Rising Star Amber Wang On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readMay 23, 2024

…I think the importance of diversity in the film or television industry is that it provides a broad vision and helps us to see the world rather than through a narrow lens. When people see themselves represented on screen, it validates their existence and contributes to a greater sense of belonging and identity. Besides, it enriches the storytelling; it not only broadens the creative landscape but also appeals to a wider audience. Diversity can challenge stereotypes and offer fresh, nuanced takes on traditional stories, making them more engaging and relatable…

We had the pleasure of interviewing Amber Wang. Born in Luoyang, China, she grew up as a very gifted basketball player. At age 14, she won a national-level championship as part of her local basketball team. A year later, she moved to the United States to further her education. Amber enrolled at Calvary Chapel Christian School and later moved on to Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, PA, though she left early to move back to China, where she established an English training center, Warrior Education, at age 19. After spending time running Warrior Education, Amber decided to return to the States to finish her education at Penn State University and graduate. While attending college, she struggled with mental health, as many international students do, but with the help of friends and resources at the university, she found herself in a better place. Amber uses her platform as an international model to highlight the struggles of international students and advocate for mental health globally.

In addition to her modeling career, Wang is currently attending law school. In June 2023, she tied the knot with Michael Gronager, CEO of ChainAnalysis, wearing a custom AKNVAS dress. Now, she can be seen exploring the next phase of her career in her first acting role in the film #MODELS WANTED, which will be hosting its premiere screening this May in NYC. When Amber is not on the set of a shoot or working on new projects, you can find her at the gym, cooking, doing makeup tutorials, and spending time with her husband Michael.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born in Luoyang, China, a city renowned for its peony flowers and rich history. At the age of 13, I moved to Los Angeles, where I attended high school. Those years became some of the happiest memories of my life. Afterward, I attended Penn State University and post-graduation, I split my time working between New York and Miami.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

One day, while shopping at the mall with a friend, I was discovered by a representative from Barbizon Modeling Agency.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

An unforgettable experience was shooting a commercial at the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale. We had various themes such as a bridal party, a Barbie theme, walking the dog, and an after-party. It was incredibly fun changing outfits and recreating significant moments. This shoot made me appreciate how commercials can remind people of joyful times and inspire them to create more happy memories.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

At the start of my career, I often posed with an angry expression, thinking it added a cool edge. However, this led friends to believe I was always upset. I soon realized that authenticity and embracing my natural smile was key. This was a humorous yet insightful part of my journey, teaching me the value of being myself.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

My upcoming movie, “Models Wanted,” is set to premiere on May 18th, 2024.

As a rising star, you’ve likely faced challenges along the way. How do you stay motivated and overcome obstacles in your career?

A quote that always resonates with me is, “Stay as positive as you can,” by Maye Musk.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

I think the importance of diversity in the film or television industry is that it provides a broad vision and helps us to see the world rather than through a narrow lens. When people see themselves represented on screen, it validates their existence and contributes to a greater sense of belonging and identity. Besides, it enriches the storytelling; it not only broadens the creative landscape but also appeals to a wider audience. Diversity can challenge stereotypes and offer fresh, nuanced takes on traditional stories, making them more engaging and relatable.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Dare to try and express yourself: I feel it is important when you enter a new environment to let people remember you and dare to express yourself. You never know who the person next to you is.
  2. Don’t be afraid to lose face: We improve day by day. Don’t be afraid to lose the opportunity if you feel lost; face it and just go for it!
  3. It is ok to make a mistake: We are all not perfect. It is ok to make mistakes. We learn from our mistakes.
  4. The first time is always hard: The new beginning is always hard because it is a new system and new policy as well as new people. Every small thing matters. Once we start, the rest of the things will be easier.
  5. Try something new: Always try something new. Maybe there is a different side of you that you didn’t know!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them thrive and not “burn out”?

In my approach, I focus on meditation as a way to find inner peace. It’s important not to seek validation or answers from external sources. Instead, the true journey is inward, exploring and understanding one’s own self.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I’m driven to help others overcome depression, a struggle I know all too well from personal experience. Having navigated my own journey to healing, I feel equipped to offer guidance and share insights that can support others in their paths to recovery.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Jorge Duva. I think Jorge discovered me and found the beautiful side of me, trusted me, and gave me belief when I was down. He is and will always be my mentor in my life.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Stay as positive as you can,” by Maye Musk. That is the quote that always supported me when I was down.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US, whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I am a big fan of Afrojack!

How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram: @Amberwangwzy

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator