Rising Star Celestine Caravaggio: “Diversity helps stimulate creative realms instead of stifling it”

An Interview With Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

…This is a favorite topic for me. It’s a bit of a parallel from how I grew up as an ethnic little girl in a predominantly white city. One of the most important reasons why I feel diversity in film and TV is important is because we need to see ourselves on the screens. Audiences are diverse and therefore, what we see in TV and film should reflect the audience. It can make for a more powerful connection. I remember thinking I wanted to be blonde when I grew up. I know it’s so twisted to think that, but that’s all I really saw on TV. That didn’t reflect me and who I was meant to be. It was conditioning that I had to eventually undo. If we can show viewers that all of us have a place in the world it would really bring some confidence and belief in…

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands