Rising Music Star Damon Sharpe: I would love to inspire a movement to instill confidence and self-love in as many people as possible

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readJul 14, 2020

I would love to instill confidence and self-love into as many people as possible. We all have obstacles and go through hard times but if we believe in ourselves and always push forward we can achieve anything.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Damon Sharpe.

Grammy and ASCAP award-winning producer, songwriter, DJ and recording artist Damon Sharpe is best known for his creativity behind the scenes as a producer working alongside artists such as Jennifer Lopez, Ariana Grande, Pitbull, and Alesso. But what people may not know yet, is that Damon is also focusing on his own music as well, with new unreleased music set to be out in 2020 continuing the transition from “behind the scenes” to in front of them. Furthermore, on the DJ front, Damon has been playing live sets worldwide!

In 2019, Damon had four songs released as an artist via Armada Records; highly acclaimed “Fire & Gold” with Morgan Page & VIVID, which peaked at #7 on US Dance Radio, “When In Rome” with GATTÜSO, which peaked at #6 on US Dance Radio and gained over 23M Spotify streams, “Ghost Ship” featuring Orjan Nilsen, and “Lifetime” with Zonderling and Josh Cumbee. The tracks made a dent in the Sirius BPM, Sirius Chill, iHeart Evolution, Music Choice rotations and received support from Don Diablo, Lucas & Steve, Hardwell, Afrojack, Sam Feldt, Promise Land, Morgan Page, Alexander Popov, Martin Garrix and more.

Damon was born in Cleveland, Ohio and raised in Phoenix, AZ. Driven by his love for music, at 15 Damon’s parents graciously moved to LA so he could pursue his dreams. Damon has contributed many recognizable songs to popular culture and has been involved with the production of various popular albums that cumulatively have sold over 40 million copies. He has worked the likes of Jennifer Lopez, Ariana Grande, Pitbull, Alesso, Kelly Rowland, Kylie Minogue, Big Time Rush, NKOTB, Nelly, Monica, Boyz II Men, Anastacia, New Boyz feat. Iyaz, JLS, Ginuwine, Amerie, American Idol and XFactor alum, The Pitch Perfect Soundtrack, The GRAMMY AWARD-WINNING Chicago soundtrack, Legacy recording artists Natalie Cole, Charlie Wilson, Johnny Gill and New Edition, superstar artists in Japan, Korea and Southeast Asia like SHINee, Kim JaeJooong, 2pm, Got7, SF9, Tiffany of Girls Generation, Boa, Laboum, Kangta, CoCo Lee, Ai, W-inds, T-ara, Kumi Koda, Crystal Kay, B1A4, Jess Lee, Fairies, collaborating in the world of EDM with DJs such as Zonderling, Thomas Gold, DVBBS, Morgan Page, Gattuso, Elephante, Zack Martino, Dave Winnel, KapSlap, Mark Sixma, Ferry Corsten, Alex Mattson, social media influencers Jacob Sartorious, Jordyn Jones, The Martinez Twins, Silento and many others. His songs have been featured in many feature films, television shows and commercials around the world. As an artist, he currently has reached over 1.7 Million monthly listeners on Spotify.

Damon wants to leave a legacy and use music to reach and inspire people. And as his meteoric rise continues to unfold, he’ll be remembered as someone who did just that — pushed boundaries and makes a positive impact on the world.

See Damon’s discography as a producer, writer, and artist on Spotify.

Thank you so much for joining us! Our readers would love to ‘get to know you’ a bit better. Can you tell us your ‘backstory’?

A lot of people don’t know this but I actually started as a dancer. That’s what really sparked my love for music. I moved to Los Angeles and became a working professional dancer. Once I dove into music, dance, acting and the arts I was fortunate enough to start booking gigs and roles immediately. I booked a television show for NBC and became a “Teen Idol” overnight gracing the cover of magazines, complete with a record deal, dolls, lunch boxes, posters and buttons you name it. It came to a crashing halt as quickly as it started though. I literally went from taking photos with Will Smith to 2 years later serving him a Pepsi as a waiter. I am so thankful for that humbling chapter of my life. It really put a fire in me and made me a much more grateful human being. I definitely went through a few dark years after that trying to find my way. Once I found the way back and was fortunate enough to have a second chapter as a producer and songwriter I have not looked back. It makes this new era I am in so much more meaningful and special.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now? How do you think that will help people?

