professor). Like my parents, I enjoyed reading when I was younger (there is truth that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree …) but never imagined it leading to a serious career. I also fondly remember how Dad used to read to my sisters and me before bedtime … he introduced us to Charles Dickens, Mark Twain, Lewis Carroll, and many other authors. I now realize that Dad was not only sharing his love of these authors with us … he also had another motive. With his soothing baritone voice, Dad could successfully lull his children to sleep. My first published piece of writing was a Letter to the Editor of a local newspaper (I must’ve have been about 7 or 8 years old at that time).

I have pursued multiple career paths including radio broadcasting, bartending, retail management, and marketing/publicity — interestingly enough, there were aspects of writing in various positions which I did enjoy. It wasn’t until many years later when I learned of a writing program offered at a local University. I was intrigued, and attended their course information session, but balked about registering for classes. As a “mature” student, I wondered about my comfort level and my ability to learn new skills. I finally convinced myself to register and I am glad I did! I greatly enjoyed my time back at school, learned a great deal, found some new friends, and successfully completed the program.

Can you share the most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career?

During my time at school, I also became a caregiver for my aging parents (Mom had Parkinson’s disease and Leukemia while Dad had Alzheimer’s disease). Faced with increased responsibilities and rising stress, I struggled to find a healthy balance and watched helplessly at Mom and Dad physically and mentally declined. While other caregivers I met had repeatedly advised me of the benefits of looking after myself, I ignored them thinking I could manage everything on my own (and mistakenly believed it was my obligation to do so). In due course, however, things became overwhelming (I was losing sleep, focus, and patience) and I realized that I must take steps to help myself. My answer was to begin journaling. Sharing my thoughts, feelings, and experiences relating to caregiving proved to be an excellent coping mechanism … by doing so, I did not keep that negativity bottled up inside of me. Many of my stories became published in a local senior’s newspaper.

Following Mom and Dad’s deaths, I continued writing and realized that with the growing number of caregivers in the country, I could help and support many others. This led me to considering writing a book! That idea simmered on the back burner for several months … writing a book would be a far bigger project than writing a newspaper story — could I commit the time required and could I do this? But the idea kept gnawing at me and I finally mustered up my courage, chose a possible publisher, and drafted and e-mailed a proposal. Time dragged as I waited for a response; however, much to my delight, that proposal was accepted and I was awarded a contract! With a publishing lawyer’s help, we agreed to terms and I began writing that book including numerous stories I had previously shared. In due course, that book was completed and published and led to the publisher’s request for a second book on the same subject! Receiving my author copies of both books certainly ranks highly among my proudest moments! Little did I know that caregiving — as one of the most challenging things I have ever faced — would have helped to open the door to such an opportunity resulting in both personal and professional growth!

What was the biggest challenge you faced in your journey to becoming a writer? How did you overcome it? Can you share a story about that that other aspiring writers can learn from?

I think my biggest obstacle was a personal doubt in my own ability to write. While I had always enjoyed writing, I did not take myself seriously or pursue writing seriously until later in my life. There are regrets I did not answer the call to write earlier, but I am now trying my best to make up for lost time. I would expect other writers — especially those just cautiously venturing into the field — would feel the same. Aspiring writers can help themselves by avoiding putting pressure on themselves, not comparing themselves to other writers, asking for help, and associating with positive people.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

While this was a bit further along in my own writing career, I remember hesitating to tell my own family about my interest to write a book. I thought they would somehow disapprove of the project or doubt my ability. As negativity often breeds negativity, I mistakenly chose to keep quiet and kept the news to myself until the day when I provided each of my sisters a signed copy of my first book! As a result, my assumptions about what they would think or how they would react were false! My sisters were pleasantly surprised, fully approving, and congratulatory. The lesson for writers here is to not be afraid to share their ideas and work with others … support will come and backing − no matter where it comes from − can be of great benefit to writers.

In your opinion, were you a “natural born writer” or did you develop that aptitude later on? Can you explain what you mean?

