Rising Star Alexandra Spieth On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Be easy on yourself. The industry breaks your heart. You could always jump higher, dance faster, throw yourself through more and more hoops, but sometimes you have to just be proud of who you are. Of what you did and what you made even if no one thinks it’s as special as you do. You are amazing.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Alexandra Spieth.

A graduate of Carnegie Mellon University, Alexandra Spieth has acted in over 20 professional productions, including work at Irondale Ensemble, Everyman Theatre, and NYC’s The Public Theatre. Her most recent work includes BRIC TV’s original series, “86’d”, a dark comedy she developed and starred in. She’s the creator of the original series “[Blank] My Life”, which spans 4 seasons. Her feature debut horror-comedy “STAG” will premiere at the 2022 Brooklyn Film Festival. She is currently working on her next screenplay, “Immaculate,” that explores sexuality, religion, and gender roles.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thanks for having me! I was raised in Nashville, Tennessee. My mom worked as a Methodist minister, and my father was in business, so my sister and I spent many afternoons in boardrooms and sanctuaries playing pretend. As long as I could remember, I wanted to be an actor, so I was constantly in plays, musicals, and camps all over The South. Eventually, I went to college at Carnegie Mellon University and pursued a BFA in acting.

Since my 20s, I’ve lived in New York where I’ve worked as a filmmaker, actor, director, teacher, waiter, telemarketer, babysitter and millions of other occupations. Currently, I am about to debut my horror-comedy feature, STAG which I wrote and directed at the 25th annual Brooklyn Film Festival in June.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

After college, I was struggling to find acting work, and I started writing my own material. Eventually, I created and wrote the series “Blank My Life” (which spans four seasons) and “86’d” (Executive Produced and funded by BRIC TV in Brooklyn). Through the filmmaking process, I grew more and more passionate about helming the worlds I was creating.

After writing and producing projects for years, I began directing for others and discovered I loved being the creative head for a project. Being the director FINALLY allowed me to own my own work, and I’m excited to see where it takes me. I make movies about gender, sex, religion, and ambition.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The most surprising aspect of filmmaking has been how incredibly generous communities are to indie movie-makers. One time, my team and I were filming in below-freezing weather in a small town in Pennsylvania. The team and I were huddled together for body heat, and stuffing toe-warmers in our boots. Then, a man pulled up in a truck and brought us hot chocolate to warm up. He revealed he was mayor of the town and let us warm up in his personal headquarters for as long as we needed.

Every time I’ve ever filmed, some story like this has happened: Where my team and I witnessed the kindness of strangers. It’s the people who open doors, let you film, and are excited to be a part of the movie. I hope to be able to collect these experiences as I grow as a filmmaker.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Probably when I tried to guess Ari Aster’s email address to ask him out. Or when I cold emailed Josh Gad to be an executive producer on my low-budget web series. Or when I asked agencies to send me out for a role, and they were like, “We literally don’t represent or know or like you stop emailing us”. It’s been a long ride, folks!

It’s all pretty embarrassing looking back at my history, but as they say, “If you don’t ask, you’re lazy.” I’ve pretty much always lived like that. It’s always worth an ask.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m beginning the festival circuit for my debut horror-comedy feature Stag which is about an urban loner who must fight for a second chance at redemption when she’s invited to her estranged BFF’s bachelorette party. The film examines themes of gaslighting and assault in a hyper-girly background. Our team boasts a female camera team and a majority female acting cast and producing team. We’re premiering at Brooklyn Film Festival and then Female Eye in Canada.

Currently, I’m writing my follow-up feature Immaculate about a stoner GameStop employee who discovers she will birth the second coming of Christ in the year 2027 A.D. Themes include faith, inclusion, and romance. I plan to film this movie in Nashville.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Honestly, it’s always scary. When I filmed Stag, I had produced upwards of 30 shorts and webisodes, and I was sick with nerves before shooting. Even though I have built teams and made content for years, I always get scared that I’m going to make something horrible.

For me, I insist on having a few people in the room who a). Have my back one hundred percent and b). aren’t afraid to fight me when I’m wrong. These people are my brain trust; they love the project and me. There are always going to be tough moments in filmmaking, but when you have a few people who you know you can rely on, the darkness gets less scary. For me, safety comes from those who will tell me the truth no matter what.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

1). As Viola Davis said, “I think sometimes you have to see a physical manifestation of your dream”, and I couldn’t agree more. Representation is sorely lacking in this industry, and it’s one of the biggest issues to be addressed by filmmaking. Movies like Black Panther are amazing not only because of the filmmaking excellence but because the world is like someone’s wildest dream of how black bodies and talents could be represented and honored. It feels like such a special movie because it’s not just a film. It’s a prayer, it’s a dream, it’s the future. I hope for more stories like that.

2). Body representation is still so lacking. It changes young people’s lives when they see actors/performers with acne, fat rolls, and lisps. So much of the filmic representation is so limited that I understand how children and adults would never feel worthy of being on the big screen. This is something I seek to combat. Diversity should be seen.

3). For my debut feature, Stag, the content was about female friendship and assault. With this in mind, I felt strongly that we should have a majority female team and a female cinematographer. I believed the female actors would feel more comfortable with their bodies and emotions knowing a female director and cinematographer was capturing them. While this representation element existed behind the camera, I believe for this story it allowed all of us on the team to do our best work. Representation allows artists to feel safe.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1). Don’t try to be perfect. For years I was starving, nervous, thin, good at acting and not booking. I tried to be perfect and I was taking away bits and bits of what makes me actually cool. I weigh 30 more pounds than I did two years ago, and I’m not going back. Be yourself.

2). Have friends who have nothing to do with your career. Not everyone is gonna stay forever and sometimes people come and go. Have a few good friends who will be there whether the movie flops or fights. Have a few friends who love you just for you. You are a person first.

3). Things don’t have to be the way they always have been. There are a lot of industry “rules” but I think all that stuff is mostly useless and people should just make brave awesome art and hope for the best. Rules are made to be broken. Go change the world.

4). Try new stuff. Write, marry, divorce, date, be single, direct, quit, get a zen garden, apply for reality TV, take the LSAT, pick up a guitar, take a temp job, take a permanent job, travel, stay in one place, screw, fight, fester, throw on a re-run, make a new app, break a vase, break a rule. See what you like.

5). Be easy on yourself. The industry breaks your heart. You could always jump higher, dance faster, throw yourself through more and more hoops, but sometimes you have to just be proud of who you are. Of what you did and what you made even if no one thinks it’s as special as you do. You are amazing.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Honestly, you will burn out. That’s the sick truth. If you make something you care about, you will burn out. There’s sorta no way to avoid it, so just be nice to yourself when it happens.

However, I always advise having 2–3 people on your brain trust who will step up to the plate when you falter. Everyone needs a night/day/week off sometimes, and you need a few people around you who will cover for you when that’s happening. Build up your trust with your direct reports, so that they can take over when you need a break.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I’m going to cast unknown performers who can change the idea of what a “movie star” look like. The mainstream cinema diet of clear skin and full hair and unachievable body standards is killing filmmaking. Movies need to star regular people.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

BRIC TV in Brooklyn gave me my very first contract job. They asked me to write and develop a web series that they funded in 2019. At the time, I had no idea how on earth I was going to make another project, and this incredible Brooklyn institution gave me the resources and money to make “86’d” happen. I am so incredibly indebted to the BRIC TV team and hope to be able to share any success with them.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Be Generous”. Speaks for itself. Be generous. Be generous. Be generous.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Jordan Peele. Boston Rob Mariano. Cirie Fields. Chelsea Peretti. Jack Nicholson. Al Pacino. Lupita Nyong’o. Amy Sedaris. Jeff Probst. Jason Blum. Viola Davis.

But if I had to choose just one: Madonna Ciccone.

How can our readers follow you online?

Alexandraspieth.com! Or @mynameisalexs or @blankmylife on Instagram.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

Thank you very much for sharing my story.

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.