Rising Star Berto Colón On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

I know it’s a cliché but have a Blast! Enjoy it!! Always consider how lucky you are to be doing this. Be yourself, but be versatile and open to different perspectives, opinions and ideas; not only about your work but the work of others. I always had the most fun when I let go of expectations because sometimes the best results are total accidents. Don’t be rigid. Allow a free flow of ideas to inform what you are doing. Go for the ride!

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Berto Colón.

Berto Colón currently plays the role of “Lorenzo Tejada” in the STARZ series POWER BOOK II: GHOST opposite Mary J. Blige; elevated to a series regular cast in Season 2. He can also be seen in the Ava Duvernay Netflix limited series WHEN THEY SEE US. He previously booked the series regular role of “Martinez” in the Elizabeth Banks pilot, THE TRUSTEE for ABC. Colon is perhaps best known for playing the role of “Cesar” in Netflix’s hit series, ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK. He can also be seen in David Simon’s HBO miniseries, SHOW ME A HERO and Sian Heder’s TALLULAH opposite Ellen Page and Zach Quinto. On the film side, he stars in Roselyn Sanchez’s directorial debut, SATOS; co-stars in the indie film INSIDE GAME with Will Sasso and Scott Wolf, directed by Randall Batinkoff; stars alongside Leven Rambin in ALPHA BETA directed by Misha Calvert. He has previously guest-starred on CHICAGO P.D., CONVICTION and THE TICK for Amazon. Other credits include THE BLACKLIST, GOTHAM, BLUE BLOODS, and MADAM SECRETARY.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was always a performer of sorts; mostly through sports. I’m a good athlete, played sports my whole life; Swimming, Basketball, Volleyball and Football. I was also a big film kid; movies and TV shows had an impact on me. Seeing life played out on screen or a stage helped me understand, and relate to experiences in my own life. So, I always yearned for a form of physical expression. At first, the gratification came from achievements in sports. I did very well; got a football scholarship to attend Fordham University. But when I suffered a knee injury in college, the dream of a long career in the sport was short-lived; and it’s at that time that my focus shifted toward acting. I had a 5th extra year of college because of a medical red shirt, so I took as many film and acting electives as possible. The gratification I felt from just “learning about the craft” was too addicting. There was an immediate connection to those feelings I had my whole life about performing. And after I graduated college with pressure mounting to succeed and a few stints in the business world, I made the crazy decision to pursue a career as an actor. If I was going to fail at something I didn’t love, might as well try to do something that I really love; and if I failed, at least I would have loved the pursuit! I started taking classes and auditioning; that lead me to student films, off-off Broadway plays, commercials and some daytime TV(soaps); essentially the road most NYC actors travel. The experiences taught me a lot about myself and about the business, and that most importantly, persistence was the key component.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I played Ian McShane’s body guard in a tv series called Kings back in 2009. I was essentially a glorified extra, no dialogue, but the experience of watching him work was an invaluable lesson in the craft. I observed intently every aspect of his work up close; his commanding presence, his effect on other actors, and how he carried the content of the entire story in his performance. Masterful! After a few months of work I had built somewhat of a rapport with him, and on the final day of shooting I mustered the courage to approach him for some advice; I remember I had put together a small reel on a DVD to leave with him too. I had no expectations, didn’t even know if he would engage in a conversation with me, but I figured if he did, anything he could offer would be gold, and it was. When it came to the question if he had any suggestions for a young actor like me, his answer was brief — he had none. He expressed how everyone’s journey in the business is so different, complex and unique that it’s virtually impossible to take another actor’s suggestion. He said, you have to find your own way and you have to do that knowing there is no guarantee it will work. He did encourage me to keep believing in myself, to trust my instincts and that the only thing an actor can do is keep working and evolving; to persist and persevere. He was brutally honest with me and I really appreciated it. That experience motivates me more today, and I look forward to properly thanking him for it.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I played Ian McShane’s body guard in a tv series called Kings back in 2009, I was essentially a glorified extra, no dialogue, but the experience of watching him work was an invaluable lesson in the craft. I observed intently every aspect of his work, up close; his commanding presence, his effect on other actors, and how he carried the content of the whole story on his performance. Masterful! After a few months of work I had built somewhat of rapport with him, and on the final day of shooting I mustered the courage to approach him for some advice; I remember I had put together a small reel on a dvd to leave with him too. I had no expectations, didn’t even know if he would engage in a conversation with me, but I figured if he did, anything he could offer would be gold, and it was. When it came to the question if he had any suggestions for a young actor like me, his answer was brief, he had none. He expressed how everyone’s journey in the business is so different, complex and unique that it’s virtually impossible to take another’s actor’s suggestion. He said, you have to find your own way and you have to do that knowing there is no guarantee it will work. He did encourage me to keep believing in myself, to trust my instincts and that the only thing an actor can do is keep working and evolving; to persist and persevere. He was brutally honest with me and I really appreciated it. That experience motivates more today, and I look forward to properly thanking him for it.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I booked a small role on a soap; All my Children. I had been auditioning for years before I landed my first U5. I was instructed to bring an approved ID and Social Security card for payroll. Well, of course I forgot to bring them. Somehow, I left my wallet and drove to set without it! It was shameful. All that work, all that time, I finally land a role and I cannot work because I left my ID. I went home defeated but mostly so ashamed of myself and my lack of preparation. It was a tough lesson but I swore I would not ever be unprepared again. You have to be detailed oriented to do this work.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m extremely excited to see how the world reacts to Season 2 of PowerBook 2: Ghost, on Starz, which premiered on Nov 21st. I’m hopeful that more seasons will be approved and that my role will continue to live inside the “Power Universe.” Being on such a high-profile show and network invites other opportunities, and I continue to work closely with my team auditioning for higher-profile projects and more complex roles. It’s still a numbers game, albeit more selective. I would also like to produce, so I’m in the early stages in the development of three different scripts, two film projects and a tv series. I’ve been lucky to work with some very talented writers over the years who have written roles with me in mind. It’s now time for me to reconnect with them and make it happen.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

I’ve always felt weird about giving advice, especially since this career path is so unpredictable. I would only say that you really have to know yourself completely to do this work. There is a certain type of emotional integrity needed, and being honest with yourself eventually defines the truthfulness of your work. Obviously, you have to study, you have to read, and spend time developing your craft. My late acting teacher Robert Patterson, taught me to spend time developing my craft through all forms of art: listening to music, looking at paintings and sculpture, and learning a new dance (I actually enrolled in a ballet class at Martha Graham). Expanding your horizons and developing a wide range of tastes will make you a better actor. Also, don’t spend too much time dwelling on failures. Process them fast(at most 24hrs) and then move on to the next task. Onward.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

We need diversity because we live in a very diverse world. Period. Times have changed and the entertainment industry has a duty and a responsibility to represent everyone, equally. When you have equal representation, you have equal acceptance and tolerance; which is essential for modern society to work. We live in a world where information is more readily available to everyone, and things cannot be hidden as easily! We have the ability to accurately assess the world for what it is. When different types of people can see themselves represented, it inspires them and that inspiration creates more ideas; perhaps better ideas on how we can all live together more effectively.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. Auditions are a pain! I always had a difficult time preparing for them, sitting there trying to memorize text alone, took me forever! It’s important to make material relatable and I got better and learned text quicker when I got a reader, a live reader whenever possible. Find a couple of friends, hopefully, fellow actors, a partner, whoever is willing to put in the time with you to read material with them, over and over until it becomes conversational and organic. Memorizing the text is much easier this way.

2. Get out of the starving artist mentality, do not focus on the results. You want to win every job, yes! But if you are that fixated on getting the role, your audition will most likely suffer. So be prepared, have an intention, go through the work and execute it, and let go of the rest. Treat the appointment as one of many, focus on the process and win the room first. Things will go much smoother when you allow them to happen rather than trying to make them happen.

