Rising Music Star Megan Burtt On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Music Industry

An Interview With Eden Gold

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine
9 min readAug 26, 2024

--

You don’t need to hide behind people who are more talented than you.

As a part of our interview series with leaders, stars, and rising stars in the music industry, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Megan Burtt.

A few years back, Megan Burtt hit on something that fundamentally changed her approach to songwriting. It wasn’t so much a new method as giving herself permission to get even closer to the truth. In short, she allowed herself to stop dancing around what she really wanted to say.

“I discovered a side of myself that I liked in terms of songwriting,” says the Colorado-based performer, who’s been named a winner at the Kerrville NewFolk Competition and the Rocky Mountain Folks Festival. “Like, ‘Whoa, this is different.’ It’s become a sensibility that I know how to rest in. It’s almost like an instrument in and of itself, like I’m learning how to play my honesty.”

That change is evident on Burtt’s new album Witness, her first solo release since 2015’s The Bargain. The 12-song project had been underway for years, but was delayed by false starts and illness. Burtt also took a hiatus to form the all-redhead roots group Gingerbomb before getting back to her main project. It’s been a long time coming, but it is worth the wait. With Burtt serving as her own producer for the first time, the album showcases a singer-songwriter who has a deep understanding of how to mix serious pop instincts and groove with honest songwriting.

WINNER 2015 Best Singer/Songwriter Westword Music Awards

Finalist 2014 Songwriter Serenade Competition

WINNER SW Region 2011 Mountain NewSong Competition

WINNER 2011 Kerrville NewFolk Competition

WINNER 2010 Rocky Mountain Folk Festival

Finalist 2011 Great American Song Contest

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit about your “origin story”. Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in Denver, CO with a pretty “average white kid” upbringing. Mom, dad, older brother. Girlscout camp. I walked home from school every day. I’m a mountain girl at heart. My parents played a lot of Paul Simon, Eric Clapton, Bonnie Raitt and Ella Fitzerald. I found my voice for music in the Lilith Fair era. The rest, they say…..

What inspired you to pursue a career in music, and how did your journey begin?

It’s been an organic thing. I’ve really just been following the cheese. Songwriting as a way of processing my feelings has always been very natural for me. I can remember writing a song on the piano after a family-member passed away when I was 10 years old. When I was 15 I discovered the guitar. My dad had an old nylon-string guitar in the closet and I asked if we could fix it up. My kinship with guitar was immediate. I started teaching myself chords and writing songs. Then I found out you could go to college for music — so I did that. And then I graduated and didn’t know how to do anything else. I’ve alway been a self-starter and my parents were self-employed, so figuring out how to work for myself never really scared me.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Not sure it’s *the* most interesting, but I’ll share a magical story. I got a call one day to open for a National act in Denver the following day. The show was sold out, the opener slot was a formality — I didn’t even announce or promote it. The VP of the Colorado Symphony Orchestra just happened to be in attendance as a fan of the headliner. He introduced himself to me at the merch table after my set and asked if we could go to lunch the following week. At lunch he said they were working on a show with the CSO and needed an act and thought I’d be perfect for it. Months later my songs were being arranged for the Orchestra and I was buying a fancy dress to be a featured performer. It was a wild and wonderful fairytale story. There’s a video of one of the songs “Anchor” from that evening on my youtube channel.

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I’ve been playing shows every December in the state prisons in PA. The very first show I ever did I was quite nervous. I often play in alternate tunings and while re-tuning my guitar, I broke the “G” string and accidently said over the mic in front of 200 male inmates “Shit, I just popped my g string”. They erupted with laughter. I still hear about it occasionally if someone was at that show — 14 years later! So, be careful what you say into a microphone ;).

