Rising Star Christian Vincent On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
13 min readAug 16, 2023

--

Appreciate your uniqueness. Some artists at the beginning of their career feel they must change themselves to be the status quo and maybe for some that might be true. I think a person truly flourishes when they embrace their differences. It may take others longer to catch on, but they will.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Emmy Ward-nominated entertainer Christian Vincent.

Emmy nominated Christian Vincent is a multi-faceted artist whose talents as a dancer, choreographer, dance coach, and educator have garnered distinction in every area of the dance and entertainment industry.

As a dancer, Christian danced and/or toured with artists such as Madonna (dance captain, Drowned World tour), Prince, Britney Spears, Gloria Estefan, Shakira, Ricky Martin, Stevie Wonder, Chayanne, Mandy Moore, Geri Halliwell, Macy Gray, Brian Setzer Orchestra, and Ashanti. He has also been featured in various film projects such as “She’s All That,” “Starsky and Hutch,” “Rent,” “The Wedding Planner,” “Flintstones: Viva Rock Vegas,” “Ms. Congeniality 2,” and “GI Joe 2: Retaliation.” In addition, he has made numerous television appearances, including “Buffy,” “Disney’s Annie,” “Arrested Development,” “Baywatch,” “Mad TV,” “The George Lopez Show,” “Cold Case” and “Dancing with the Stars.”

As an actor, Christian has starred in the Hallmark Christmas film “A Majestic Christmas” and guest starred in the City TV series “The Wedding Planners.” His most notable role was that of the series regular, Ricky, on “Noah’s Arc,” the groundbreaking two-season drama series chronicling the lives and relationships of four black gay men that ran from 2005–2006. “Noah’s Arc” is officially returning to the small screen in 2023!

A master educator, Christian enjoys sharing and inspiring the next generation of performers.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born and grew up in Windsor, Ontario Canada as part of a family of four. My family included my mother, father, brother, and myself. We have always been a close, tightly knit unit. As a child, my mother introduced me to music and witnessed my innate response to dance to it. At the age of 3 she took me to an Earth, Wind and Fire concert and I danced so hard throughout the concert that I dirtied my little white socks.

Eventually, it was my mother who enrolled me in dance lessons, because she loved tap dancers like Gregory Hines and Sammy Davis Jr. With the support of my family, I continued my dance training in Canada and the United States. Whether it be Bloomfield Hills, Michigan; Los Angeles, California; or New York City; my mother, father and brother made sure I got to where I needed to be to increase my dance skills. During most of my formative years, I focused on academics and dance, until I graduated high school, and left Windsor to study at Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana. I ultimately graduated from Butler with a BFA in Dance (Highest Honors, Cum Laude), before I moved to Los Angeles to pursue my career.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I think my inspiration to go into entertainment was a combination of influences. I remember watching musicals on TV like Westside Story with my mom. I loved it when she would sing along with the music to me. We watched award shows on television with big musical numbers and I enjoyed all the spectacle. My mother would also take my brother and I over the border to Detroit, Michigan to enjoy touring companies of shows like “Dream Girls” and “Cats.” Being exposed to the creative arts at an early age allowed me to recognize the beauty and intelligence within it.

It was also my fascination with the talent, images, and performances of pop stars — like Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Madonna and Prince — that set the groundwork to my Hollywood dreams. Their music videos ignited my desire to perform on camera.

It wasn’t until I attended my first dance convention (Tremaine Dance Convention) at the age of 12, that I declared I wanted to be a dancer. The dance convention consisted of faculty members/dance educators that were working with the artists I admired. I instantly knew that I wanted to move to Hollywood and dance. I subsequently did and, to this day, I too teach on a dance convention (LADM), and hopefully inspire young dancers as well. So, the combination of my mom’s introduction to the beauty of the arts, pop artists and music videos, and dance conventions put that fire in me to purse my career.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Thinking of the most interesting moment in my career is a tough question. Of the multitude of thoughts in my head, I think the events I experienced while working at Paisley Park come to the forefront of my mind. Paisley Park was the private estate and production complex of the late Prince.

I remember being in the dance studio rehearsing when we (the dancers) were asked to head into the recording studio. We went into the sound booth and were given the lyrics to his song “Raspberry Beret.” Prince was behind the glass directing us on how to sing his song. He had a few smart quips about particular voices and off notes. LOL. Being young at the time, I didn’t think about the magnitude of a moment like this. In retrospect, I find it cool that I was essentially in Prince’s home for three months rehearsing and got to record one of his songs in his studio. Our version of “Raspberry Beret” was played by The NPG Dance Company, Around the World in A Day Tour.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I was Madonna’s Dance Captain for her Drowned World Tour. I had many responsibilities, including rehearsing the dancers before our performances. Prior to our last performance of the tour, in LA, there was a conversation amongst the crew and dancers about pulling some pranks during the last show…. It was discussed that it was a tradition on tours, so we changed a few things in the show.

I don’t remember all the changes, but I remember the riggers were wearing LA Lakers jerseys onstage when they were supposed to be hidden by all black attire.

As far as the dancers… We didn’t want to mess up the show, but we did alter one of her big numbers to the song “What it Feels Like for a Girl.” The number usually began with the female dancers onstage and Madonna later being revealed. Well, the guys on the tour (including myself) always wanted to do the opening of that number, so we did during the last show. There was a point in the number that I had to turn and shake Madonna’s hand. I don’t think by the look in her eyes, that she was ecstatic by our change of cast for that number.

In retrospect, it was fun to perform that number, but I probably would advise out of respect, not to do that to a major artist, during their last show of a tour.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Most recently I appeared in the season finale of the Amazon Prime series The Power, playing campaign manager (Caleb Ezra) to Toni Collette’s character Margo Cleary-Lopez. It’s a great cast and I was happy to take part in it.

I will also be reprising my role as Ricky Davis on the reboot of the cult favorite/ groundbreaking show Noah’s Arc. I cannot divulge much about this project now, but I’m excited that it’s happening. The fans have wanted more, and they’ll finally see the Noah’s Arc crew back on the screen.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Each person’s journey in entertainment is different and there is no clear-cut path, like training to become a doctor or lawyer for example. My advice to those wanting to go into entertainment, is to first get as much education and training as possible if you can. There are many that have little to no training that are hugely successful, but my education has been the foundation to my success and has only aided and supported me. Over the years, I’ve tried to gain as much ammunition prior to going into the fight so to speak.

Having a healthy, stable mindset and belief in your abilities is really important. There can be many highs and lows in a career. Entertainment is great when you’re enjoying your successes, but can feel terrible when you don’t feel like you’re succeeding, or are feeling rejected… So keep your mind right in whatever way you can.

Learning to accept “wins and losses” and continuing to press on with determination and a truly content and joyous headspace is key. How do you do this? Discovering that will be part of your practice as an artist. It’s different for everybody. For me. I maintain my joy in this business through a combination of things. I keep my joy through my spiritual practices, associating with people that make me happy, by having a supportive family, inspiring myself with things I like, and by balancing my career in entertainment with educating young dance artists. I also try, and I say try, not to take things too personal anymore.

Ultimately, the desire to be in this career has been like a little fire within me since I was a child. I encourage people that have that fire, to keep it lit by staying forward moving through education, spirituality, and tenacity. Don’t let others put that fire out.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

  1. Diversity in film and TV ultimately represents the reality/truth of the world we live in. Over the years, TV shows and movies have often ignored particular demographics of society as if they don’t exist in a city the show or movie is set in. Onscreen, a film or TV show should honestly portray the demographic of a particular location instead of making it homogenized.
  2. For years, television and film have often represented minorities and marginalized groups from a stereotypical and myopic viewpoint. Equitable, honest, and engaging representation of these groups helps to humanize them in society. I look at the progress in some areas of entertainment with more diverse representation and see some positive change in society due to it. The younger generations will hopefully have more understanding for those that are “othered” in our society. Basically, the media needs to rectify the years of negative misrepresentation of minorities and the marginalized to counterbalance the lasting negative effects it has had on society. Ultimately, this means not just more minorities in front of the camera, but also more behind the camera writing, directing, and producing.
  3. Seeing is believing. When people see themselves onscreen (varying incarnations), in a manner that is uplifting and I hate to say just positive but … positive/realistic, it shows them they can achieve success and or their dreams. It tells the view that they also matter in this world. I believe that when viewers identify their likeness/culture onscreen, it can also make them feel valid In the society they Inhabit.