I think I may have been a ‘natural born writer’ but I failed to listen to the messages. My parents were avid readers. I enjoyed family trips to the public library (and would often come home precariously balancing the maximum allowed number of books I could borrow). I embraced essay assignments in junior high and high school English classes. I was told I had an aptitude for writing. These were among the signs pointing me in this career direction, but I ignored them.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

With the ongoing pandemic, finding means of promoting my books has been certainly more challenging (I used to welcome bookstore signings, but I haven’t visited a bookstore for a customer “meet and greet” event in two years) , so I have had to think of more creative publicity avenues. Having presented numerous caregiving webinars for various audiences, I am interested in pursuing this area and am thrilled to hear agreement from McMaster University (located in Hamilton, Ontario) for me to host a webinar later this summer. Furthermore, I am actively seeking out new freelance markets to write for … finding a new editor to work with is always exciting!

Here is the main question of our interview. Based on your experience, what are the “5 Things You Need To Be A Successful Author or Writer”? Please share a story or example for each.

Many factors can contribute to an author or writer’s success, but the following would top my list of recommendations:

  • Writing ability and grammar skills (these can be learned and improved). While I registered in the Professional Writing program, I have also taken further writing workshops, and attended writer’s conferences. Practice helps as well. By continually writing (and reading), a writer will improve as well.
  • Support from others (including personal and professional contacts). Some of the best encouragement I ever received came from a writer’s group. Members were excited about my book project and helped keep me focused and spurred me on. Considering their invaluable support, I have done my best to now help each of them achieve their own success as writers.
  • A strong backbone (i.e. being able to handle rejection and having the self-confidence to continually market oneself and one’s work). Admittedly, I struggled with this, but by having my work regularly accepted and published, I have become more confident. My mindset has since changed. Rejection from an editor may have nothing to do with me, my abilities, or my pitched story topic … my idea may simply have been poorly timed and my query could be filed for future consideration). Newspapers and magazine editors are also bound to page constraints and must balance submitted content with paid advertising. Even if a writer pitches an excellent idea, the story may not be accepted as there is no room to include it.
  • Persistence. To become successful, a writer cannot sit still. I am routinely pursuing story ideas, querying editors, and dedicating writing time. If one door remains closed, I will knock on it again as well as explore other writing opportunities.
  • A keen desire to learn (about writing, people, and subject areas). One of my favorite things to do as a writer is interview others. It can be greatly pleasing to learn about their stories and then share these. Early in my writing career, I recall being asked to interview and profile successful women entrepreneurs for a business magazine. Meeting these women and hearing what drives them was very motivating to me.

What is the one habit you believe contributed the most to you becoming a great writer? (i.e. perseverance, discipline, play, craft study). Can you share a story or example?

Perseverance, discipline, play, and craft study are all important factors which can lead to a writer’s success. Writers need to take their writing seriously to succeed. I remember one woman from a writer’s group who remained unpublished. After being encouraged by me and other group members, she finally admitted that she was nervous to query ideas and/or submit her written stories. This was unfortunate, as she showed talent and ability as a writer. Without sharing her ideas, her ideas could never be considered for publication. Granted, I too was nervous as a novice writer, but am thankful for my personal dedication … once I start a project (an article, a book, or otherwise), I am committed to complete it (and take great pride in seeing the results). I also habitually submit completed work by, or before, stated deadlines. Editors are busy people and appreciate more time to review finalized work. By providing work promptly, or ahead of time, I have built trusting relationships with editors as a “go-to” contributor.

Which literature do you draw inspiration from? Why?

With my writing genre of choice being non-fiction, I can find other non-fiction literature inspiring. I also like biographies where I can follow a person’s life story to better understand who they became or what they overcame or achieved.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Considering my own experience as a caregiver for my aging parents, I continue to advocate for caregivers and push for a movement to better recognize and support family members and professionals who provide help and support to others. I find it saddening that, despite their vital work, caregivers remain largely ignored and this must change. Caregivers are an important spoke in the wheel when it comes to health care, but the job has physical, mental, emotional, and financial impacts. We must start paying more attention to caregivers.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Your readers are welcome to “Google search” my name to find numerous published and posted articles I have written. In addition, my website at www.ricklauber.com includes a sampling of shared stories as well as links to find and follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Thank you so much for this. This was very inspiring!

--

--