Yes, I’ve got a new single dropping on June 12th called “Let’s Get Real” Damon Sharpe X Raven & Kreyn feat. Alle on Armada Records. It is included on the Armada Unites project that is a movement of DJs coming together during this crisis to bring positivity to the world. My co-writer Alle said this about the lyrics “A deep connection is built on a deeper understanding and trust. Not how many followers you have or what kind of car you drive. It’s important to have lyrics with these kinds of messages. I think that during this Pandemic, these lyrics are given more weight because we now have more time than ever to reflect. We are craving connection and to be close to our friends and loved ones. There is definitely a shift happening in the world right now and people are realizing what’s important and letting the rest fade away.”

The debut episode of my radio show and podcast Damon Sharpe presents Brainjack Radio also premieres June 12th on Insomniac radio and all streaming platforms. It features the hottest new releases, exclusive tracks, interviews and guest mixes from the biggest names in dance music.

These help people because music is therapeutic. It’s an escape. If I can help put a smile on someone's face or get them dancing during these crazy times then I have done my job :)

In your opinion, what do you think makes your music and brand stand out from the crowd?

I try my hardest to create music that is authentic and that creates a call to action to the listener. Music has the power to motivate and inspire.

Ok, thank you for that. I’d like to jump to the main focus of this interview. Has there ever been a time that someone told you something was impossible, but you did it anyway? Can you share the story with us? What was your idea? What was the reaction of the naysayers? And how did you overcome that?

It’s a daily battle, to be honest. Those voices are always there in the back of your mind. You have to fight and resist them. Stay positive and surround yourself with similar minded people.

In the end, how were all the naysayers proven wrong?

I’m still here and in a brand new chapter. I am working diligently everyday to leave a legacy behind. The naysayers only win if you give up! It’s not always about the most talented person. It’s about persistence. Hard work trumps talent all day long in my opinion!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

That is a long list. It takes a village! One of the people who changed my life was Julie Renn. She took me from an introverted 14-year-old kid to a confident and outgoing go-getter. Not only visually helping transform me but by teaching me the art of dance and musicality. She truly helped me come out of my shell. Instilling work ethic and drive into my everyday routine. So much love and appreciation for her.

It must not have been easy to ignore all the naysayers. Did you have any experiences growing up that have contributed to building your resiliency? Can you share the story with us?

There is always someone waiting to happily say no to ideas and dreams. We must ignore the negativity and embrace the positive. I always tell people if this is what you truly love to do then any battle is worth fighting. As I said earlier in the interview my experience as a teenage pop star could have very easily been my demise. So many naysayers along the journey expressing jaded advice to turn back. I am proof that anyone can make it. There was a point in time when I was interning at a recording studio cleaning toilets and scrubbing floors. Not my dream job but I never let it deter me. I happily paid my dues and continue to do so no matter what level of success I achieve.

Based on your experience, can you share 5 strategies that people can use to harness the sense of tenacity and do what naysayers think is impossible? (Please share a story or an example for each)

  1. Don’t take no for an answer. My first hit as a songwriter was Jennifer Lopez’s “Love Don’t Cost A Thing.” That song was passed on by over 15 different labels before finding a home.
  2. Never operate from a place of fear or pride. For the longest time, I felt like my window as an artist was closed. Once I got past my fear and foolish pride I started releasing music as an artist again. In 2019 I had 2 top 10 dance radio hits and achieved millions of streams on Spotify!
  3. Outwork them! When you see someone with more talent or skills than you do not let it discourage you. Let it motivate you to work harder.
  4. What’s on their plate, let them have it. Be patient. There will come a time when those same people you admire will look at what you are achieving and want what you have.
  5. Think long term but take it one day at a time. This may sound like a contradiction but in practice, it really helps me achieve benchmarks. I set long term goals to achieve but never let a single bad day take me off the course of the final destination I am trying to achieve. Slow and steady wins the race!

What is your favorite quote or personal philosophy that relates to the concept of resilience?

With every no, you are that much closer to a yes!

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I would love to instill confidence and self-love into as many people as possible. We all have obstacles and go through hard times but if we believe in ourselves and always push forward we can achieve anything.

Where can our readers follow you on social media?

@damonsharpe on all platforms!

Thank you for these great stories. We wish you only continued success!

Thank you! I’m blessed to do what I love for a living and to have a platform to help inspire and motivate!

--

--