Rising Star Angelica Alejandro On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readJun 4, 2023

I would have loved if someone gave me a glossary. This would have been really helpful starting out. There are so many acronyms and terms in this industry. Window Shot and Martini Shot, what it means in the industry and filmmaking, is not the first thing that would come to mind to most people.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Angelica Alejandro.

Angelica Alejandro is a fast-rising actor and an award-winning producer, accomplished presenter, reporter and host from Toronto, Canada.

Her first big break came in 2013 when she was cast in the independent film Kung Fu Cops in which she appeared alongside Simu Liu. That same year she booked a role in another independent film Six Degrees Without Separation, an ensemble domestic drama about six seemingly unrelated people who, because of happy accidents, are linked together more closely than they think. Since then, Angelica has amassed an impressive growing body of work in major film and television productions including Dark Matter, Good Witch, Workin’ Moms, Schitt’s Creek, The Handmaid’s Tale and The Boys.

Coming up next, Angelica will be celebrating her biggest role to date as Annette Raleigh in the Toronto Stage Company/Mirvish Production of the highly acclaimed Tony and Laurence Olivier Award winning play God Of Carnage about an altercation that takes placed in a playground between two sets of parents.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Thanks so much for having me! Let’s see growing up I was an only child who loved stories both in print and on screen. I didn’t have siblings but I had a big imagination. I also had the coolest dad who loved films and television shows. His collection was better than a video store, if that gives you some idea. We would spend hours watching together. One of the best memories that I have was I was going to watch a movie in the theatre and I remember lining up for hours with him. I don’t know who was more excited to watch it. Even though he was working the night shift that night and it would mean losing a few hours of sleep, he was determined we would be among the first to see it. It was the best time. We loved it so much that even many, many years later, we would still watch it again and again. We even knew all the dialogue by heart. I was really lucky to have been brought up in a home that encouraged and supported my love of the arts. My parents let me try different things and I am so grateful to them for always encouraging me to be fearless!

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I think like for a lot of people, it takes doing something that you don’t want to do, to make you realize what you do want to do. In my case, it wasn’t so much that I hated my corporate consulting job, or I wasn’t good at it. One day it changed and I wanted to stop putting acting on hold. I wanted to just go all in. I remember talking about it with my dad and though he did worry, as all parents do about finances or not having a back-up plan, he encouraged me. He asked me what I was waiting for. I think at that moment it went from what I am leaving behind to what am I missing out on by not going for it. I have never looked back, it was the best decision and I am grateful every day to be lucky enough to being doing this.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

That is a hard one to pick just one, in this industry you come to realize anything can happen. From booking a dream role to coming close to booking a dream role then watching as it goes to someone else, from being on a project that is a lot of fun to one that is an amazing opportunity but also very challenging or difficult. So interesting story would be booking a role and in the span of one week having to get all my travel vaccinations, brush up on another language and then fly to the other side of the world to shoot for three weeks. Every time I think back to it, I remember being so physically exhausted, but you couldn’t wipe the smile from my face. It was such a crazy schedule, some interesting locations and I loved every minute of it. Oh yes and I got to ride a motorcycle!

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

The first time I used a teleprompter, it was a comedy of events. I had gotten the 20 pages that we were going to record the night before. At the fitting I remember hearing we would be prompted. I didn’t know this was in reference to a teleprompter. I learned everything so I could be off-book, because this was very early in my career, my third or fourth booking and I wanted to make a good impression. When I got to the shoot the next day, I quickly learned what they had meant back at the fitting. Even though taking the time to learn everything meant our day went quickly and we were ahead of schedule, it could have easily been a different situation where not asking a question meant putting your safety at risk. I learned that asking a question, especially when you are a new performer is important. To grow you need to learn and each experience teaches you something different.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am so excited to be able to take on the role of Annette in the play God of Carnage — “A comedy of manners without the manners”. God of Carnage has won both a Tony Award for Best Play as well as a Laurence Olivier Award for Best Comedy. This role was originally brought to Broadway by Hope Davis with other notable actors like Annie Potts, Lucy Liu and Kate Winslet also having portrayed this character. God of Carnage runs from May 23–28 at the CAA Theatre, a beloved Mirvish Theatre in Toronto. I can’t wait to step into this same role and for audiences to experience our cast bringing the story to life.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

This question makes me think back to something my dad would tell me over and over again. He would say there are no guarantees and sometimes you think you hear more no’s than yes’s, but you have to try. Follow your hearts passion and put that investment in yourself to try. It will not always be easy, so surround yourself with good people. You have your friends and family and there is also your creative community. A community who inspires, encourages, supports you and who you in turn can do the same for. You’ll find many of the same people collaborate over and over again together. I have been lucky enough to experience this. There is such a great feeling of achieving success together and celebrating together, it is such a wonderful part of this business.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

I have this little phrase I use often when I talk to people, our Real World in the Reel World. It’s important to have stories and see people that you would see in your Real World outside your front door, represented on screen — the Reel World.

So if I were to name three reasons what it is important to have diversity in the entertainment industry, I would say:

  1. Having that representation of stories and people is important in understanding and exploring the world around us.
  2. Diversity allows us to look at who we are, learning and embracing what makes us unique.
  3. Creating opportunities, gives us a chance to celebrate the different voices and give space to grow more voices.

We have so much that still needs to be told and I am excited for what is to come.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. I would have loved if someone gave me a glossary. This would have been really helpful starting out. There are so many acronyms and terms in this industry. Window Shot and Martini Shot, what it means in the industry and filmmaking, is not the first thing that would come to mind to most people.
  2. I wish that someone told me that there are so many reasons why you may be the excellent person for the role performance wise, but yet you may not book the job. Hearing when you are first starting it is not personal, they just went a different way can be crushing. I think back to the time it was down to me and another performer — the final two. I didn’t get it. It was difficult at the time, and you can’t help feel like it was something you did wrong or that you weren’t enough. I remember watching the film once it was released and I could see the bigger picture. I enjoyed it so much. Truth be told that performer was wonderful, and we are actually now friends.
  3. It’s okay to wish you did do better in your audition but learning that once you leave the audition, don’t think about should or could have. You prepared, you did your best and you gave a solid performance. If you keep thinking of everything you could have done better, then you aren’t acknowledging what was good about it. Keep moving forward and growing, don’t get stuck — stop beating yourself up!
  4. There are many peaks and valleys in this industry, that it is not a race or a sprint. It is more like a marathon, and you are training and learning so that you can go the distance. Each high and low is an experience and you get to take that and grow from that.
  5. I wish someone had said right off the bat, you are you and that’s enough. The stories are out there, the roles are out there. What you bring to the table that is unique to you. Your voice matters.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Taking time for self-care and mental health is important, as is establishing boundaries. Human nature dictates that sometimes we try to do more than we are capable of and not ask for help. Asking for what you need is not what makes you weak, communicating respectfully keeps the lines of dialogue open. Being self-aware and taking time you need, so that you can be your best and operate at your best is important to take the time to learn. It is also what I spoke about earlier, surrounding yourself with friends, family and a supportive community is part of this foundation you want to create for yourself.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Whenever I have helped anyone, whether it was with a self-tape, learning something or supporting them through something challenging in this industry, all I have asked in return is that they pay it forward. Yes, I have had challenges as a performer, but I have also been very lucky to have had help, support and encouragement. Doing something for someone else, so that they in turn do it for someone else — we keep it going that goodness keeps growing. It is competitive in this industry, but at the same time I have seen many people there for one another and I love that!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

There are so many people that I am grateful towards, but if I were to single one person out or in this case, I would love to shine light and thank one group of people — my MAD family. They are a group of fellow creatives and we have made films together; we have travelled to film festivals together, we support one another and cheer one another. Since we are all in the business it is great to be able to have that sense of community and camaraderie.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I heard this quote once and it stuck with me “The Dreaming has to be backed by the Doing”. The doing can be anything from acquiring new skills, brushing up on your skills etc. To move closer to your goals and dreams you have to keep moving towards it somehow. Even if it is something small every day, each small step counts.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I have to choose just one? Wow this is hard as there are so many people for so many different reasons, from all walks of life. If I had to choose today then, sitting down to lunch with Ke Huy Quan and Michelle Yeoh. This past awards season I was so captivated by them. Aside from being a fan of their work, I would like to say thank you. Thank you for not giving up and for being an inspiration.

How can our readers follow you online?

Everyone always jokes I pick up the phone rather than text and I love seeing people in person and engaging one on one, versus online. Remember what I mentioned earlier small steps each day. Social Media — I am getting better at it! Your readers can reach me on Instagram @liveloveactangel and I can’t wait to engage with them.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music