Rising Music Star Dan Reardon On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
6 min readMay 22, 2023

--

I attribute my success to everyone who I’ve interacted with along the way, especially in the music industry. As you know there are constant ebbs and flows in life, especially in music, but experiences, criticisms and interactions have made me a better musician, songwriter and person. I also have to give my parents the utmost credit, b/c they’ve always instilled in me to never settle in life.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Dan Reardon.

Dan is a long time educator from Long Island, NY whose latest roles consist of school principal and adjunct professor. Dan has spent years in the education industry as a Spanish teacher, Assistant Principal, Principal and Adjunct Professor in the Graduate Education Department teaching aspiring administrators. Dan also holds four degrees inclusive of two Bachelor’s degrees and two Master’s degrees. While earning his first degree in Business Management from Franklin & Marshall College in PA, he also played collegiate basketball for a nationally ranked team and was a member of the Phi Kappa Tau Fraternity. Throughout his educational career and years of schooling, Dan has always had a passion and affinity for music. After college, Dan joined a local rock band called Soundside, learning to play the guitar “by ear” and having never taken a lesson before. As a member of the rock band, Dan co-wrote 5 full length LP’s, played over 1000 shows and also opened for The Tubes, The New York Dolls, Days of the New, and Berlin.

Shortly after Dan’s stint with the band, he performed as a solo act on the Steve Harvey show and has had 8 original songs placed on TV. He has also played venues such as the Carrier Dome (Syracuse University), the Bitter End, Knitting Factory, and Hard Rock Cafe among other world-renowned venues. Dan’s latest musical passions have found him transforming his writing and musical inspiration to country music as integrated into his youth. As a country artist, Dan has released 5 original songs to date, amassing millions of streams and views. His latest project offers the services of A-list musicians as well as A-list producer Jimmy Ritchey. Dan has worked with Danny Rader (Kenny Chesney, Keith Urban), Shannon Forrest (Toto) and several other grammy-award winning instrumentalists on the last body of work. Dan writes all of his own music and lyrics except for those that are co-written with alternate purpose. He most recently released his single Honky Tonk Bar and has co-written a song called “Bright Side” with A-list writer Andy Albert, who has several #1 hits with relevant country artists (Mitchell TenPenny, Tim McGraw, Dustin Lynch, Dan & Shay, etc.).

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit about your “origin story”. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small-suburban town on Long Island, NY as a student-athlete who obviously loved music. While I played football, basketball and baseball in high school, I also sang in the chorus and played in the jazz band as well. I’ve always been well-rounded and have enjoyed many passions.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

As someone who has always been drawn to music, I really fell in love with writing and performing after college when I formed a rock band with an old buddy. I had always grown up with music in life as both of my parents loved to listen to music and sing.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I mean there have been so many things and experiences along my career path that have been amazing it’s hard to pin-point one. Perhaps it was playing in front of 20,000 fans at the Carrier Dome at Syracuse University, or performing on the Steve Harvey Show in front of a million viewers. It’s hard to pin-point one, but I’m grateful for all of the experiences that have led me here. I also haven’t mined playing some good ol’ country music down on Broadway once in a while, Nashville that is.

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Gosh, I think my confidence has come along way with performing in front of people. There’s always the occasional mishap on stage, but nothing is words than forgetting the lyrics to your own songs on stage, especially at a songwriter showcase or festival, it’s dreadful lol…

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I attribute my success to everyone who I’ve interacted with along the way, especially in the music industry. As you know there are constant ebbs and flows in life, especially in music, but experiences, criticisms and interactions have made me a better musician, songwriter and person. I also have to give my parents the utmost credit, b/c they’ve always instilled in me to never settle in life.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Surely, how about this, “impossible is for the unwilling”. Short and sweet, oh yeah and It’s all over my left forearm. I’m a dreamer, I always have been, it’s a reminder to me to never give up. Those that possess those two qualities, will eventually succeed.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m super excited because I just finished up 5 songs with producer Jimmy Ritchey (Sam Hunt, Jake Owen, Joe Nichols, Mark Chesnutt, Clay Walker, etc..) and had some monster session musicians play on the record as well. The music came out great and I’m stoked on the old-school traditional country production. It’s my sweet spot.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film, and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Gosh, of course, while much of my writing consists of personal experiences (which has also been diverse), I think we need to speak and relate to all types of people. Music feeds the soul and I think the more-open minded we can be, the more we will be able to relate to others.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Music is an expensive passion.
  2. Just because one person doesn’t like your music, doesn’t mean that others won’t.
  3. Success is what you deem it to be.
  4. Someone, somewhere will connect with your music.
  5. You’d better have a side hustle.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

The music industry can be extremely fast-paced and it could also be slow. Take it in stride and treasure the small victories.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Kindness and Being Genuine. It’s way easier to be kind to people and to be who you are then to mask it with facades and to be mean-spirited.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I’m still going to throw it back to Dave Matthews, even though I’m fully-immersed in Country music. He’s a brilliant, talented and quirky guy and he’s the reason I started playing the guitar.

How can our readers follow you online?

Oh for sure, my social handles are @danreardonmusic or you can just google my name! Also my website is danreardonmusic.com

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thanks so much, this was my pleasure!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music