Rising Music Star Charly Reynolds On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

Even though you know how to sing, you should still take voice lessons. As a singer, your voice is your instrument and you can’t afford to lose or damage it. I wish someone would’ve told me that sooner so I could’ve started practicing ways to take care of my voice the past couple of years rather than just starting now, but you have to start somewhere! Take care of your instrument!

As a part of our series about rising music stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Charly Reynolds.

Charly Reynolds, a charismatic 22-year-old singer-songwriter, is making her place in country music. The singer, born and raised in the sunshine state of Florida and her upbringing evident in the beach blonde’s sunny disposition, just had her version of “Neon Moon” featured in the Season 5 finale of FOX’s provocative medical drama THE RESIDENT. Her new single “Rodeo,” is slated for release on June 3rd.

Reynolds has had the privilege to share the stage with some of Country Music’s top-named acts including Billy Dean, Montgomery Gentry, John Schneider (Bo Duke of “The Dukes of Hazzard”), Darryl Worley and Jim Brown, as well as performing at fairs and festivals across America and at Nashville’s most prestigious venues including The Wildhorse Saloon, 3rd & Lindsley, AJ’s Good Time Bar, Miranda Lambert’s Casa Rosa and The Listening Room.

To learn more about Charly Reynolds and upcoming performance dates, visit her website, and follow her on social media: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and Spotify.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thank you for having me! I grew up in Orlando, FL and singing was always a part of my life. I grew up singing the National Anthem at my school’s events, always singing in the talent shows and just having fun! I also played soccer and volleyball and in high school was on the yearbook staff which has helped me a lot with my career now by doing a lot of graphics and online design for myself these past few years. My family was always very supportive of my dreams and goals no matter what they were and I am so thankful for them. They would always let me try new sports, skills and help me along the way.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

When I was little, I used to love singing songs from Broadway Musicals such as Wicked and Hairspray and thought maybe I would want to be on Broadway one day, and little did I know I would be! Nashville Broadway! Since I now sing at Miranda Lambert’s Casa Rosa every Friday & Sunday. I listened to so many different artists and Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood sort of pulled me into wanting to sing more country music. After seeing Carrie Underwood live around 11 or 12 years old I knew that was what I wanted to do! I have the best parents and family who have always been so supportive of me and my singing career. I couldn’t do it without them.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I would say one of the coolest things was when I was playing at Miranda Lambert’s Casa Rosa, and her and her family came in during our set and stayed the whole time. After we were done we got asked to go up and meet them and they were all so kind and encouraging. Definitely one of the coolest things that has happened!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

This was a hard one to come up with, but I can say that I used to get so embarrassed and freaked out if I would mess up while singing. What I have learned over the years is that it is fine, and no one even cares! If it happens, it happens and you just deal with it. You just have to keep going!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Right now I am working on the release of my next single, called “Rodeo” coming out June 3rd! I am so excited about this song. It is different from anything I have put out in the past and think it will be a strong anthem going into the summer. I am very excited to shoot the music video for it and get it out in the world as well!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity brings different stories, which means different songs and different perspectives that can resonate with all kinds of people from all different backgrounds. We all need music and entertainment in different ways.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

1. It’s not easy. Yes, I heard this, but I didn’t take it seriously. I didn’t know how hard it was to get a record deal or publishing deal when I moved here. I mean I didn’t even know what a publishing deal was. You really have to work hard and pay your dues in this industry. It will be tough, but you have to keep going to go anywhere.

2. If you have a plan B, then this is probably not for you. When it comes to dreaming big I believe you have to be all in. Of course, there are times when you think oh I could do this or that, and of course, I am not saying you shouldn’t have any other job. What I mean, is if there is any ounce in you that feels like you may give up one day, then you can never be 100% about your dream and career. I believe everyone should have a shot, but you need to give it your all.

3. Even though you know how to sing, you should still take voice lessons. As a singer, your voice is your instrument and you can’t afford to lose or damage it. I wish someone would’ve told me that sooner so I could’ve started practicing ways to take care of my voice the past couple of years rather than just starting now, but you have to start somewhere! Take care of your instrument!

4. You need to network as much as you can. In this industry, everything is about who you know and connections. It’s a great way to meet new friends as well and maybe get yourself out of your comfort zone.

5. Allow yourself to make mistakes. You have to remember you’re not perfect and to allow yourself grace when you mess up. That’s how you learn and grow! I used to put so much pressure on myself that when I would mess up it would ruin the whole show for me. I still mess up now sometimes and you just gotta keep going. I don’t care anymore if I mess up words or forget them because I know I’m not perfect and it’s not that big of a deal!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would say for one give yourself a break. I am one that constantly is working and likes to be so busy and stressed and it will cause some burn out. You have to give your body and mind a break to reset and celebrate your hard work. Also, switch up your routine or the way you go about things, like with social media I try to start new series when I start feeling over it. Always keep thinking of new things so you don’t get tired of doing the same ole stuff.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could inspire a movement it would be something along the lines of starting a movement of women that could be a positive influence for younger girls. In a world with social media and having people feel like they can say anything they want about you behind a screen, it can be easy to get lost in what people say about you. I think we need a movement for women to inspire younger women and girls to love who God made them to be and to have them know that it is possible to do anything you want to do and chase your dreams.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I would have to say my mom and dad. Without them and their help, I couldn’t be where I am today. When it came time to make a decision of what my next steps in life would be after graduating high school, they were never pushy towards any idea. I was stuck between college or moving to Nashville to pursue music and I knew that if I moved to Nashville I would not be going to school because I wanted to give it 100%. They would’ve been happy with whatever my decision was, and I ended up choosing Nashville and I don’t regret it. They have always wanted the best for me in everything I do and I don’t know what I would do without them, truly. I am just so thankful to God that He gave me them as my parents.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

As far as a life lesson quote goes, I went and saw a vocal coach named Mama Jan a few years ago after I first moved to Nashville and she told me “Never say no to an opportunity that God has put in front of you.” And honestly, that has really stuck with me! Because sometimes out of fear or laziness it can be easy to say no to something and you are totally missing out on an opportunity that God may have had plans for. There have been many moments where I have thought of that quote and I am so happy I did not turn those opportunities down.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Ah, there are so many people that come to mind.

How can our readers follow you online?

You can find me on Instagram, TikTok and Facebook @charlyreynoldsmusic and on YouTube at www.youtube.com/CharlyReynolds.

Here are my links for you to stream and listen to my music as well.

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/0Qn2b5t1GBKkYDmtORH1Yp?si=6STUo2YERJimTvSZsZ_11A

Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/artist/charly-reynolds/1067463838

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you so much, I appreciate you having me!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group.
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is an Entrepreneur and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. and SEGI TV, a streaming app that showcases niche Film, TV and live sports.