Rising Music Star Bri Oglu On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

--

Try not to date your collaborators. It’s easy to catch feelings for the artists you work with because there’s a certain level of intimacy required to create. Without getting too personal, I missed out working with a killer musician over bruised egos.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Bri Oglu.

Bri Oglu is a Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter and cinematic pop artist. Her love for singing and music of almost any genre under the sun shone through from a young age and carries into her work today as she possesses the ability to create versatile songs that showcase the varying textures of her voice and her multiple influences from her youth.

Bri’s childhood was suspended between two musical worlds: her mother’s midwestern roots of country and pop, and her father and adoptive mother’s love of classic rock, 80s music, and jazz. She spent her younger years writing songs and emulating the artists she heard on the radio and around the house: Ann Wilson (Heart), Britney Spears, Shania Twain and Dido to name a few. In high school, she joined chorus, theatre and a local gospel choir. She fell in love with the visceral sounds of Idina Menzel as well as a high school sweetheart who introduced her to metal and alt rock.

After school, she moved to Los Angeles to initially pursue acting due to the intimidating, robust nature of the music scene. While working at a karaoke bar and gigging around town, she was exposed to jazz and soul music, adding the final ingredient to her diversely influenced sound. Her path led her back to her ultimate passion in music, and she has continued to pursue her career as an artist ever since. When venues shut down during the pandemic, Bri focused on writing and recording her 6-track EP, Somewhere Else. The collection showcases her sultry, but powerful voice and pairs with a cinematic pop production style crafted by artist / producer Will Snyder. Her EP is set to release this December. For more information visit BriOglu.com.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series Bri! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit about your “origin story”. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thanks so much for having me! I had a pretty nomadic childhood. I grew up between two musical worlds: my mother’s midwestern roots of country and pop, and my father and adoptive mother’s love of classic rock, 80s pop, and jazz. While moving around a lot and as a kid, I was always writing songs and emulating the artists I heard. I remember feeling like the singers I listened to were my peers, haha. I started singing country and pop as a young kid, then musical theatre, gospel and alt rock in high school. My Dad was super into music and played bass growing up and my grandmother was a music teacher and singer, so the arts were thankfully always encouraged in my family.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Initially, I moved to LA to pursue acting — not music. I think there was a little fear there. After working in a karaoke bar and gigging around town, I started booking way more as a singer and went with it.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Just recently actually, I was on a gig and Faith Evans and Stevie J came up to compliment and follow me on Insta. I was shook. It was definitely a highlight.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

When I first started sitting in at jams around LA, I was super green and didn’t know how to properly cue or lead a band. I remember we were playing “Ain’t No Sunshine” and when it came time to end the tune, I kept going back to the A section so the song never ended, haha. I still lay in bed at night cringing over that one. As painful as some of those memories are to rehash, I think it’s crucial to cut your teeth a bit. It made me a better musician and professional.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

My EP! Which is dropping at the end of the year. Also, an announcement that I can’t quite reveal yet. Stay tuned ;)

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film, and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Representation is everything. (1) When children can see themselves in the positions they aspire to be, it becomes possible. Only good can come from empowering our youth. (2) When we bring different perspectives to the table in mainstream art, we gain a shared understanding and appreciation for one another. Only good can come from that empathy. (3) We’ve created a damaging, exclusive image of what beauty and fame are. Thank GOD that’s changing. Only good can come from people accepting their physical appearance and not trying to alter it with extreme, unhealthy methods. OR feeling inferior because they don’t fit a specific ideal. Fuck that.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Try not to date your collaborators. It’s easy to catch feelings for the artists you work with because there’s a certain level of intimacy required to create. Without getting too personal, I missed out working with a killer musician over bruised egos.
  2. Don’t wait for it to be “perfect” to execute. It never will be. As a teenager, I had so many good song ideas I didn’t release because I never felt like they were ready. While I am grateful for where my skill set has evolved to, I do think there is benefit to be had in executing without overthinking. Progress is everything and if you aren’t making moves, you aren’t growing.
  3. Stay in your own lane. I often struggled with comparing myself to other pop artists or peers: the way they looked, sounded, the vocal choices they made, the kinds of posts they were making, etc. It was maddening and got me nowhere. What “they’re” doing, doesn’t matter. You will never be able to do what they do as well as they do it because you are not them and thank god for that. Bringing yourself fully and authentically to the table will always get you the furthest in the long run.
  4. Be selective about who you take advice from. I’ve had older people in the industry try to define me: what I’m good at (and what I’m not), how I should dress and market myself etc. Unless they’re excelling in your specific field in the current climate, your own gut is more important than their two-cents. Be clear on who you are and what you want, work hard and execute.
  5. Focus on health — physical and mental. If you can’t find a balance, whatever that means for you, your art will suffer. For me that means hot yoga, eating well, taking medication and limiting alcohol and people who make me feel shitty. I used to struggle with crippling depression and anxiety that kept me from releasing music. Finding what works for me allowed me to not just create, but execute.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Assess progress and success over longer periods of time. Practice gratitude. Surround yourself with people who appreciate what you do. Avoid the competition. Enjoy hobbies that aren’t your craft with people who aren’t just fellow artists. Take care of your body and mental health. :)

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I’m a huge believer in the power of one-on-one interactions. Kindness in our day to da and meaningful conversation on an individual level will lead to exponential change.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My parents. I am so incredibly blessed to have parents who have never doubted me or suggested I try a more stable profession. I began singing shortly after I began talking. I don’t necessarily have a defining moment when I knew music was what I wanted to do, it was more just always understood that music and performing were going to be my path. Because of that sheer faith in my ability, I never knew anything else or seriously considered any other profession. I am lucky.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I’m a Disney girl so “Just keep swimming” was the first thing that came to mind. It’s so easy to overthink things or put too much stock in other people’s opinions. I think I’ve been able to keep going because I learned how to put blinders on, stay in my own lane and never give up.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Steven Tyler! Because I selfishly want him to hear my “DREAM ON” cover, haha. But aside from that, I would love to just hear him speak and soak in his undeniable star power.

How can our readers follow you online?

brioglu.com

@BRIOGLU on IG, TikTok

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you so much for having me! I really enjoyed and benefitted from thinking about these questions:)

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.