Rising Star Fernando Carsa of Acapulco On The Five Things You Need To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
15 min readOct 21, 2022
Photo Credit: Bonnie Nichoalds

… Beauty is not a look, but an expression of who we are inside. Although this might seem too superficial, I do think it could help someone out there because it helped me. There were many times when I felt like I didn’t belong in this industry because of the way I look. Yet, thanks to the little following I’ve gained with my show I discovered that the definition of beauty is subjective, and at the end of the day what allows us to be beautiful is who we are inside and what we have to offer. Once I learned this, no one could tell me anything. It made me realize that my type of beauty is real, and it belongs on the screen too.

We had the pleasure of interviewing Fernando Carsa. From appearing on stage in internationally renowned theater productions to playing heartfelt characters on-screen, award nominated Latinx actor Fernando Carsa is quickly establishing himself as one-to-watch in the entertainment industry. This year Fernando can be seen reprising his breakout role in season 2 of Apple TV+’s hit bilingual comedy series, “Acapulco.”

“Acapulco” follows Maximo (Enrique Arrizon), a young Mexican man whose dream comes true when he gets the job of a lifetime at the hottest resort in Acapulco. Fernando shines as ‘Memo,’ Maximo’s supportive, yet often naive confidant. Created by Austin Winsberg (“Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist”), season one of the series was met with rave reviews, being called: “a skillful comedy… tenderhearted” (indieWire), “a well-balanced show… with a whole roster of equally charming supporting players” (AV Club), “Acapulco has a ton of heart, plenty of humor and looks stunning” (The Globe and Mail), and “a surprisingly charming trip back in time to the Mexican resort town in the 1980’s” (TheWrap). “Acapulco” also picked up a handful of award nominations at the 2022 Imagen Awards, including an individual nomination for Fernando in the Best Supporting Actor — Comedy category, and the series landing recognition in the Best Primetime Program — Comedy category. Season 2 is slated for release on October 21, 2022.

In film, Fernando can next be seen appearing in the upcoming Paramount+ feature film “At Midnight” alongside Monica Barbaro and Diego Boneta. Slated for release in 2023, the romantic comedy tells the story of two people who have made the “safe” choice not to fall in love. “At Midnight” is one of Paramount+’s banner Latin American originals, produced by ViacomCBS International Studios (VIS).

Born and raised in Colima, Mexico to actor parents, Fernando found his passion for the arts at a young age. He attended a performing arts school from the age of seven, where he studied voice, dance, and acting. Following a seven-year stint in the program, Fernando moved to the United States with his eyes set on Broadway. His high school performance as Jeff Moss in “Bells Are Rising” was met with acclaim, earning two Best Actor nominations at the JRAY and MACY Awards and a “Top Ten Artist of the Year” mention by OC Register.

Fernando went on to attend Fullerton College where he earned an associate’s degree in Theatre Arts, before becoming the first transfer student in six years accepted into UCLA’s Ray Bolger Musical Theater Program. His UCLA productions included: Lainie’s Cabaret: Movie Musicals, CAMP SONG: A New Musical, Rebel Genius, and Lydia. Serendipitously, Fernando booked “Acapulco” marking his television debut, six months following his graduation from UCLA.

He also is passionate about sharing his journey as an immigrant, and spreading a message of body positivity, especially for the plus-size community. When he isn’t on set, Fernando is likely dancing to Britney Spears, whom he considers one of his inspirations who taught him how to speak English and live more authentically. Fernando currently resides in the Los Angeles area.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I was born in Colima, Mexico, one of the smallest states in the whole country. Although we don’t have a lot of exposure to art there, I was blessed enough to be born into a family where both of my parents were actors. They were some of the founders of the most important theatre company in our home state, which they toured with and got to perform at very important art festivals both in Mexico and the US. Unfortunately, they had to quit due to the lack of support for the arts, but they passed on their dream to perform to me. I grew up listening to music every day, constantly seeing plays and dance recitals, and exploring the theatre where my parents used to perform. My backyard was my stage, and a hairbrush was my microphone. I sang and danced every day after school, and according to my mom, I was humming tunes before I could even speak. My parents made sure to nourish my love for the arts and eventually support my training in it. One of the biggest reasons we moved to the US when I turned fifteen, was so I could pursue my dream.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I knew I wanted to be a performer since I was three. My parents could see I had big dreams and a lot of ambition, but I needed the training. So, at seven years old, they signed me up in a performing arts school where I studied voice, dance, and acting. Although I was already in love with music and dance, it was through this institution that I was able to try acting for the first time, and I fell in love with it. It began to be very clear to me that I wanted to do all three disciplines. By the time I reached High School, I decided to take it more seriously and begin my journey towards getting a degree in theatre — musical theatre specifically. I will say though, I never thought I would end up doing TV and Film, my eyes were set on Broadway. Yet, doing it has opened my eyes to a wonderful new world that has allowed me to bring joy to people through my craft at a level I never expected. I’ve always known I wanted to entertain people, but it wasn’t until I did the first season of Acapulco that I learned I wanted to do it through the screen as well.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I need to preface this answer by saying that I’m a huge Britney Spears fan, she’s, my queen! Something very interesting that has happened in my career is that a lot of meaningful events in my journey line up with some meaningful events in her life and career as well. For example, I filmed my audition for my show “Acapulco” on December 2nd, 2020. December 2nd also happens to be Britney’s birthday. On January 12, 2022, I had my last callback for “At Midnight” the first movie I ever did. Well, On January 12, 1999, Britney’s debut album “… Baby One More Time” was released. And finally, on August 26th, 2022, AppleTV+ announced that the second season of “Acapulco” will drop on October 21st. That same day Britney released her first song since getting out of her conservatorship, “Hold Me Closer” with Elton John. I mean, call me crazy, but it’s as if these important dates in her life keep blessing the opportunities I stumble upon. Is pretty cool to have these connections with one of my biggest inspirations.

