Rising Star Cristy Joy: “We’re all here together on Earth, so just honor, love, and respect each other and our planet as best as you possibly can”

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMar 26, 2020

I just want people to realize how special they are and to celebrate their individuality. We are all humans, living on this ball that’s rotating around a fireball in the middle of space, for crying out loud!! That’s wild!! We’re all here together on Earth. So just honor, love, and respect each other and our planet as best as you possibly can. :)

As a part of my interview series with the rising stars in pop culture, I had the pleasure of interviewing Cristy Joy an actress, improviser, & sketch comedian. She’s currently known for America’s Got Talent, Justin Timberlake’s “Can’t Stop the Feeling” music video, Bizaardvark on Disney Channel, & Decker on Adult Swim. For her latest updates, follow Cristy Joy on IG at: cristyjoyofficial

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Thank you so much for your interest! Sure!

I was 8 years old and was in summer theatre camp. We were doing a play called Oliver. It was a group of kids from my age up until early teens. We were all in this big room auditioning. I wanted to read for Oliver. I remember it clear as day saying “I’m Oliver, Oliver Twist!”

Next thing you know I’m cast as Oliver. They ask me if it’s okay for me to cut my hair because I’d be playing a boy (it was a different time back then and all boys had short hair). Anyway, so I said “yes, anything for acting!” So at that age, I knew what I “wanted to be when I grew up.”

And then further down the line, things just started to line up organically with comedic gigs, and so that’s how I landed in the comedy world.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

Back when I was just learning the industry, I worked on a movie and was in a scene with the late great Robin Williams. We didn’t get a chance to really interact from each other, but we did share eye contact at some point, which is enough for me. It was also my first experience with paparazzi, which was really strange. haha

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I remember there was someone doing a screening somewhere of their hit TV show, and I hadn’t really worked on anything serious yet. I was so excited that I told them how I’d love to work with them and handed them my information that I wrote on a napkin, because I couldn’t find a piece of paper anywhere.

There’s a lot of lessons there, haha. Just be patient. You’ll get to work with everyone you want when the time is right. And also, don’t write your business information on a napkin. Ha!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m acting opposite SNL alum Chris Kattan in a new feature film that’s out in festivals now. I’m acting alongside Twin Peaks star Dana Ashbrook in another feature film that’s also in festivals. I’m acting in a new award-winning pilot. I am also developing a solo show that I’m planning to premiere at Second City Hollywood this summer.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Everybody is interesting! I don’t know! If you’re willing to listen to someone’s story, there is always something you can learn. So it’s tough for me to really narrow that down. I know a lot of people are excited about me being in the Justin Timberlake “Can’t Stop the Feeling” music video. We chatted briefly and he just seemed like a really nice, down-to-earth guy. Does that count? Haha!

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Stay inspired and follow your heart! Follow your passion and keep creating!

The only reason people “burn out” is because they set a time limit on things, but life doesn’t work that way. You’ve got to just enjoy the moment and stay true to whatever lights you up!

Can you share with our readers any self care routines, practices or treatments that you do to help your body, mind or heart to thrive? Kindly share a story or an example for each.

I’m always leery about dishing out health advice, because everybody is so unique, and our needs are so very personalized. You hear about the person who lived to be over 100 and drank diet cola daily and said that was their secret. Then, you hear about someone else who only drank tea. I do what feels right for my body, and I encourage others to do the same.

For the most part, I just eat healthy and exercise regularly. I don’t really have a set regimen, per se, I just stick to the basics.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

One of the greatest lessons I’ve learned along the way is to not wait for anybody else to validate you or your talent, and to “create your own breaks,” whatever that means to you. I guess another way of putting it, is to adopt a kind of DIY attitude about things, because then you’ll always have a means for expressing your passion. I think that’s the best thing you can do for any industry, really. There’s so much technology available now that it makes it really easy. Just pick whatever outlet resonates with you and just go for it.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite is “follow your heart, and the rest will follow,” and that’s always relevant to me personally and professionally. I always do my best to adhere to what inspires me, and trust that by maintaining that sense of honest integrity, that everything will work out as it’s meant to be. It’s definitely one of my mottos for life.

Also, I think it’s important to follow your heart, you know? If you’re going to do something, then do it because you love it. You should never feel a sense of obligation with anything in life, because what’s he point? You know?

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Oh gosh, that’s like picking a favorite child. There’s so many people who I am grateful for. All of the networks, directors, casting people, creative talent, producers, etc. that I’ve worked with have all been fantastic. I’m so lucky & I’ve got so much love for them all! I really appreciate everyone who’s believed in me & my talents. I’ve worked on some really awesome shows & movies that I’m truly honored & proud to be a part of. I’m sorry I can’t think of a particular person or story, I’m honestly just grateful for every opportunity to do what I love & to inspire others to do the same.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I am? Haha! Well, I just want people to realize how special they are and to celebrate their individuality. We are all humans, living on this ball that’s rotating around a fireball in the middle of space, for crying out loud!! That’s wild!! We’re all here together on Earth. So just honor, love, and respect each other and our planet as best as you possibly can. :)

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

Do I have to narrow it down to one? There’s just so many!! Okay I’ll narrow it down to two, haha!

Mel Brooks, because he’s a comedy genius and probably the only person in this world who can make me happy cry simply by his existence.

And also Seth MacFarlane, because wow that guy is so incredibly talented & smart. Talk about someone who creates their own breaks, he’s like the professional at it. He does everything — writes, produces, sings, acts, develops shows, etc. What an inspiration! I would just love to shadow him for a day and absorb as much information as I possibly can! He’s the perfect example of a successful DIY kind of person.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

I’m mainly on Instagram at instagram.com/cristyjoyofficial

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational!

You’re welcome. Thank you so much for having me!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.