In my opinion the media shapes perception. Diversity at all levels of the industry will help make not only entertainment but, society more equitable, true, and just.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

  1. Appreciate your uniqueness. Some artists at the beginning of their career feel they must change themselves to be the status quo and maybe for some that might be true. I think a person truly flourishes when they embrace their differences. It may take others longer to catch on, but they will.
  2. You’re in this for the long haul. I used to think that one event would change the trajectory of my career drastically. My career has been a slow building process and continues to be. No one job has drastically changed my life.
  3. This one isn’t for everybody, but I wish somebody had mentioned it to me… start learning about directing and all aspects of film and television production at a young age. While working on the BET/CBC TV series The Porter, in which I received my Emmy nomination, one of the producers mentioned that I needed to be a director. It wasn’t until recent years that I realized, the desired trajectory of many performers once in the business, is to go from onscreen talent, then director/writer to producer. Many performers learn later in their career that they have something to offer behind the camera as well. Currently, as a mentor to young dancers I mention this to those looking into higher education. I think it is a way of thinking ahead and “cutting to the chase.”
  4. “Happy to be here and easy to work with,” is a phrase that my friend Jackie Sleight passed onto me. I keep this idea in mind when on any job. I want my presence on the set to be pleasant, useful, and well-remembered. Each job will entail many different personalities and expectations, but I want my work ethic and the way I treat those surrounding me to be a positive constant. I have been on many jobs where I see egos lead, and it’s often not great to be in the midst of that kind of behavior. I choose to hopefully do my job well and be easy to get along with.
  5. I was once offered to do a Broadway show and an Off Broadway at the same time. My agent urged me to do the Off Broadway show because if it went to Broadway, I would be part of the original cast. It never went to Broadway and in retrospect, I kind of wish I had chosen the other show. LOL.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I think it’s important to focus on your career, but to also have a balance with life outside of your career. Work hard and efficiently when you are working, but also enjoy other aspects of your life with friends and family so that work is not the only thing you are and find your identity in.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Firstly, if it were not for my mother, Manzella Vincent. Father, Benjamin Vincent, and brother, Benjamin Vincent Jr., I would not be where I am today. My family has been my foundation. I do, on the other hand, believe that director Patrik Ian Polk definitely started my success as an actor. He cast me first, in his experimental pilot Noah’s Arc, which then went on to become Noah’s Arc the series on Logo, then the feature film Noah’s Arc :Jumping the Broom, followed by Noah’s Arc: The Rona Chronicles and finally the soon to be released reboot of Noah’s Arc.

He was open to casting a dancer/actor at a time when most of my representation wanted me to hide the fact that I danced. Ultimately, everything I was as an artist was right for his groundbreaking new show. I appreciate that he chose and still chooses to cast and create shows that have a positive impact on our world, by truthfully representing the Black LGBTQIA+ community. He is a trailblazer, and as such, has ultimately made me one, by including me in Noah’s Arc.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Over the years after appearing on Noah’s Arc, many fans of the show have approached me thanking me for doing the series. It has predominantly been Black LGBTQIA+ individuals who felt represented and finally seen by the entertainment industry.

The movement that I would like to continue is one that is already occurring. I would like to see more shows like Noah’s Arc that celebrate LGBTQIA+ people, become the norm and less the exception.

I would like to contribute to the movement to create more shows like Brigerton. This show elegantly includes integrated casts in storylines that minorities were rarely included in on film and TV unless they were shown in servitude.

I want to continue and contribute to a movement of creating a space for making the “unseen”
seen and humanized onscreen. I wish this so that my daughter’s generation will not think it odd to see a Black Queen of Great Britain, or a series about Black Gay men living and loving in Los Angeles.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite life quote is one that I first heard from my mother as an adolescent. Mama said, ”When you are green you grow and when you are ripe you rot…..so stay green.” I pass this phrase on to many of the kids I teach. As artists, when we think that we are all knowing, and can’t be told anything or learn anything more, then we cease to advance creatively and in life in general.

My education and continued education have always aided my creativity and overall knowledge. I choose to keep learning and “stay green.”

Is there a person in the world, or in the U.S. whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

The first thought and person that comes to mind is Oprah Winfrey, simply because she is Oprah. From my observation of her, she’s a trailblazer that represents excellence on a level that few have achieved. She created a lane in this industry for herself when many probably doubted her capacity to “make it.” Beyond her success, she’s very philanthropic and I appreciate her desire to make things better than the way she found them. Basically, I just like her and think we would have a good conversation.

How can our readers follow you online?

IG: christian.jd.vincent

Twitter: @CJDevi

Facebook; Christian Vincent Official Fanpage

Website: christianvincentoniine.com

This was so informative, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music