Rising Star Cheryl L Allen: “I’m of the opinion that we as a society are only as strong as our weakest members; Benefiting those who have no voice is therefore not a selfless act at all”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMay 22, 2019

--

In my late 20’s, I spent four years working in homes for abused and neglected children. In those four years, I learned more about humanity than I ever have before or since, coming to understand both the best and worst of what people can be. Although each of these kids come into care with their own backstory, overwhelmingly I noticed something about most of them that to this day, makes me incredibly sad. Most of them come into care with what few humble possessions they have stuffed into garbage bags. Garbage bags, as if these kids need even more societal reinforcement that their things, and them by extension, are worthy of little more than trash! I’m of the opinion that we as a society are only as strong as…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator