Rising Music Star Alex Shade On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readFeb 13, 2023

“Don’t listen to criticism” unless it’s constructive don’t spend your energy on it. “Work hard” no one is going to do the job for you if you have a dream work hard for it and don’t give up it’s essential! “Always listen to your inner voice” Never make important choices on a whim, always listen to your feelings, this is the key to success. “Take care of your body and your mind” It’s essential to have a healthy lifestyle if you want to achieve your goals in the right condition a mind in the fog will never see clearly. “Never give up” Even if some days are difficult the sun always comes after the storm a true leader always gets up after the battle, stay true to yourself.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Alex Shade.

Alex Shade, is an American singer, rapper, songwriter and producer. He became known for his unique style of pop rap music. It was in 2019 that he released his first single “SHADE”, after several years of making and producing music for him and his friends, he decided to officially launch his career. True autodidact Alex Shade produces everything himself, from lyrics to productions, he stands out and becomes multitasking in the matter. Then he released several exclusive singles where he explored different genres of music, it was in 2021 that he released his first independent album under his own label “SHADE DYNASTY RECORDS” a company in which he invested in the music industry. later in 2023 he publishes his very first music video and single “SKY HIGH” a culmination for the singer who is producer and director of his own music video.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit about your “origin story”. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thanks for having me ! Only son, I grew up in a loving family where I was always surrounded by music at all times, art in general and music have always fascinated me since my early childhood. Already, at a young age, I loved to sing and dance, watch concerts on television, I grew up in an environment where pop culture and music were present every day.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I am someone who believes a lot in destiny, if it is written it will happen! The music came to me, it found me, I was destined to do something in this business, the opportunities followed and I’m here now and I don’t regret a thing.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The most interesting story for me is when a big Hollywood producer happened to chat with me on Instagram! Someone truly amazing, we’ve known each other for more than five years now. Which led me to undertake many projects as well as future music records! a great experience!

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I would say that the biggest mistake I made when I started my career was being too naive and maybe not thinking enough about certain choices, over time and hindsight this has taught me, to take more time to evaluate everything and make the right choices, in truth, it is experience that forges what we become over time.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have worked and met with many people in my career, I am above all grateful for the life and experiences I have had, but also my small circle of friends who advise me in my moments of uncertainty, it is important to be well surrounded and to have different opinions.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

« Don’t follow the crowd, make your own path » For me this quote is full of meaning, I learned over time that I had my own life path to trace that my existence was unique and incomparable, we all have different things to live, our own destiny is why i learned to always listen to my inner voice is to make my own choices not to follow the crowd to remain independent in all circumstances.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I just released my new single “SKY HIGH” along with my very first music video so right now I’m working on that. But I have a lot of ongoing projects like collaborations with other artists and concert projects, the contact with my fans remains very important to me, so expect to see many great projects to come!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film, and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

First of all, I would say that diversity is very important in our current world, because without diversity, there would be no originality or differences, especially in the entertainment world, we need different talents, different figures, it’s essential. What would this industry be without diversity? nothing for me, diversity is essential to our culture and our values.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

“Don’t listen to criticism” unless it’s constructive don’t spend your energy on it. “Work hard” no one is going to do the job for you if you have a dream work hard for it and don’t give up it’s essential! “Always listen to your inner voice” Never make important choices on a whim, always listen to your feelings, this is the key to success. “Take care of your body and your mind” It’s essential to have a healthy lifestyle if you want to achieve your goals in the right condition a mind in the fog will never see clearly. “Never give up” Even if some days are difficult the sun always comes after the storm a true leader always gets up after the battle, stay true to yourself.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would recommend them to take time for themselves, to breathe, to put less pressure on themselves, I am someone who is often confronted with this kind of situation, being an artist in this current world is sometimes difficult, the stress can quickly arrive and we find ourselves overwhelmed, I would say that we must above all focus on the essentials, but to remain consistent above all else.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Bringing people together through music and peace would be something amazing for me to do, the power of music has no limit.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

There are a lot of people I would like to spend time with but I would say Terrence Howard for sure, I admire his career as an actor and musician, his life journey is very inspiring and I’m sure he has a lot of experiences to share, it would be really great!

How can our readers follow you online?

You can follow me on Instagram and Spotify and on all my networks !

Instagram: https://instagram.com/alexshade

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/5kjnWNST9fIlp2TWnyPLag

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@AlexShade-Official

Snapchat: https://snapchat.com/add/alexshade13

Website : www.alexshade.com

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music