Rising Music Star Lance Curtis On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

Always keep your head up, and never take a “NO” to heart. For every no, there will be that one yes.

As a part of our series about music stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Lance Curtis.

Lance Curtis makes his return to the spotlight with his roaring new single “Land of the Free.” “Land of the Free” shows Curtis’ talent in a new light, as the track showcases his ability to write and record rock with just as much authority and conviction as he has when singing country. Lance has never been afraid to use parallels about relationships to sculpt his art and “Land of the Free” is no exception, being a tune that expresses an equal infatuation both towards his partner and the home of the brave. Ignoring Curtis’ ability to pick a band would also serve injustice. The hard-hitting drummer and locked-in bassist keep the beat alive and in your face as the guitarist rips a solo that creates nothing short of a complete powerhouse moment. It is clear that all the musicians are well-informed with the style to the point of second nature.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small country town in Arkansas called Batesville. Growing up we didn’t really have a lot of activities to do around town, so I spent all my time in my room writing songs, singing, playing guitar, and just trying to hone in on my craft. When I wasn’t in my room playing music, I was out in the woods hunting deer, turkey, and doing some fishing.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

At the early age of one, music has always spiked an interest in me. My papa and uncle had a classic country band their whole life, so I grew up on stage with them, and the more I did it I fell more in love with it. After my papa passed a few years ago, the band broke up, but I still had the drive to continue and keep pushing forward to further my dreams. That very week, I audition for American Idol in Alabama, didn’t make the cut, unfortunately, but I kept my head high, and my parents said you know what, we’re only a few hours from Nashville. We’re gonna go take a trip for a week to just see it and try to network. So, we went and I don’t know if you would call us ignorant or brave, but we busted up in all major labels trying to figure out how to get discovered. One thing led to another, and we ended up landing some huge meetings that turned out to be very encouraging! Throughout the years we continued to make trips over there for shows, writes, networking, and meetings. Which led to us getting a call from the Grammy-nominated producer Kent Wells about two years ago. I’ve been working with Kent ever since.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

There’s been a handful of things that have happened to us throughout this crazy career but probably would have to be being at the studio recording my new album, and running into Lauren Alaina, and Ricky Skaggs the same day. I thought this is so cool to be in this kind of different environment, that most people never get to experience.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Probably do more research on the venue you’re playing at, so you don’t accidentally book yourself at a nudist colony without knowing it. Oops.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am currently trying to promote and put out the rest of the music off the new album. After a year of being in the studio with some of the top musicians in Nashville, and pouring everything you have into writing and recording, I couldn’t be more excited to get these songs out. Also, I have been very blessed to get to go out on the road this year on a tour bus to help promote this new album! I got to play really cool venues like the Jacksonville Jag stadium, and the White Oak Amphitheater in Greensboro NC. I have also been contracted this year into debuting a new song off the new album at the Ryman Auditorium, which I couldn’t be more excited about. Truly a dream come true!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

I think diversity is a great thing for the entertainment industry on so many levels, but most importantly, I bring different aspects of music to the table that enrich other people’s lives no matter who they are.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. It’s okay to say a bad line in a co-write, not everything you say can be gold.
  2. Always keep your head up, and never take a “NO” to heart. For every no, there will be that one yes.
  3. Never accept “that’s good enough”, always strive to do better.
  4. Where to go, where not to go, who to talk to, and who to stay away from.
  5. Not everyone in the music business will be your friend, even if you work together. Know the difference between a friend and a work acquaintance.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Don’t get stuck in the same place and same circle. Broaden your variety of where you go, so you have the best chance of being discovered.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Start a charity to push research on Alpha Gal, a red meat allergy caused from a tick bite. I was diagnosed when I was nine, and since then millions of others have been diagnosed, and doctors say there is no way of knowing how long it will last, or if all mammals have the disease so you are forced to not eat any red meat. All an Alpha Gal patient can eat is chicken, turkey, and fish. But even with chicken you have to be careful because some places cook in beef fat. The plastic pills you receive at the pharmacy contain gelatin produced by beef. So you really have to watch just about everything or it could be fatal.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I owe all of my success to Debby Cochron and Kent Wells. Debby is a lady from my hometown who has worked with Kent for years and recently recorded a song with the legendary Dolly Parton. Debby used to own a music venue in Arkansas, and she would have my papa’s band play at it for years. So, with the venue being in my hometown, every time they would play there, I would go play with them. For years Mrs. Debby has watched us grow, and when she felt the time was right, she was sweet enough to tell Kent about us. Shortly after we received a phone call from Kent, and he asked to meet with us at the studio. We met for a 30 min meeting that turned into a 3-hour meeting, and the rest has been history ever since. I have been very blessed to work with Kent, he is honest, hardworking, and truly cares about his artist. He has helped me in an abundance of ways!

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“There will always be people who come and go in your life, but God will always be with you.” When times were hard, when friends left you, when you take a blow and hit a brick wall in your music, I am always reminded God has a plan. Things always turn out better than they were when I stick to this.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to sit down with Alan Jackson. I have always looked up to him and his music, and just to sit down even for 5 minutes to pick his brain would be amazing!

How can our readers follow you online?

I’m on Facebook, Instagram, and Tiktok under (lancecurtismusic), I also have music on all major streaming platforms, (iTunes, Spotify, YouTube, Amazon, Google Play, etc.) You can also check out my website at (www.lancecurtismusic.com).

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.