3. You need a serious survival gig! Having financial stability is important while in pursuit of a career in this business. Personally, I experienced the most growth in my work when I wasn’t worried about money. You have to focus on stability in the beginning as much as you focus on the work itself. It’s very hard to do this, but you must.

4. Get into as many classes as possible: do theater, student films, stay active! I played sports my whole life and I loved to practice almost as much as the games themselves. I would wear my football equipment to sleep sometimes, and I would envision the execution of plays even when I wasn’t directly involved in them. I felt a need to completely immerse myself in what I was doing; this work is no different.

5. I know it’s a cliché but have a Blast! Enjoy it!! Always consider how lucky you are to be doing this. Be yourself, but be versatile and open to different perspectives, opinions and ideas; not only about your work but the work of others. I always had the most fun when I let go of expectations, because sometimes the best results are total accidents. Don’t be rigid. Allow a free flow of ideas to inform what you are doing. Go for the ride!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Don’t develop nasty habits to cope with rejection. Stay in shape not just physically but mentally. Keep your body and mind sharp and ready. Have outlets; workout, ride a bike, learn to surf! For me, it’s all about staying physically active, and allowing my mind to escape the realities and hardships of this work. It’s easier to fall into a rut when you allow the routine to bogle you down. And it’s easier said than done, I know. So DON’T START (nasty habits).

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I’m of the opinion that the greatest threat to all of us is the effect we are having on our planet and our environment. I have experienced first-hand, the enormous strides the industry has made to eliminate waste, and find eco-friendly ways to operate. Where I do feel improvements can be made is on transportation. It’s ambitious, but I would love to see all transportation be electric; or at the very least, develop some type of ride-sharing program for pick-ups and drop-offs. It’s somewhat inconvenient, would require more time, and lots of extra planning and effort coordinating, but we’d be preserving our greatest natural resource.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have been blessed to have a solid support structure my whole life. Starting with my parents who taught me the value of giving maximum effort in all my endeavors and working hard to achieve my goals. They shaped my character and gave me the confidence to believe in myself. As the oldest brother, I was always taught to lead by example, so I learned the meaning of accountability and compassion; because what I did not only affected me, it affected them. My brothers and I have a special bond! And they are also a huge source of inspiration for me. I want to make them proud even now! I will always be the best I can be for them, and they have always reciprocated that love, have looked up to me, and believed in me as well.

I met my wife Lara in college and we have been through a lot in our relationship. She has supported me through my struggles and taught me the meaning of unconditional love and I’m forever indebted to her. We have built an amazing life together, with two amazing girls Sofia and Laila, and they are healthy and beautiful beyond words! I want the world for them! Being the best father and husband I can be, is my greatest achievement and inspiration.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My father mentioned one of my favorite life quotes, coined by Steven Covey when I was a kid; “To Live, To Love, To Learn, To Leave a Legacy.” He didn’t quote him at the time but the phrase stayed with me, and I found the context of it later in college. At the time, my father was obviously trying to teach me the importance and meaning of the four human dimensions; Physical, Emotional, Mental and Spiritual. He was also big on the concept of finding balance in life, and the idea was for me to strive to actively find a balance and be cognizant of all four human dimensions. The significance of these words is a powerful tenant in my life, something I strive to live by every day.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Benicio Del Toro is someone that I admire, so much. His work is always truthful, grounded and engaging; a true artist, he is never the same from one performance to the next. He exudes this engrossing confidence that I’d like to achieve not only in my work but on a personal level as well. He’s had a long journey in his career and he must have persevered through many obstacles; and he’s also Puerto Rican, so I respect his accomplishments and what they mean to me as a fellow countryman. It would be such a privilege to meet and chat with him about the biz and just life…that would be amazing!

How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram @elBertocolon

Twiter @elBertColon

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm2088745/

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.