Rising Star Brandin Stennis: “Stay around positive people that have similar goals and don’t let people bring you down.”

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readAug 28, 2019

I would say only continue in the arts if you’re having fun. Never give up. Don’t do things that you don’t want to do. Stay around positive people that have similar goals and don’t let people bring you down. Be nice to everyone because you never know what tomorrow may bring.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Brandin Stennis. Brandin is an actor, model, dancer and host. He had appeared in over 30 National TV commercials. He is known for CBS “The Young & The Restless.” Currently, Brandin is working with Warner Bros. on a “Looney Tunes” Series. He is also the voice for the pups for Nickelodeon “Paw Patrol” Toys series. He will be appearing in a new motion picture which will be released in 2021. He has appeared in several TV shows, on Nickelodeon, Disney, the Investigative Discovery (ID) channel, films, photo shoots and theatrical productions. Brandin has won (3) Best Young Actor Awards for TV, plays and film. He has also been nominated for over (10) acting awards for best commercials, short film, theatrical play and supporting TV role for The Young Entertainer Awards and Young Artist Awards. He is best known as a Kids News Reporter who interviews celebrities on the red carpet and is a co-host for a child’s educational science series. In addition to acting, Brandin loves amusement parks, video games, sports, traveling and just plain having fun!

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born in Los Angeles. I grew up here also!

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

In school, I used to do a lot of theater programs and shows, and got lead roles. I told my mom I would like to start acting, and with some parent magic, my parents got me into the business. I went on my first audition, and I booked it.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

On my tenth birthday, I worked on Greys Anatomy. The character I was playing was also having his tenth birthday. The character’s name was also Brandon.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I made the mistake of going to an audition which later turned out to be an actual taping. It was when I thought I was auditioning to work with John Cena. It was a very funny day and I learned anything can happen at auditions and always keep an open mind and have fun. That was an awesome day!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Currently, I am working with Warner Bros. on a “Looney Tunes” series and it’s very exciting. I will be working on a motion picture in 2020 that will be fantastic. I recently shot a TV Pilot with a wonderful cast. I also had the honor of being cast in a film called “Becoming Eddie” and being directed by Lilan Bowden from Disney’s Andi Mac. I have a few commercials currently airing and just completed shooting a project for Super Mario Bros and will be shooting a cool commercial for WWE. I have a nice project coming out with NIKE where I will be working with an amazing athlete. I have also been working on some exciting photo shoots and you might see me at a major Los Angeles attraction. I am honored to have been nominated and won my second Young Artist Award for my voice over work in a Nickelodeon “Paw Patrol” Toys series. I had an amazing time working on an audio book that was just released. I had the best time co-hosting 50 episodes of a kids educational series doing fun science experiments. You will be able to find me in a few more theatrical stay plays before the year is over and I will be acting and dancing my heart out- Hope you can attend. The film “My Brother Wes,” where I’m cast as “Wes” has been winning many film festivals which has been great. Finally, I look forward to hosting many red carpet events and meeting more fascinating people. Stay tune for more details on my instagram page.

I’m very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity is important because it brings different cultures and influences. People from diverse cultures contribute language skills, new knowledge, different ideas and experiences. Cultural diversity is important in the entertainment industry so that all types of people can be represented in the industry.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

1. Friends are important. I’m still friends with kids that I met when I did my first commercial. It’s so important to just have people to hang out with and just have fun.

2. Stay Humble. It’s always nice to stay humble about every good thing in your life and be thankful.

3. If it’s meant for you than you will have it. So just have fun and make great memories while trying.

4. Always choose kind. Be nice to everyone as you never know what the future might bring.

5. Always be happy for others when they succeed just like you want them to be happy for your success. There is plenty of work for everyone in this industry so let’s just have fun.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would say only continue in the arts if you’re having fun. Never give up. Don’t do things that you don’t want to do. Stay around positive people that have similar goals and don’t let people bring you down. Be nice to everyone because you never know what tomorrow may bring.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would start a “Stop the Bully” movement. I would love to inspire an Anti-Bullying movement as bullying can cause mental and physical abuse in children as well as adults. Bullying can ruin a person’s life and cause them not to be a whole person which can stop them from pursuing their dreams. Bullying causes depression. No one has a right to bully or control another human being. Bullying is wrong. I would hope my movement would bring the most good and the most amount of people.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My mom is my biggest fan and has helped me achieve success. She is just always there encouraging me which helps me believe in myself. Therefore, I am grateful to have her as my mom.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Always listen to your parents and just go with the flow. Parents usually know what’s best for you and will help you to follow your dreams. I listened to my mom so she listened to me and helped me to be where I am today. I have no expectations and just take each day- day by day and see what new adventures will open up for me.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I would love to have a private breakfast with Will Smith or Melissa McCarthy. I love their works and I think they are both very funny and I would love to find out what and who inspired them to be these awesome actors. I would love to work with them.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Readers can follow me on instagram: @brandinstennis

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine

Authority Magazine is devoted to sharing in-depth interviews, featuring people who are authorities in Business, Pop Culture, Wellness, Social Impact, and Tech