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Oh gosh, there are so many. I don’t know if people realize how little it takes to put wind into people’s sails. When anyone just lets me know that what I do is meaningful to them, it gives all of this effort purpose. There have been many people who have hosted me for a show or housed me on the road, or contributed to a crowdfunding campaign. My bandmates… the people who have helped me make my records. I could list everyone. It takes a village to raise someone up. Here’s a quick story: Recently I played a show and received a tip for $521.50 in my venmo from a complete stranger who said that “my expression changes lives”. Little did they know that they changed my life that day. It was an unbelievable act of recognition.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

The last three years have been a decently prolific time for me. I finished an album “Witness” that is being released now, wrote and recorded a second album that will come out in the next couple years, and then started a third album that I’m just finishing up now that will likely come out next year. This is certainly my most prolific season yet so I’m enjoying having lots of new music to share.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in music, film, and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

The arts are a way people feel seen and understood. We need diversity in the arts so that everyone can see a piece of themselves reflected back at them. How horribly lonely this world would be otherwise.

As a successful music star, you’ve likely faced challenges along the way. How do you stay motivated? How do you overcome obstacles in your career?

I have learned that releasing expectations takes the pressure valve off most obstacles. It’s the tight grasp we hold on things that makes everything challenging. It’s an interesting thing — to figure out how to hold on to a dream and motivate towards it while letting go of the way it all unfolds. Ultimately I love the pursuit of the goal and writing songs makes me feel the most like myself, so there’s always motivation to feel like myself.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

1 . You don’t need to hide behind people who are more talented than you.

2 . Learn great book-keeping and accounting and stay on top of it

3 . Take days off to live life. Work isn’t everything and you have a lot of life to work hard.

4 . Get in the habit of practicing 20 min a day.

5 . Create an organized system for a place to put your finished songs. There are pieces everywhere!

Can you share some insights into your creative process? How do you approach songwriting? How do you approach musical collaborations?

I always believe that melody is paramount. Followed by groove (of any kind) followed by lyrics. When you get them all right, you’ve baked a delicious cake. So, I pretty much work in that order. Even when I have a lyrical concept I’m chasing, I need a canvas to put them on, and to me, the canvas is melody.

Your music has resonated with so many fans worldwide. What do you believe sets your music apart?

I really believe in peoples chemistry. That like attracts like. And that the right people will hear and listen and be seen in what I’m doing. I’m just trying to be honest and authentic and trust that people who need to hear and feel what I’m putting out, will.

How do you connect with your audience?

As much as I can, for as long as I’ll be able to — one at a time :). The greatest gift you can give someone is the give of your time.

With your busy schedule and demanding performances, how do you prioritize self-care and maintain a balance between your personal life and career in the music industry?

I’ve faced quite a few health challenges in my life, so self-care is a non-negotiable for me. It’s really like my hobby. I love learning about natural remedies, plant medicine, and different techniques for optimal living and finding ways to implement it into my routine. The cool thing is that because I engage in that lifestyle my body does pretty well when I ask a lot of it — as we do in this industry! I’m always game to geek out about health and wellness. It’s one of my favorite conversations.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I wish natural medicine were more accessible and affordable for artists and creatives. Having experienced its benefits firsthand, I am a strong believer in its ability to promote health and vibrancy. Unfortunately, there is a divide between naturopathic and conventional medical practices. Both are essential, yet natural modalities are often not covered by insurance, making them unaffordable for many who choose a creative lifestyle. I would love to spearhead a movement to ensure creatives have access to a broader range of healthcare options.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to have lunch with my shero Bonnie Raitt. Her career is so inspiring to me. She’s always just been about the music. She’s humble and philanthropic. She’s the most gracious performer I’ve ever seen. And her authenticity has given her longevity in this business. I’d love the chance to tell her how much her music has meant to me.

How can our readers continue to follow your work online?

MeganBurtt.com (Official Website)

Patreon

Spotify

Instagram

Facebook

YouTube

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

About The Interviewer: Eden Gold, is a youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of the online program Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast. Being America’s rising force for positive change, Eden is a catalyst for change in shaping the future of education. With a lifelong mission of impacting the lives of 1 billion young adults, Eden serves as a practical guide, aiding young adults in honing their self-confidence, challenging societal conventions, and crafting a strategic roadmap towards the fulfilling lives they envision.

Do you need a dynamic speaker, or want to learn more about Eden’s programs? Click here: https://bit.ly/EdenGold.

--

--

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine

Youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast