Rising Star Actor Dan Robins On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Be patient with yourself — I am notoriously hard on myself, I would frustrate myself for struggling to learn lines, but guess what happened when I got frustrated…I would struggle more to learn lines! Connecting myself to a sense of calm was the most efficient way to learn.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Dan Robins.

Dan Robins is a British Actor, Writer & Producer. He started his acting career at 26, during the global pandemic, and immediately started making an impact. Booking a variety of feature films, commercials, new media and film productions, he has now worked on over 30 different productions ranging from smaller, low budgets to Hollywood blockbusters.

He has worked as part of Amityville Scarecrow 2 as the lead antagonist, and the core team for Apple TV’s biggest new Mini-series production, Masters of the Air, and is ready to further his career in the acting world with new and exciting projects. Boasting a strong American accent and versatile British accent, he is very adaptable and can deliver what is required of him.

As an Actor with on-set Stage Combat and Stunt experience, he has been shown to be a very dynamic individual. With his style and work ethic, he enhances each Production he is a part of.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I love these ‘origin story’ questions! I had a relatively simple upbringing, from a poor family of three, myself, Mum (Louise) and Dad (Gary), born in the small uneventful town of Hastings, in England. Since the youngest age, I loved getting involved with everything I could, from Football, Swimming, Tennis, Badminton and Judo to name a few. I was always surrounded by lovely friends and family supporting my journey of growth. Cycling in the park was a favourite activity of mine and ‘jumpers for goalposts’ games with my Dad. I was always a bit of an academic as well, in Primary and Secondary school always trying to excel and educate myself further.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

Like a lot of people in the pandemic, I realised how lost I was. It presented an opportunity to reset and discover what I truly loved and what I could wake up being happy to do. After working for an awful boss in my last ‘office job’ I knew I could never put myself through that emotional trauma again, I took my final paycheck and disappeared to Latin America (The best continent on Earth so far in my experience) to find my worth…I needed to explore my creative side and live again, so I decided to build a small fashion business to keep my grandad’s memory alive given his love of fashion as well as Acting to show myself I am capable of showing people the ranges of emotions they had no idea they could tap into.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I love big productions and the opportunity came to be a lead in a Proportions Productions Amityville production. A little over a year before (August 2020) I was on one of their horrors as an extra (I was very inexperienced and honestly awful in my opinion) but somehow I had grown enough as an Actor to book this job in October 2021, I had the privilege of being the lead villain, my dream role, twisted, controlling, powerful and driven…fake blood, cow hearts and fire! What an experience.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

My first ever job, you’re all going to feel better after you read this. I was on a production called Venus Vs Mars, initially as a background character, but as the day went by, they required an Actor with bar experience and I happened to be working for one at the time, so I was selected, then, the moment happened. I was asked to walk around the corner with a bottle crate behind the bar and interact with the lead actress and her co-stars for a drink…As I turned the corner, lifted my head and there it was, my eyes looked down the barrel of the camera lens…my heart was in my mouth, the first take I ever had on camera, I broke the fourth wall. Not ideal! Made worse by the Director then saying ‘Yeah, Dan, we are going to have to reset that’…I wanted the ground to swallow me up!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

There are two I am very excited to be working on, one is a passion project with a close friend of mine, Charlotte Sharland, an award-winning writer for her second series of Ghost Girl. Then a project by yours truly, Dan Robins, I am writing a mini-series for an Action genre concept with a very talented actor co-starring with me, Holly Prentice. These will be the stepping-stone for me, building credibility even further and establishing myself as a serious Actor, Writer & Producer.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Embrace failure, it has become my best friend, I have grown so much because of all the times I have failed…but you only truly fail when you stop trying, my friend and Actor Paul Leon keeps reminding me this if I ever lose my way, and I him! Also, my socials will be here, just message me if you are ever lost or worried!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

This is such an important topic, firstly, we live in a world destined to be inclusive and respectful of other cultures, we need to know that everyone’s beliefs should be valued and heard. Secondly, it encourages people who feel they have never been fairly represented to believe they can achieve, find new role models, grow within themselves, that is a beautiful reason to diversify talent. Another important reason is more diverse storytelling, different cultures experience a whole host of problems, struggles and issues that may not exist in other cultures. It allows for incredible new stories to be told!

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

Get familiar with rejection — Echoed earlier with yourselves, I faced a lot of rejection early on in my first year, I was not sure how to deal with it and it led to a lot of deep, dark, depressive moments but I was grateful I have great family and friends around me to keep me in check.

Cover letters!!! — Each time you apply to a role that resonates to you, absolutely make a short personal comment on the cover letter, your passion could be the difference between being considered or not! I booked a job purely from the connection to a character I had.

Be patient with yourself — I am notoriously hard on myself, I would frustrate myself for struggling to learn lines, but guess what happened when I got frustrated…I would struggle more to learn lines! Connecting myself to a sense of calm was the most efficient way to learn.

Your co-stars make your experience — when I booked my first role, I was not sure what to expect or how to approach it, but my co-stars took me under their wings and we all raised each other up to bring the best out of our performances, it is quite beautiful!

TAKE TIME OFF!!! — I had worked on a project most of 2021 for Apple TV without much of a break and it was a bad decision, I had been so tired, mentally and physically, I started to struggle to get out of bed, this is not healthy! Take time for yourself, recovery is just as important as working.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I am using three methods in my ‘burn out’ checks now, given recent work revelations from the recent Apple TV productions, I look at myself weekly, internally, seeing where my head is at and how I feel in myself. I have close Actor friends who can directly understand my mind and determine how I am acting with them. Finally, I am forcing myself to only accept work that helps me grow as an Actor, my mental space is freed up for positive and challenging roles which encourage brain usage not deterioration.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Honestly, the fair treatment of men, appreciating men’s mental health and the incredibly high suicide rates (over 75% of all suicides in the UK are men), body image for men and men deserving to be loved not for what they provide but more importantly for who they are.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I could not possibly say just one, Ed, my best mate from Hastings, keeping me level, Mum and Dad, giving me so much support, now encouraging me to follow my goals, Paul & Drew, passionate friends of mine who are professional Actors take the time to understand my struggles in my person and professional life, my friend and photographer, Emily Dews Photography, reminding me I don’t look ‘that bad’. Honestly, so many people can and deserve to take credit for who I am trying to be a part of the success I achieve in some way.

Can you please give us your favourite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

We live in a world full of hate and pain, be the person that supports those around you and celebrates others' success. — This reminded me that we should all celebrate each other’s successes, the world needs this sorely.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Oh yes! Andrew Scott, I admire how he creates a character and constructs a story from mere lines, I have never been captivated on a monologue before, however, him in Sherlock the BBC TV show…wow! Plus he seems reserved and easy going, suits me perfectly!

How can our readers follow you online?

A variety of ways! Twitter — @DanRobinsGB / Instagram — @DanRobinsGB / Facebook — @DanRobinsActor

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.