It has been said that mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

This might sound silly, but one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made is not giving myself enough time and space to breathe. It sounds weird, but when I first started, I would get anxious and nervous, so I would agree to things I wasn’t too sure of or would not deliver performances the way I knew I could because I was too afraid to waste people’s time. For instance, the necklace I wear as Memo in “Acapulco” I chose while freaking out the day I did my camera test. Props approached me with necklace options and our director asked me, do you want any of them? I was so tense that I chose that specific necklace in split of a second. I don’t know why, I didn’t like it, but I was so scared to waste time deciding, that I just pointed at it. I should have taken a breath and taken my time… it wasn’t that big of a deal. Anyways, I love the necklace now, it’s become Memo’s lucky charm, but when we filmed our second season, I noticed breathing and taking the time to focus on myself helped me make better choices both as an actor and co-worker. Breathing and acting go hand in hand, take advantage of it!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Without a doubt, prepping for the release of the second season of “Acapulco” is the most exciting thus far. A couple of the first episodes drop on AppleTV+ on October 21st, so we’re patiently waiting to wrap up the second season very soon. We’re excited to see how audiences will react to our labor of love. We hope they laugh, feel, and see themselves represented.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Oh yes! My biggest word of advice is to be aware that everybody’s path is different, so stop comparing your journey to others. If I’ve learned anything in the last year and a half is that if something is made to be yours, it will. You can’t rush the process and there’s no magic formula to follow. Luck doesn’t exist, luck is when opportunity meets preparedness, so all you can do is be prepared and keep knocking on those doors. You never know which one will open. Keep training, keep learning, take any opportunity to grow and learn something new, prioritize and be willing to take risks. I will also say to not see rejections as a failure because rejection only makes us stronger: it allows us to make mistakes and learn, it shows us how we can better ourselves, and it helps us develop the thick skin we need to survive and succeed in this industry. Remember, “no” is not an answer, is an opportunity for something else.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers why you think it is important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

First, I think that considering the country we live in, we have to be more aware of the impact that all the cultures we’re surrounded by have on the existence and growth of our homeplace. This country was built on immigration, and every member of every ethnic group, sexual orientation, religious belief, etc. is what makes this country wonderful. We need to showcase to the world what we’re made of, and that includes people of every size, color, and background.

Second, we need to understand that our medium not only entertains but also has the power to inform and educate. There are people out there who have never met other people from certain ethnic backgrounds, with certain disabilities, other sexual orientations, gender identities, etc. Our art forms provide us with the opportunity to introduce those people to these communities, and to create awareness. And we should also be held responsible for making sure that the portrayals of these communities are authentic, respectful, and educated. The changes and inclusion need to happen in front and behind the camera. Allow people who understand and have lived a specific experience to write it and/or portray it.

And finally, within our own country, we need to allow everyone to see themselves and believe they have the same opportunity. Having talent and causing impact are not skills that are exclusive to just one group of people.

As a Latino, knowing that my ethnic group is almost 20% of the population, I expect to see myself represented in media because I, and my people, are part of this country’s growth and history. I believe other minorities and groups might share this feeling. We’ve seen our cultures and identities be mocked, misrepresented, and misjudged. It is our chance to show the world what our specific groups are about.

Diversity and inclusion, in my opinion, can lead to respect, kindness, and unity. Telling untold stories will help us gain awareness about the world around us, which can lead to seeing everyone as equal and as an important part of our existence.

What are your 5 things I wish someone told me when I first started; and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Saying “no” is okay. Something that I heard a lot when I was training in school was the phrase “Say YES to everything.” This led me to indeed do that and overload myself with a bunch of commitments. One time, I was rehearsing for three shows at the same. I was exhausted, my voice was shattered, and at least one of those shows suffered from my lack of time. As well, I used to be afraid of saying “no” to certain auditions because maybe I didn’t like the material, or I didn’t agree with how a storyline was being portrayed. I learned that saying “no” to something I believed could have a negative impact, was a stronger decision than doing every submission.
  2. You have to be your biggest cheerleader and number one believer. I noticed that most people don’t understand the efforts I put in because they don’t understand our industry. People often minimize what I’ve accomplished and often believe I won’t accomplish my goals because I don’t look a certain way. There is a lot of negativity out there, and most times you gotta believe in yourself because no one else will.
  3. Don’t be ashamed of who you are, what makes you different is what makes you special. Throughout my whole life, I’ve heard endless phrases about how what makes me, is what would stop me from working in this industry. People told me I could never be on T.V because I was fat, I had a big nose, a gap between my teeth, I had an accent, I was too theatrical, and even that I was too nice. For a while, these were things I tried to change about myself. I thought that to belong in this industry, I had to change who I was and fit in the mold. Funny enough, the job allowed me to begin my career as a plus-size boy with an accent, who had great comedic skills. “Acapulco” taught me celebrating myself is what was going to take me places, and so far, that’s been the case.
  4. Beauty is not a look, but an expression of who we are inside. Although this might seem too superficial, I do think it could help someone out there because it helped me. There were many times when I felt like I didn’t belong in this industry because of the way I look. Yet, thanks to the little following I’ve gained with my show I discovered that the definition of beauty is subjective, and at the end of the day what allows us to be beautiful is who we are inside and what we have to offer. Once I learned this, no one could tell me anything. It made me realize that my type of beauty is real, and it belongs on the screen too.
  5. Don’t be funny, be brave! My friend Camille shared this quote by Lucille Ball with me “I’m not funny. What I am is brave.” In our industry, whether we’re doing comedy or drama, we have to be committed. We cannot be worried about how we look or what faces we’re making. We have to be present and mean what we say. When I did season one of “Acapulco” I couldn’t watch myself because I would immediately judge the way I look, my face, and even my voice. However, audiences were loving my portrayal of Memo! Why? Because I was committed to what I was saying. They were not concerned about whether I looked sexy or not. They wanted to believe me. As soon as I learned that my job was to be a storyteller and not a pretty face, it all turned around. I enjoyed working more and audiences enjoyed my art more. This industry is for brave people and risk-takers, and that goes for career moves and acting choices.
Photo Credit: Bonnie Nichoalds

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I think learning to take time off is crucial. What we put our bodies and our emotional health through can be exhausting, and we have to make sure we’re well and safe to fulfill the job. We need to re-train ourselves and remember that our health is always more important than any job.

Also, I think it’s important to surround yourself with people who understand what you’re going through. I, for instance, love to make close relationships with the crew in addition to the cast because they truly understand the madness of our workdays, and they have their own set of challenges too. Sharing and creating a community that understands what you’re going through can help alleviate the guilt that we sometimes feel when we work in such a complex industry.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Self-acceptance and self-love are some things that I’m very passionate about. As someone who used to beat himself up so much for who he is, I want to take all that I’ve learned and inspire others to learn to love themselves and appreciate everything that makes them who they are. I want to join artists like Lizzo and Lady Gaga who share a message of self-love that I truly believe could lead to loving others. I mean, is true what they say, “you can’t love others if you don’t love yourself first.” And I also believe this fight contributes to promoting more diversity and inclusion in media. We need to see more bodies of different shapes, colors, and sizes. I want to see more plus-size gay men and queer people falling in love on camera and not being the punchline of every joke. We exist! And we can love and be loved too!

None of us can achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person whom you are grateful for who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

First and foremost, I’m grateful for my parents. Without their unconditional support, I would not be where I am. They have supported me every step of the way and have made sacrifices so I could accomplish my dream. I mean, they moved to a whole different country to provide me with more opportunities. Yet, they have made sacrifices and have cheered me on since the first day I told them I wanted to be a performer.

As well, I’m grateful for my high school teacher Cathy Petz. She is the first educator in the US who believed in me and who taught me to embrace who I was. Her trust in me was so impactful, that she allowed me to believe in myself even when the world told me I would never make it. In addition, she was really helpful when it came to achieving a college education helping me find financial support and writing the best recommendation letters. She not only taught me so much, but she believed in me and showed me I could fly. Fun fact: she was also the first adult I came out to because she’s always made me feel safe and supported.

Can you please give us your favorite quote and Life Lesson? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

The quote that I live by is “What do you say to take chances?” the very popular line from Celine Dion’s song. As an immigrant, an actor, a gay man, and a dreamer, I’ve learned that life is all about taking risks. Why? Because the worst thing that could happen is to get “no” for an answer, and I would much rather have a life where I say, “at least I tried” instead of saying “I wish I had tried.” Taking chances is what has led me to be where I am today. Whether it was moving to another country or applying to the number one public university, taking those risks has led me to this moment. So, I encourage everyone to do the same! Take a chance… “never knowing if there’s solid ground below, or hand to hold, or hell to pay. But what do you say?”

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Lady Gaga! I just saw her in her Chromatica Ball Tour. It was my first time seeing her perform live and it was life-changing. She is a huge inspiration to me and a great representation of the artist I’d like to become. I would love to be her friend and share with her how much of an inspiration she is to me, and perhaps offer a collaboration. I would be her backup dancer anyway.

How can our readers follow you online?

You can find me on Instagram and Twitter as @fernandocarsa

and tik tok as @fernando_carsa

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator