Rising Star Actor & Producer Jf Davis On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

Treat everyone with respect. I was lucky that I was brought up this way so it came easy for me, but I have witnessed people who may look down on a PA or Craft service person for example. For one thing, that is just not right for another thing, in this business; that could be your next producer or director, think about that! Don’t try to feel like a star; don’t use others to make yourself feel special, you are special and so are they!

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Jf Davis.

Jf Davis is an actor, producer and director, born and raised in a small town in Maine. Jf started his career rather late compared to many in the business. He has been married for 26 years to his wife Rosana and they have two sons. Jf calls himself a blue-collar actor. He has been acting in movies, television and commercials for the past 30 years and has had been seen in hit movies like, “Windtalkers”and “American Assassin” as well as on many top TV shows ranging from “The West Wing”, “Grey’s Anatomy”, to “13 Reasons Why”, “Castle”, “SWAT”, “Lethal Weapon” and the list goes on. Jf is currently in the process of producing and directing a horror film “The Demons Within”.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small town in Maine. Just your typical kid, doing all the basic things from High School Basketball, amateur boxing, racing stock cars, riding motorcycles and snowmobiles. I worked on a farm, in a grocery store and as an electrician.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I was watching TV one day and saw a girl that I had done a play with, she was starring in a soap opera. I said if she can do that so can I. So at this time, I owned my own business, a little health and exercise store, I sold everything and headed to Hollywood.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The most interesting thing that has happened to me is the fact that I had to find a way to support my career and my family while getting into the business. Growing up in a small town, I was very handy so I became a handyman on the side. As a Hollywood Handyman, I began working for some famous people. The people that I wanted work with as an actor, I was fixing their homes.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

One of my early auditions was for a show called “Sinbad”, I hustled my way in because I heard they were looking for a young actor like myself, a cross between Errol Flynn and Kevin Kline, I said to myself, that’s me. I got into the audition, nailed it, and was called back in to read for the producers. Well, I was pretty green as an actor and very excited to be reading for the lead in a show that was already sold, what an opportunity. I got into the office and the casting director said, just do what you did for me. Well I started reading, and I stumbled a bit on the words, nerves got to me. Being so new to acting and being my first really big audition, my mouth dried up, my temperature rose and I completely fell apart, and blew my chance at early stardom!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects, you are working on now?

I just finished shooting an amazing little film that I star in called “The Hard Goodnight”, kind of a Neo Noir Modern Western. Very excited to share that when it is finished. In addition, I am about to make my directorial debut with “The Demons Within” a fun little modern day “Exorcist” with an amazing cast. It is a modern day “Exorcist” with an amazing cast that includes Rebekah Kennedy, Yan Birch, Vincent M. Ward, Felissa Rose, Elizabeth Small and Alishia Seaton. Right now, we are in the final funding stages and plan to shoot in the spring. Visit our Indiegogo Campaign bit.ly/thedemonswithin.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

My best advice for anyone seeking a career in the entertainment industry, may it be as talent or crew, is to know that it is more hard work than glamour. You have to be 100%committed to it, if you do not feel that it is your only career path, than it may not be for you. You really have to have a passion for it and know that it is a long-term plan, very few people become stars, your goal should be to get to a point where you can make a living doing what you love, anything more is icing on the cake!

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it is important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

I think film should be a representation of life and the world around us, so yes diversity is important. It is important to tell stories that can include everyone so that people of all cultures and races can identify. But, Films also need to be cast according to according to story, era and cultural settings, which in turn will sometimes leave someone out, but we also can’t force the situation just to be inclusive. Films need to be representing reality.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. You need to be patient. We all get excited when starting something new and go at it all gung ho diving in halfcocked and making mistakes. My example of the audition earlier is a perfect example. But at least try to learn from the mistakes that you make!

2. Treat your career as a business; it is called show business after all. I learned from trial and error how important it is to treat your career as a business, from getting the proper headshots, to reading up and studying your craft, to working on your craft whenever possible, keeping track of everything. Keep a journal, or appointment book where you keep track of appointments, expenses, travel, parking fees, etc…You never want to be late or miss anything. Also, you need to know what you can use when tax season comes. I had a commercial that ran quite a bit and the company was not taking out the proper taxes, come tax time, it cost me!

3. Treat everyone with respect. I was lucky that I was brought up this way so it came easy for me, but I have witnessed people who may look down on a PA or Craft service person for example. For one thing, that is just not right for another thing, in this business; that could be your next producer or director, think about that! Don’t try to feel like a star; don’t use others to make yourself feel special, you are special and so are they!

4. Work, work, work to learn. Every opportunity you get to work, whether it be an audition, a commercial or a student film, low budget film project or a big TV show or feature. Take that opportunity to work on your craft, to hone your skills and to learn. The best way to get better at anything you do is practice, and the best practice you can get is actual work, perform any opportunity that you get. If you can afford to work for free, do not hesitate, especially if it is a good project. The money will come. Early on I missed out on some projects because I could not afford to work for free, that’s different, but I feel that I should have found a way, so my advice is, find a way.

5. Have Faith, and believe in yourself. If you don’t have faith and truly believe in what you are doing or what you are capable of doing, how can you expect the people who want to hire you to believe in you? Trust in yourself, no one else knows you like you do!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”

It’s a long haul so the best thing to remember is that with the good, there may be some bad. There are slow times but find ways to keep yourself active so when opportunity comes along, you are ready for it.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I wish I did have some influence! I would try to help end hunger in America. In a country this wealthy, the wealthy need to be more appreciative for the fact that this country made them rich, the people of this country are basically good people but greed is the biggest plague we face. Someone recently asked me if I was going to be a billionaire, I looked at them and with all honesty said, I could never be a billionaire because I would give it away. How much does one person need? It would be nice to not worry about paying my bills, but other than that, I would love to help others. I would try to be the example and hopefully, that would make a difference.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I would have to say my wife is that person for me. My parents were very supportive when I decided to leave a small town for the big city and that was important because that was a big move. Then early on in my career or before I even had a career, I got married and had my boys, and my world changed. Even though it was not easy, it was my wife who continued to give me the support and encouragement that was needed to support a family and continue to chase my dream. Never once, no matter how tough it got, did she ask me to give up.

Can you please give us your favorite” Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

No need to worry about what you can’t control

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to sit down with Gary Oldman, I would love to talk about the roles that he has played, his process and just about the business in general. His characters are some of the best in the business and probably he would be the actor that I feel that I am most similar with and the career that I would love to have.

How can our readers follow you online?

Follow me on all social media @jfdavisactor, FB: Jf Davis Actor, My movie @demonwithin1, FB: The Demons Within

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you for having me, I really appreciate your time.

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.