Rising Music Star DJ Ashton On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
8 min readDec 29, 2022

--

Being healthy, exercising, and having a routine. This industry definitely isn’t for everyone and sometimes it consumes them and changes them to who they weren’t before. Regular life is just as important and being the best version of yourself can take you a long way.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing DJ Ashton.

Ashton is an emerging house artist from Chicago bringing a unique style to the electronic music scene. The music he produces ranges from bass, tech, and experimental house. Ashton also switches up the game by showcasing live musicians in his sets, whether it’s a saxophone player or a vocalist. He recently released his debut EP, For The People, a 4-track project that features a diverse range of house sounds. Read our interview to learn more about the talented rising DJ and producer.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in Erie, Pennsylvania. I had a great childhood and still am close to those friends today. My family has been a big support in my life. They have given me the loving and kind personality that I have today. Eventually, I moved to Chicago where I really fell in love with music. I constantly went to shows and eventually fell in love with house music, from there the story began.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I’ve always wanted to play an instrument throughout my life and nothing really stuck. I’ve played the violin, xylophone, and other instruments growing up but I never really fell in love with any of them. The Christmas before Covid my sister bought me a starter deck and I fell in love with it, something finally clicked. That coming weekend I went to a big gathering with a ton of my friends and that was the first time I ever DJ’d in front of anyone. The weekend after that I went to open decks at a local venue in Chicago and I knew this is what I wanted to do.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

It would have to be playing at North Coast Music Festival this year. The reason why it is so wild to me is that the year before I put myself into the voting contest to play the silent disco. Asking people daily to vote for me was something I’d never done before. I ended up coming in fifth place so I didn’t get the chance to play, but it gave me the exposure I needed when I started so I’m thankful for that contest overall. Then this year’s festival happened and I was booked to play the Fire Pit stage. To have that full-circle moment really hit me hard. That experience will be a memory I will never forget.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

During one of my sets my elbow kept hitting the mixer and I couldn’t figure out why my music kept cutting out. I’m not gonna lie, I jump around and have fun during my sets and sometimes my arms flail a little bit. I eventually looked down and realized why this was happening.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Definitely my most recent EP called “For The People”. I’ve been working hard on my craft and really wanted to display what I’ve been working on since my last release “My Mind”. This EP covers a wide variety of house music. When I perform, I want to be diverse in the style and my performance. In this EP I display my taste in bass, tech and experimental house. Also, one song includes my two good friends Saxogene and Qualowkey. Saxogene is a very talented saxophone player and Qualowkey is a vocalist who has more talent than I can even explain. Together on our song “Lose Control”, we combined all of our skills into this one song.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Being unique and different is something that every artist should strive to do. The first is because, within the music industry, a lot of music sounds the same to the listeners. Having a distinct style and range of production allows certain fans to fall in love with your creativity. The second would be true to yourself. Having doubt in yourself can always hold you back from your true potential and no matter what stick to your instincts will always allow you to create the best art you could ever create. The last reason would have to be different because it shows that you really love what you’re doing and people respect that. Having a diverse style can help our culture by pushing the boundaries of music to where it has never been before.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Being healthy, exercising, and having a routine. This industry definitely isn’t for everyone and sometimes it consumes them and changes them to who they weren’t before. Regular life is just as important and being the best version of yourself can take you a long way.
  2. Staying true to yourself no matter what. A lot of people will try to influence you and make you do things that you truly don’t want to do. Trust your gut, be respectful to everyone you meet and just be a good person overall.
  3. Having a good group of people around you is the best thing you can do. I’ve surrounded myself with friends that I call family because they are the most important people to me who support the decisions that I want to make but will always give me the guidance I need.
  4. You don’t have to spend tons of money on lessons, school or even classes to learn production and other things that any artist needs to do. We are blessed with the internet and there are endless tools online to teach you anything.
  5. The last I would have to say is be you, have fun and enjoy the ride. Also this is what you want to do, express your art how you want to and stay true to yourself, never change for anything.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

The best tip I would have to say is to never be too hard on yourself and have fun with what you’re creating. If the song that you’re stuck on for hours because it just doesn’t sound right, move on and make another. That mix that you’re setting up for a show that you just can’t get right, start another. That next song or set you put together could be your best, never stay stuck on something for too long.

You are a person of growing influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Believing in others is something that means a lot to me, I love supporting other artists. Someone once believed in me, I took that opportunity and never turned back. Seeing my friends or artists rising in the scene really makes me happy because everyone once played their first show, released their first song and watching them grow is a beautiful thing.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

For me, there are a few that I’d like to name. The first would be Marco (Castellanos), he is the first person that allowed me to play my first show. He also started a venue called Bass Station which definitely controls the bass scene out in this area. Him and his team started throwing shows with just people showing up to a venue where all that they had was a deck on a table and no promotion. Now they can book the biggest artists in the scene. The vibe they’ve created there is something unique and a place that many call home.

The next would be my manager and best friend Danil (Arefiev). He’s been there from the beginning of all of this. Every show, every situation and every moment since the start he has been there for me. He’s one of the hardest-working people I know and it inspires me to be a better person overall. The way he treats others, the respect he shows to what I want to do and how he presents himself throughout the music scene is something I appreciate beyond comprehension.

The last would be everyone of my friends that I have around me. Yes, it might sound cliche to say that but honestly I couldn’t be blessed with a better circle around me. They all believe in me and I couldn’t ask for a better group to be around. I love you all.

Can you please give us your favorite”Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Be kind, be honest, be loving, be true and all of these things will come back to you. I truly believe in karma and doing good in the world. Being that way is something I strive to do in my daily life. Having this mentality will take you a long way in this world.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I cannot wait to meet Dr. Fresch, he is the reason I wanted to start being an artist. The energy he has and how happy he looks during his shows really inspires me. He just has fun and that’s what I do as well. We get to express our art for everyone to hear and you might as well have the best time doing it.

How can our readers follow you online?

All of my socials are @ashtonthatsme.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.