Rising Star Danny Royce On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

An Interview With Elana Cohen

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine
8 min readJun 20, 2023

--

Expect nothing. Accept everything. — Don’t expect things to go the way you planned. Allow God to lead you through doors you’ve never though possible. Accept everything that you have no control over. I’ve learned this many times throughout my career. One of the hardest things I’ve had to do was surrender.

As a part of our series about pop culture’s rising stars, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Danny Royce.

Danny Royce is an Award-Winning Actor, Host, Writer, Producer, model, and Entrepreneur.

Danny is a health and wellness advocate and is the founder and owner of a fitness lifestyle company named ‘F.i.T’, which means Focus on inner Transformation and recently launched a fitness app. Danny is the creator and host of “Stand Up!” a podcast uplifting and promoting the Black community as well as produces the hottest new live show “Inside the Black Actors Studio.” Danny owns Born2inspr Entertainment, a production company that has multiple projects under its belt including, a web series, film and talk show.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a loving home in Chicago. Our family is really close. I am the youngest of four children and a lot of the time my siblings and I were left to our own devices. We would come up with games and worlds much bigger than ours. I had a huge imagination. I was the baby, and because of that certain things were kept away from me for my protection. As I grew older, I understood things differently. I looked at my sister as my second mom. She was the eldest and a great leader. Tragedy struck my family when I was four years old. My older brother was hit by a truck and left disabled made to use a wheelchair. It challenged the family in every way possible. My parents divorced when I was a teenager but remained friends. This continued to keep the family closer. There was a bond we all had that nothing could break.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

The first thing I ever wanted to be was a director. I remember I wrote my first job research paper on being a director. I studied the careers of Spike Lee, Wes Craven and Steven Spielberg to name a few. My siblings and I would create home videos, replicating our favorite movies and creating new ones. When I was a kid, I would create full length movies and TV shows with my action figures. I’d use soy sauce as blood, because ketchup smelled bad. Needless to say, my mom wasn’t happy about that.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

One of the most interesting stories surrounds one of my first bookings here in Los Angeles. I had an audition for a thriller film based in Alaska. Black people in thriller and Alaska, not a good mix. So, I already began to feel discouraged I wouldn’t book it. Long story short, the producer liked me so much, they did cast me as the lead and changed the relationship with the other characters and some of the script so it would work better. This taught me that what’s for you is YOURS and there’s no one who can take it.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

This mistake was embarrassing and funny at the same time. I had booked a callback and the callback scene was different than the original audition. It slipped my mind how, but I went to the callback audition with the original script. I started the audition very confidently only to find out it was the wrong scene. Everyone was a bit confused. They allowed me to do a cold read. I didn’t book the job, but they did call me in for another project. It taught me to be extremely thorough in this business.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I just wrapped Scottsdale the series, Chicago Fire, and I am currently working on a Fantasy Drama series surrounding African Mythology and a psychological thriller anthology series. In which I wrote both. I’m currently filming the feature film Back Burner, in which I play a cruel Sous Chef. Funny thing, I used to be a Chef. I also just launched my fitness app that helps people stay on track during their fitness journey. I am in the process of bringing back my talk show, the highly anticipated, Inside the Black Actors Studio this fall. Super excited about that!

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

If this is truly what you want, show God that it is. Never give up. Keep growing and learning EVERYDAY. You should live, eat and breathe your craft. Your network is your net worth. Always ask what you can do to help first, and never seek a freebie. Finally, stay true to yourself and don’t compare your journey to others. It’s the number one way to self-destruction.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Growing up, I could name on one hand how many influential families of color were on the screen. There was a time when POC played stereotypical roles. Let’s not forget before that, when Blacks couldn’t even portray themselves (Black Face). Diversity and inclusion are extremely important because it instills in people’s minds that they can do it too. That they can be a prince, or princess. A leading man or an enchantress. It uplifts the culture by providing examples for the masses. Showcasing diverse relationships, families, and workplaces provides a sense of reality and growth. The world is diverse! Don’t be afraid to show one of the greatest gifts from God…. Your Uniqueness.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Talent means nothing. — I’m not saying talent means nothing at all, but it is not the end all be all. Talent, you either have it or you don’t, but people make it with or without it. Which leads to my next one.
  2. Who you know will get you in the room. What you know will keep you there. — As you spend more time auditioning you meet people, and they will start to see your work. The more people you know, the more doors will open. However, to stay there you had better be good and know your craft well. Longevity is the goal in this business.
  3. Your network is your net worth — I’m a bit of an introvert, but I can turn it on when I must. Getting out a meeting people will open so many doors. As it has for me. You never know who you will bump into. As one of my mentors would say. Small world. Smaller industry.
  4. Become in love with rejection. — I don’t believe there’s a profession that takes as much rejection as an actor. It’s a step further than rejection. You get ghosted. Often. You really have to be okay with it and love it in a sense, or it will destroy you.
  5. Expect nothing. Accept everything. — Don’t expect things to go the way you planned. Allow God to lead you through doors you’ve never though possible. Accept everything that you have no control over. I’ve learned this many times throughout my career. One of the hardest things I’ve had to do was surrender.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Have a strong tribe around you. Don’t forget to rest. Remember it’s a marathon NOT a race. Write everything down. Know that you are worth it.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

The movement that I am most passionate about and gave the name of my production company is Born 2 Inspire. I believe true success is helping others succeed. Only then will you inherit all you desire. We are in the business of servitude. Every one of us. We must inspire others to be great, because there’s enough for us ALL.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

There are so many teachers, coaches, managers, family and friends I can think of. But I would like to give this to my older brother. He has inspired me by his unwillingness to give up despite his situation. He can’t do a lot of the things you and I take for granted. It is because of him, I keep going. It is because of him I refuse to allow life to triumph. I am able and willing!

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Expect Nothing. Accept Everything. This is a big one here. It has taught me to surrender. Often, our expectations are so high or not high at all that when they aren’t met, we feel life crumbles around us. I have learned to expect nothing. It doesn’t mean I don’t have expectations, who doesn’t? However, it means I won’t allow it to change me if they aren’t met. I will accept what it is, because in most cases you can’t do anything to change it. Accept everything for what it is. Allow people and situations to show you who they are. It is one of the most freeing things you can do. Let go!

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I must choose two people for this. Tyler Perry and Denzel Washington. I admire Mr. Perry’s passion, drive, faith and perseverance. Once being homeless myself, I can relate. Also, what he has built speaks volumes. I’ve auditioned for Mr. Perry about eight times. I know we will work together soon. Have to say Denzel for obvious reasons but also because he is a great man of God, has so much wisdom, don’t take no mess, and his career speaks for itself. God is a very important part in my life, and he stresses the same views. I’d pick the brains of these men about life, acting and entrepreneurship, and enjoy every minute of it.

How can our readers follow you online?

You can follow me everywhere @iamdannyroyce also on my websites. www.iamdannyroyce.com and www.fitbyroyce.com

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Elana Cohen
Authority Magazine

Elana Cohen is a freelance writer based in Chicago. She covers entertainment and music