Rising Star Brooke Baumgart On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Be gentle to yourself in this business. Self-care is super important inside and out. There were times I felt like I had to do it all and that taking time to rest and keep myself healthy wasn’t as important. Your body and mind are your instruments. Be kind to yourself. You don’t need to do it all today. You are enough.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Brooke Baumgart.

Brooke is an NYC-based actor and model Represented by Dream Talent Management originally hailing from Tampa, FL. She studied her craft at The New York Conservatory for the Dramatic Arts in Manhattan where she had some of the best training in Film and Television. She recently wrapped filming the feature film ‘Sellout’ where she plays the dramatic Supporting role of Anna. She also was a guest star on the show MetroPark which can be found through Amazon. She recently finished filming a new pilot called Skylife where she plays Special Agent Brahms.

If you are looking for your “Young Drug Addict Runaway”, “Confident-Overly Truthful Best Friend,” or “Young Detective wanting to prove herself” type, then look no further!

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born and raised in Tampa Florida. I was raised with the beach and sunshine. Being able to go to the beach and swim every weekend was such a blessing as a kid growing up. I was always adventurous. At one point I lived on a ranch with my mom and sister. I was taught how to ride and take care of horses along with goats and rabbits!. Even at a young age I was a dreamer and performer There were time that I would take off into the woods near our house and pretend I was a woodland fairy, Or climb into our treehouse we had and pretend I lived in this far off magical world. I was also very blessed as a kid and teenager to travel all over the world. From France, Italy, Thailand, Peru, even Africa. Immersing myself in other people’s cultures is so important to me. It helps you to be a better actor as well as a better human being. I was so fortunate growing up to be around so many animals, people and adventures. It has helped shape me into who I am today and I’m thankful I grew up where I did, but I knew deep down that something bigger was calling to me and I needed to be in NYC to claim it.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I’ve just always known from that moment I remember having conscious thought this has been, not just the career of my choice, but my absolute purpose in life. The calling to perform and tell stories has always been a part of me. I would put on shows all the time as a kid. I would force my sister and cousin to perform with me (Thanks for being such troopers!) I was always singing, dancing and moving. When I was a kid watching Disney Channel or Nickelodeon, that intense feeling of my purpose would rage inside me, screaming, “That’s where you need to be!. One day, we will get there!”

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I arrived to an audition a whole day early! I was preparing all day, really hyping myself up. I was so exciting and was really getting my head into the game. I arrive at the casting office for the audition, and they are all confused why I’m there. I suddenly panicked thinking I went to the wrong address. But they eventually realized I just arrived super super early lol. I definitely learned after that to triple-check all dates and locations. But hey, in this scenario it’s better to be super-duper early than super duper late.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

-During the height of the covid pandemic I was very lucky to land a role in my first feature called SellOut directed by Daniel Florenzano. It’s an intense thriller dealing with secrets, big money, and the mob. It was such an exciting project to be a part of. Also, I recently wrapped filming a Short film called Through Little Eyes directed by GiGi Nettles. I got to play a young mother in this dystopian society, whose son gets kidnapped. It’s a beautiful dramatic piece.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

-Each step in this business, no matter how small is important. Embrace every single one.

-You must have trust and patience in yourself and your work. The moment will come when it’s mean to. So stay prepared and stay hungry.

-And the most important…be kind. To yourself and others. This is not an easy business. There is judgment and insecurities around every corner and we are all going through it. Lifting up others won’t push what you have to offer down.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

-How can we tell diverse stories without diverse actors? Casting an array of diverse actors can only make these wonderful works more truthful.

-Everyone deserves to see themselves represented in our movies, shows and plays. It’s important to know that our industry sees and hears you.

-The more we learn, the more we see each other, we become more understanding and closer as a society.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Really put in your time to memorize and fully commit to your auditions. This is your work and you want to put your best foot forward. When I first started professionally going to auditions, it was the ones that I really put in that extra work that I shined!
  2. Invest your money wisely. Early on I was throwing money everywhere trying to meet casting directors at workshops. I had to learn to really hone in to who I wanted to meet and who was casting the projects I was right for. Once I got more specific I saved so much money. You can learn so much from these workshops and meet the right people if you know exactly what you are looking for.
  3. Find your community! It took me a while to find that acting community that fit me and made me feel supported. I felt alone and like I had to do everything by myself. Once I found my community at The Actor’s Green Room, a huge pressure was lifted because I knew I wasn’t alone in this big crazy industry. Facebook is a great way to start!
  4. Leave that ego at the door! You are there to do a job and you are one small cog in this beautiful machine we are making. Everyone on set has a job to do and respecting your fellow crew will make everyone’s job easier.
  5. Be gentle to yourself in this business. Self-care is super important inside and out. There were times I felt like I had to do it all and that taking time to rest and keep myself healthy wasn’t as important. Your body and mind are your instruments. Be kind to yourself. You don’t need to do it all today. You are enough.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

  1. As I said self-care is important. Remember to take time to eat healthy and sleep well. Also, take care of your mental health. There are times as actors that we deal with so much stress, pressure, and self-doubt. I see a wonderful therapist where I can let out all my frustrations, hopes and letdowns. Being able to talk about what you are going through is freeing and as an actor it’s important to acknowledge all these feelings.

Also…Treat yourself! Take yourself out to a movie or a relaxing walk in the park. Give yourself that facemask. Eat that ice cream! I promise it does wonders!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I will always be so grateful for My dad. He has always believed in me and my dream and has never made me second guess my choices. He would always tell me to take the risks! It’s how amazing things are accomplished. I have many actor friends who parents have never appreciated their choice in careers so I know I’m very lucky to have a dad that wants me to live my biggest dreams.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Luck is when preparation meets opportunity” — I live by this. You never know when that next big opportunity or break will come! If you are fully prepared that opportunity will be a breeze to claim!

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I always wished I could of had the opportunity to meet Anthony Bourdain. He was an amazing chef, author and travel documentarian. I always appreciated his life lessons in his shows. Sadly he passed away but even still his legacy is forever inspiring.

Another person though would be one of my favorite singers Florence Welch from Florence and The Machine. She’s so dynamic on stage. She’s never afraid of fully losing herself in her music and each song of hers always seems to hit something deep in me.

How can our readers follow you online?

Feel free to follow my Instagram for amazing acting updates and little peaks into my daily life as a working actor in NYC. Handle- @bbaumgart

Also, you can find my info on my website — www.brookebaumgart.com

There you can find links to my Actor’s Access and Backstage profiles!

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.