Rising Star Actor & Writer Matt Hookings On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Be prepared to give up everything — I had to sacrifice so much that I wasn’t prepared for. Friends, relationships, time with family, fun, hobbies. I gave up everything to focus on this career and it was needed to get me to the stage that I am currently at.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Matt Hookings.

Rising star Matt Hookings is a Welsh-born Actor and Writer. Matt plays the title role of Jem Belcher in Prizefighter: The Life of Jem Belcher, starring Russell Crowe, Ray Winstone and Marton Csokas. Matt is an avid boxing fan. His father was British Heavyweight Champion David ‘bomber’ Pearce. His company Camelot Films is an award-winning production company based in London and Malta. Matt graduated with a Bachelor Honours in Film and Acting at the University of Winchester. He began his career as a stunt performer working with top talents such as Angelina Jolie and Tom Cruise.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a town called Newport in Wales, UK. My mum was a cleaner and my father was a professional boxer who became the British Heavyweight Champion in 1983. My dad passed away when I was 11 due to boxing-related injuries. After what happened to my dad I knew boxing would not be the path I wanted to take. We lived below our means and struggled to afford anything. This was until my mum met my step dad which meant we were able to move to a nice neighbourhood and a different school for me. I loved school and being surrounded by my friends every day, but I was naughty and often got into trouble. I was a class clown but I loved to learn and create. I stayed at school until the age of 18 and then went to University in England to study Film and Drama at the University of Winchester.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I watched the classic cult horror film Chucky when I was 6 years old (not advised) which caused terrible nightmares. I wasn’t actually allowed to watch it but I would sneak downstairs and turn on the TV late at night. To combat the nightmares I started watching happier films before sleeping every night. This eventually stopped the nightmares from happening but it meant I would rely on watching something every day to help me sleep. This is how I became hooked and fascinated with films from a young age. I would watch a new film every night and become fascinated, particularly with the old classical Hollywood genre.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Playing a younger version of Michael Caine and working directly with him. It was a wonderful experience that I will never forget. I learnt the way he walked 50 years ago, his physical traits, and his mannerisms. I digested every film and interview he’s done. It was the first time I studied and embodied another living person… who happens to be a living legend!

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Well, I wish all mistakes were funny. It would make them easier to laugh about later on. I have made lots of mistakes but I am grateful for them because I have learnt and grown from every single one. A funny one that I remember is peeing in a toilet in between Brad Pitt and Michael Fassbender, not knowing who they were because they were dressed in costume and the toilet was small and relatively dark. I was hired for a very small part in a film that I knew nothing about. When I arrived I was busting for a pee so ran straight to the toilet of this bar that we were filming in. I quickly squeezed between the 2 men because I couldn’t hold it any longer. A huge sense of relief before realising brad Pitt was standing to the left of me and Michael Fassbender to the right.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am currently writing my next project which is a true story about an American police officer who was also working alongside the Mafia during a very textured time in American history. It’s big and requires a major streamer/studio to help it get made.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Never ever ever give up. It’s the only words that will guarantee you won’t fail in the end, but be sure that you will fail along the way. You need to prepare your mind that you will fail but the failures cannot lead to quitting. No one will make your dream come true unless you are incredibly lucky so don’t ever leave your dreams in the hands of others. The film industry is tough and you have to be incredibly resilient because almost everyone will tell you no or tell you can’t do it. You have to have the passion to do this if you want to thrive in this industry. If you don’t have the passion then you might as well stop now and do something else. This industry is extremely tough and unforgiving.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

It’s very important that EVERYONE is included and represented in the industry. There are so many talented and diverse people in the world who are not given the opportunity to shine. If diversity is represented across the board then it will have a global benefit on the industry and it will bring attention to a wider demographic. A close friend of mine is involved in a new company called The Outlyer Group which is supported by Chris Martin from Coldplay. Their mission is to enable the industry differently which drives inclusion and opportunity for disabled/differently-abled talent, specifically focusing on inclusion in the creative industry. It’s really impressive what they are doing. Check them out at https://www.theoutlyergroup.com/

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

I have listed 3 extremely important ones which are important to me.

  1. It’s a business. Treat it like a business — Sadly for most people in the industry, the ART comes second. I believed the artistic nature of the industry would be the most important aspect (and I still believe it should be) but for many, it’s not.
  2. Be prepared to give up everything — I had to sacrifice so much that I wasn’t prepared for. Friends, relationships, time with family, fun, hobbies. I gave up everything to focus on this career and it was needed to get me to the stage that I am currently at.
  3. Try to get financial support before you start — With this help you can completely focus on your craft without the distractions of working a side job to pay bills. If help is available then absolutely take it! You have to be prepared all the time for the right moment or audition or meeting. The best way to prepare is if you have the time and freedom to focus on the work at hand.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Pray that you get lucky, but if you don’t, then learn to look after yourself with self-care and self-love. You will work long hours and have an unbalanced lifestyle. Find a pattern that works for you that keeps your body and mind healthy. Go to the gym, have regular massages if you can, eat well, and surround yourself with people who love you and will be there to support you when it gets hard.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

People need to come together on a global scale. All people, not just one particular race or group. We need a movement of all people that creates a unity of love and respect for each other. I know that might seem impossible but I believe it can happen… one day.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have been unfortunate in this sense. There are lots of people I am grateful for who helped me in small doses, but I had to go through the ropes and learn everything about the industry myself. I didn’t have family or friends in the industry I could turn to for help or guidance. It meant the struggle was harder for me and I had to go the long road but I am grateful for that because it taught me so much in a short space of time. It has also given me enormous confidence in my ability and art. It meant I was in control of my own destiny and didn’t need to rely on anyone else. However, one person who was integral in getting Prizefighter made was Steve Dent. Steve is a stunt coordinator who stuck his neck out and sent the script to Ray Winstone and Russell Crowe’s team which eventually meant they would join the project and get the movie made. I am forever indebted to Steve for trusting me and believing in me when the time was right.

Can you please give us your favourite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Passion and Persistence — These words have been relevant to me in my career and life for a very long time. Passion gives you the heart to believe in something that you want to achieve. Persistence means you will keep going and never give up. The two words sing well when put next to each other and have a powerful message behind them.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Martin Scorsese. His work is my favourite. He knows how to pick the right stories and bring them to life in the most entertaining fashion. His taste is impeccably similar to what I gravitate towards and hope to make in the future. Martin would have gathered so much life experience and wisdom that I would soak up and digest. We might need longer than breakfast, I would sit and listen to him for as long as I could.

How can our readers follow you online?

My Instagram handle is mhookings

My Twitter handle is MattHookings

My production Company is called CAMELOT FILMS and is active on all social media platforms. Our website is www.camelot-films.co.uk for all news and updates on our projects.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.